We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (469 )
5 star
 (238)
4 star
 (170)
3 star
 (46)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (437 )
5 star
 (208)
4 star
 (161)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (435 )
5 star
 (275)
4 star
 (126)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • A. G. Gilbert
    UK
    9/26/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story with descriptive characters."
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    I've not read the book so can't say.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Lots of twists and turns with good, visual descriptions that brought place and people to life.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    I liked the scenes with the detective's secretary Robin. I thought she was a great character and very necessary in making him more human.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    I felt very sympathetic to the dead victim of the piece. Curiously I felt quite emotional that her life should have been cut short and the way the vultures descended to pick the bones of her estate almost before she was buried.


    Any additional comments?

    Would I have read the book had I known it was by J.K. Rowling? Probably not. I really don't like Harry Potter at all! Wise of her to use a different name, especially as she has proved she can write a good story without any wizards in it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Miss
    EDINBURGH, United Kingdom
    9/25/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Totally hooked"
    Any additional comments?

    Couldn't stop listening, well read, great voices, not too over the top. Couldn't stop thinking about Lula Landry, really very hauntingly sad but fast paced, with well fleshed out characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Voyager
    Telford, United Kingdom
    9/23/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    Couldn't put it down and didn't want it to end - what more is there to say


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tony
    9/18/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Holiday fodder"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    one of the best this year


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Strike was a great character


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    His performance was the best part of the book


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Nowt so funny as family


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • joe
    UK
    9/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great characters, average plot"

    Not the best detective fiction I've read but a solid first attempt by Rowling. The real strength of this book is the well written and thoroughly engaging characters. Something that JK has clearly brought over from the potter world. The gay fashion designer, the wanna be bad ass rock star all bring this book to life.
    The down side though is the story line. Its a little dull for a murder mystery, its really missing an element of excitement and danger and as a result the "big reveal" felt slightly anti climactic.

    Good but not Great is a fair verdict for this one, i will read the second installment but mainly because Glenister is narrating it again. His narration in this book really is world class.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Teneisha Morgan
    9/3/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent, Couldn't put it down!"

    This novel was fast paced and kept me guessing throughout. I loved how the mystery developed alongside the characters and their own side stories. The relationship Cormoran strike and his assistant grow to have is warming and provides a more light hearted element to the dark mystery.

    Fantastic narration. If you like exciting mysteries with a twist you wont regret listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • AliB
    8/28/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow, turgid and tedious."
    Has The Cuckoo's Calling put you off other books in this genre?

    I loved reading Harry Potter to the kids, but this same over-descriptive style doesn't work for an audiobook as you can't skim through the bits that are going over the same detail again. It needs abridging!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Julie White
    8/23/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    Really enjoyed this book, very surprised as I am not a Harry Potter fan but a Agatha Christie fan. Very pleased.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Robin is my favourite charactor, as she adds a interesting personality to the story line.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Alex
    MalakoffFrance
    8/22/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very good listen"

    This is, to be honest, a rather old-fashioned, straightforward detective story: it is, however, none the worse for having not much sex, not much violence and a fair bit of description; I also didn't guess the culprit until very late. The reader is excellent, and the writing good enough to keep the story bubbling along. The goodies are appealing and the baddies (or suspects) appropriately distasteful.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Fran
    8/17/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not what I expected"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    No. Average story, average performance but the writing is not as accomplished as I was expecting. The ending doesn't have a twist it has an unfolding plot worthy of the clues in 3-2-1.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    The story wasn't particularly interesting. I found it hard to concentrate.


    What three words best describe Robert Glenister’s voice?

    Monotonous, uninspiring, adequate.


    Did The Cuckoo's Calling inspire you to do anything?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    Had I not known who the real author was I would have assumed this was written by a new writer just starting out with a penchant for outrageous names and uneccessary posturing. Not going to bother with the second book in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.