We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (481 )
5 star
 (246)
4 star
 (173)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (447 )
5 star
 (217)
4 star
 (162)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (445 )
5 star
 (283)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Steve
    Keighley, United Kingdom
    12/4/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pleasantly Surprised"

    Firstly, I'm not a fan of the Harry Potter novels, quite the opposite. So I can say I was pleasantly surprised by how entertained I was by this title. I'd read great reviews but wasn't convinced it would live up to expectations.

    The characters are all interesting with their own little quirks, and each one is memorable. I struggle remembering who is who and what they have done, but it was not the case with this story.

    A few reviews say that it is predictable, but I would guess that these readers have a significant list of characters that may be involved in the ultimate plot, of which one of them is the right culprit. It will leave you guessing to the very end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • sandra
    12/2/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stick with it"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The way the story develops - albeit a little slowly.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Strike for sure!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    At first no....it dragged on a bit in the beginning and I found it really hard to get into. So much description and back story! But...the last 3rd had me hooked and I wanted to keep going then.


    Any additional comments?

    Stick with the story. It does get better. I listened while walking to pick my nephew from school and the 15mins was about all I could take in the beginning. My mind would wander - it just didn't grab me. But the last third of the book was great as the mystery deepened and the carefully woven story of the first half was allowed to shine.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • sue quinnell
    11/30/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a find! My new favorite character"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Strike.. The next morse but with another depth. Excellent plot and twists. Robert glenister makes the whole thing come to life.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Strikes leg


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    His ability to bring each character to life


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Families are not what they seem !


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • joanna green
    11/30/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Definitely a great forage into crime!"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The Cuckoo's Calling is a very solid delve into the genre. I did listen to this after the author's true identity was revealed, but the authors previous works are mile apart- don't let this knowledge put you off. It's really great!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    I love the interaction between the stereotypical male detective and the savvy female assistant. He is almost straight out of a film noir and she is much more 21st century career woman. It works really well. The author really captures the intricacies of each role.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Their first meeting is classic!


    Any additional comments?

    If you like crime, this is definitely one to listen to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Stephibobz
    11/29/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My first audiobook...I was not disappointed!"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Engrossing, compelling, multi-layered


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    I haven't read the specific genre of crime fiction before but I've always loved film and television programmes of this type and thought I would give it a go. It was brilliant!


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I love the difference in his voice when changing character. It isn't off putingly obvious but cleverly subtle, all characters are easily defined and allow the story to flow seamlessly.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    I don't know as I don't think I'd do a good job but if someone else did you can guarantee I would go and see it!


    Any additional comments?

    This has launched my love of crime fiction. I will DEFINITELY be listening to the next Robert Galbraith novel as I love the relationship shared between Strike and Robyn and their twinned excellence in crime solving. Also, I love how I'm left guessing right till the end before all is revealed!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J
    11/17/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I liked it. I particularly like Cormoran Strike"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Unusual main character. Well read and kept a good pace with the stroy. The end was a surprise and I've ordered Silkworm to enjoy the progress of this character.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs S Bilgore
    11/15/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping plot and excellent narration"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    Yes - because the plot is complex and detailed and I might have missed a twist here and there, and because the characterisation and narration is so good.


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    The Shardlake series - not in terms of period (obviously!) but because it's a good story, well written and plotted and so makes an enjoyable read.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Yes - The Silkworm - also same author - for 2 reasons: really liked Glenister's narration combined with Galbraith's writing. More please from author and narrator!


    Any additional comments?

    If you're looking for a good read that's absorbing then this fits the bill.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ms_pumbie
    11/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    Yes I started to read the print version but much preferred this as the narrator was so entertaining


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The reveal at the end was memorable, although the whole text really entertained from start to finish - no lulls.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    All of it - he was outstanding and entertaining - great voices (especially Robin) and read with real personality!


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It was exhilarating at the end as the solution to the murder was being revealed, and provoked a positive emotional reaction


    Any additional comments?

    I was just addicted to this from start to finish! I am immediately going to download the next in the series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Crispin
    Tufnell Park, United Kingdom
    11/12/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect balance"

    I am wondering, now I know who the author is, if I would have enjoyed it as much. Anyway my preconceptions and prejudice aside, I loved this book, great characters and an interesting plot. Surprising as whilst I like the ideas behind her other work, the characters don't usually have enough credibility to keep me engaged.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Richard
    Derby, United Kingdom
    11/7/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Start to a Series"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I really enjoyed this book, the story moved along well, the main characters were endearing, it also had some really nice moments of humour. Robert Glenister is brilliant and really brings the characters to life and gives real depth and personality.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Good contemporary detective novel with no ego based characters


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    Drunk scene in pub


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Made me chuckle a number of times


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.