We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (478 )
5 star
 (243)
4 star
 (173)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (444 )
5 star
 (214)
4 star
 (162)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (442 )
5 star
 (281)
4 star
 (127)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Mrs S Bilgore
    11/15/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping plot and excellent narration"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    Yes - because the plot is complex and detailed and I might have missed a twist here and there, and because the characterisation and narration is so good.


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    The Shardlake series - not in terms of period (obviously!) but because it's a good story, well written and plotted and so makes an enjoyable read.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Yes - The Silkworm - also same author - for 2 reasons: really liked Glenister's narration combined with Galbraith's writing. More please from author and narrator!


    Any additional comments?

    If you're looking for a good read that's absorbing then this fits the bill.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ms_pumbie
    11/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    Yes I started to read the print version but much preferred this as the narrator was so entertaining


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The reveal at the end was memorable, although the whole text really entertained from start to finish - no lulls.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    All of it - he was outstanding and entertaining - great voices (especially Robin) and read with real personality!


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It was exhilarating at the end as the solution to the murder was being revealed, and provoked a positive emotional reaction


    Any additional comments?

    I was just addicted to this from start to finish! I am immediately going to download the next in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Crispin
    Tufnell Park, United Kingdom
    11/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect balance"

    I am wondering, now I know who the author is, if I would have enjoyed it as much. Anyway my preconceptions and prejudice aside, I loved this book, great characters and an interesting plot. Surprising as whilst I like the ideas behind her other work, the characters don't usually have enough credibility to keep me engaged.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Richard
    Derby, United Kingdom
    11/7/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Start to a Series"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I really enjoyed this book, the story moved along well, the main characters were endearing, it also had some really nice moments of humour. Robert Glenister is brilliant and really brings the characters to life and gives real depth and personality.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Good contemporary detective novel with no ego based characters


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Drunk scene in pub


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Made me chuckle a number of times


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • John
    10/30/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Really Cormoran as a character and Robert glenister is very good at reading, easily flipping between characters to bring the story to life, really enjoyed the listen.. great description of events, surroundings


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Cormoran - see him clearly in my mind whenever he is "speaking" , detective personified


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    brilliant - will be looking for more of his performance


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    at times some things made me laugh out loud - maybe just me but couple of cormoran's one of lines were blunt and to the point in a great "you snotty git" kind of way


    Any additional comments?

    read it - you will enjoy

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Melvin
    10/22/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well crafted who done it."

    This is a smooth, well developed story with good characterisation and a hidden conclusion.
    Cameron Strike is now set up for many more adventures, he is deep, hard bitten, with a touch of Harry Hole about him. I look forward to getting to know him better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lakeskip
    UK
    10/19/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I thoroughly enjoyed this book."
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Good quality, absorbing, not too taxing but still clever, whodunit. I will be downloading the next one in series. I didn't read Harry Potter and was put off when I found out it was Rowling but I was wrong. It was a good read.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Can't say without giving away plot


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The satisfying conclusion.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Not really, it's not that deep.


    Any additional comments?

    Likeable characters, great plot, easy but not simplistic, entertaining read with a full and satisfying end. What's not to like?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Benjamin
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    10/9/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic listen from start to finish"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Great characters and superb portrayal of the British press


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Strike & Robin have the makings of a Holmes & Watson


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Seamless naration


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Alice
    The North, England
    10/8/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A great ripping yarn!"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Okay, so three words is a little sparse. I have already recommended this book to people I know; I explained that it is a great crime story, that seems to be told in a fun, story-telling-type-of-way, although it still has plenty of adult content.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    If I told you that, then I would spoil the story and I most certainly do not advocate spoilers!!!!


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I have listened to a fair number of audio books over the past year or so and I would say that Robert Glenister is excellent. His voices are very expressive and very different and I would say he definitely added to the telling of the tale. I look forward to seeing more audio books become available that have been read by him, not just the Cormoran Strike series...


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I wouldn't say that this a particularly 'moving' book, it certainly didn't cause me to feel moist in the eye area, nor any other area for that matter. I thought Strike's health issues are somewhat moving, if I had to really dig for something.


    Any additional comments?

    I really enjoyed this audiobook and hope to find more out there of this all round quality... Some narrators, especially the American ones can sound very mechanical, this was top notch. The story was fun and interesting, it wasn't the best crime plot ever, but it was written in such a way that made it fun and interesting. I frequently listened to the book for more than an hour at a time.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Corrado M.
    10/7/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not living up to the expectations"
    What disappointed you about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    After reading so many very positive reviews I had great expectations from this book by J.K.Rowling aka Robert Galbraith, but was overall disappointed as following a slow and tedious start the plot had no development until the last few pages. A marathon of questions and answers, which after a while I was willing to skip hoping in a turn of events. It is a detective story, not to be ascribed to thriller nor suspense categories.


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.