We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (494 )
5 star
 (254)
4 star
 (177)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (458 )
5 star
 (224)
4 star
 (165)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (456 )
5 star
 (293)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Patricia Heale
    2/4/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    Loved it so much am starting it over straight away. One of the best who dun nits I have read for ages.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Katie
    Brighton
    2/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect"

    Really charming murder mystery with a gentle pace... The twists and turns will keep you guessing and the characters are very endearing

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • heide
    2/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "J.K at her best"

    The characters of Strike and Robin are rich, warm, intelligent and at times humorous.
    The story keeps you totally involved with the plot and the out come is not disappointing.
    If I were to say anything negative it would be the swearing at times I found it un necessary, as with Jonah.
    I hope this is the beginning of a long run of books maybe with Strike solving his own mothers death or having to prove Charlotte innocent from murdering her soon to be husband because let's face it J.K is the master of the under current story line!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Miche2212
    2/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!!"

    Excellent book, really enjoyed the whole book & the unravelling at the end, didn't have a clue who was the murderer!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Pippa
    London, United Kingdom
    1/29/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable book"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    Yes - liked the reader - was a good who-done-it


    What did you like best about this story?

    Clever


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Accents


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    no - I listen on the way to and from work


    Any additional comments?

    Good book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • jean bentley
    1/26/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A real guess who book"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I couldn't stop listening, a very intriguing storyline


    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked the two main characters and how they worked together without reading they had.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Convincing and enjoyable


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The final chapter was very exciting


    Any additional comments?

    Looking forward to the next book in this series

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • kellie
    1/26/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great for long distance travel in the car"
    What did you like best about this story?

    There are no slow bits in the story. The characters are interesting. The narrator, Robert Glenister, does an excellent job.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The description of Comoron Strike - not your every day hero but you can't help but like him.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • L. Sheehan
    Edinburgh
    1/26/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable"

    I really enjoyed this and didn't realise who the author was until I went to check out if there were more books about Strike.

    Wonder if that would have coloured my view.

    I found it really interesting and enjoyable book. Loved the characters and didn't guess the ending.

    Was a little spun at the end and far fetched but not as bad as some and didn't ruin the whole book.

    Looking forward to no 2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • C. Park
    Sevenoaks, UK
    1/24/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it😃"

    Great characters in this 21st century murder mystery. An excellent cast of characters, ably performing their individual roles, highlight today's celebrity culture and it's ensuing madness.
    Wonderfully narrated by Robert Glenister

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Patricia Walker
    UK
    1/23/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "As a book I wouldn't have been able to put it down"

    Great story well told. Lovely reading style. Had to find some earphones so I could keep listening in the car on the way to work.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.