We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (457 )
5 star
 (231)
4 star
 (166)
3 star
 (45)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (425 )
5 star
 (202)
4 star
 (156)
3 star
 (50)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (423 )
5 star
 (265)
4 star
 (124)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Jeannette Matelot Green
    Thame, England
    1/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant Production"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    15 hours of excitement.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Ruby


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Robert portrays all the characters with an amazing variety of accents. You forget he is reading it.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Just enjoyed the journey through the evidence collecting.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Boston, United Kingdom
    1/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An unexpected delight"

    I bought this based on the reviews even tho I wasn't convinced I'd enjoy it and found it addictively good. The language is rather fruity but somehow the story has the old fashioned crafting of a classic whodunit. I found the characters well drawn and unexpectedly likeable and the narration brought them to life even more. I was expecting Robert Glenister's narration to be rather brash but he found the subtleties of the narrative and made each character memorable without descending into caricature.

    I would definitely recommend this.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J Azeb
    London UK
    1/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "This was no Kate Atkinson......"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    Less swearing ( it's like the author needs to reference sex, drugs and violence and put lots of swearing in to stop it being a kids book). Less cliches.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    More characterisation. Less lengthy explanations by the protagonist .... Maybe it's just the genre though.....


    What didn’t you like about Robert Glenister’s performance?

    The accents: cockney accents in particular. The accents were cliche and of an old generation of Londoners. They didn't sound like authentic young Londoners. He did well to try so many different accents but I found them over-powering and distracting from the characters being drawn. Subtle accents would have been fine.


    Was The Cuckoo's Calling worth the listening time?

    It was.. It passed the time and I was interested in what happened next. It wasn't amazing, but maybe I'm just not used to the genre. Although I love Kate Atkinson and her Jackson Brodie detective character... I felt not an ounce of warmth for the characters in this book.


    Any additional comments?

    I don't think I'll read this incarnation of the author again and maybe stick to reading Harry Potter to the kids.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • shaz
    1/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not at all Cuckoo"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    excellent


    What did you like best about this story?

    unexpected story line and the narration


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    all


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    yes - but sadly couldn't


    Any additional comments?

    Cormoran Strike, Book 1 read in order - Ive just started number 2 and it gives some of book one away in it if you haven't read it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Zoe
    1/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant crime writing; just as good as Potter!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Absolutely! Most of my friends are Harry Potter fans & after the general bad press for 'The Casual Vacancy', this story shows JK Rowling to be a versatile writer, rather than a 'one hit wonder' (not my words btw). In addition, this is excellent, non-gory contemporary crime writing in its own right. Great 2 main characters, both of whom you really grow to love.


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    Hmmm. In that the main protagonist is a bit of a rough diamond, perhaps you'd compare it to 'A Touch of Frost'. However, there are many more elements to the story than it simply being a 'detective-not-playing-by-the-rules' thriller. Great character development, twists & sub-plots. READ IT!


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    All scenes where Strike is being abrupt to posh, rich idiots get my vote!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Many scenes where Strike & Robin are looking out for one another in various ways are particularly moving.


    Any additional comments?

    So glad 'Galbraith' has written a sequel, though you are definitely recommended to listen to this one first, so as to get the back-story thoroughly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tina
    12/31/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The best reader ever"

    I have enjoyed listening to The Cuckoo's Calling both because of the story itself, that quite obviously leans onto the characteristics of Raymond Chandler, and I enjoy this genre but I must praise the reader for giving each charactor his or her own voice without ever losing the flow of the story. I will definately look him up again.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jen
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    12/23/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Book - Very Enjoyable."

    I really enjoyed listening to this book as the story flows well. I was totally engrossed and liked getting to know the characters. The main character, Strike and his relationship with his receptionist is an interesting one. Hope this develops as the series continues. I had a sneaky suspicion who the killer was at the start, which turned out to be correct, but there are lots of plausible alternatives which keep you guessing until the last minute. Have just downloaded the next book in the series, hope it's as good as the first.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • N Legh-Smith
    San Jose, California United States
    12/22/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "brilliant"

    Good book great story. held me to the end. will be listening to more from this author. Hope the next is as good

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Paul
    Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
    12/22/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect Detective Thriller"
    What did you like best about this story?

    I came to this following a 3 month "Game of Thrones" immersion (Books 1-5) , so needed something to set my head back in the real world, this book turned out to be the perfect way to achieve this. I appreciate that there were a few stereotypes but rather than be annoyed i made a game and tried to spot who they were based on :-) (too libelous to repeat)


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    His accents were by and large excellent, the only one where he needed some help with was the West Indian accent, it seemed to start off in Cardiff and end up somewhere north of Helsinki, however, given that i had just endured the GoT narrator who changed complete characters during a chapter then this was not enough to spoil the book


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Made me want to get the second book


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Littleblue
    12/20/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad for a first novel away from Potter"
    Did Robert Glenister do a good job differentiating each of the characters? How?

    The narrator did a very good job. Would certainly listen to something else he does.


    Was The Cuckoo's Calling worth the listening time?

    Yes. It did keep me going back for just one more chapter


    Any additional comments?

    The only draw back with this book was the amount if swearing that was in it. I really don't think so much was needed

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.