We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (399 )
5 star
 (197)
4 star
 (148)
3 star
 (42)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.2 (369 )
5 star
 (171)
4 star
 (139)
3 star
 (44)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.5 (367 )
5 star
 (226)
4 star
 (112)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Roderic
    Victoria Park, Australia
    1/20/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the book and the narration"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Interesting, engaging, addictive


    Any additional comments?

    I listened to this book well before the identity of its author became public. I had already told myself that I would watch out for the next Robert Galbraith.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jean Shirley
    Suffolk
    1/15/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Totally Utterly Brilliant"
    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The final chapter, but all chapters were highly engaging


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If I had 15hrs yes definitely!


    Any additional comments?

    My first download and so impressed both with the mystery/storyline and the fine +gripping delivery. A stonker of a story that keeps you guessing! Highly recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Creative Butterfly
    Ilford, United Kingdom
    1/9/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good London Read"

    This books reads like the start of a beautiful partnership that could roll into many more books. A detective novel based in London. Not particularly fast paced or thrilling. However a good read, with a good story line that covers characters with a wide range of backgrounds.

    If this to be a series you will get to know the characters in great depth and will start to enjoy the books a lot more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Linda
    Wetherby, United Kingdom
    1/9/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable, but not gripping"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    I would listen to The Cookoo's Calling again but would listen more intently, as it is a long story and requires concentration.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Could listen to Robert Glenister all day, he did a very good job of different character voices and he is a very good story teller.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Davina
    Prudhoe, United Kingdom
    1/7/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "pssst it's J K Rowling"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    I listened to the audio version narrated superbly by Robert Glenister and was hooked from the start. Not only was it a ripping yarn but also beautifully constructed with some genuinely poetic language. I guessed whodunit but that did not detract from my thorough enjoyment of the book. I wold be interested to "read" it to see if I would enjoy it as much because Glenister really brought the story to life in my opinion. As soon as I had finished I Googled Galbraith to see what else he had written and was gob smacked to find out it was J K Rowling. I read all Harry Potter and enjoyed them in their own right whereas and the Casual Vacancy left me a bit depressed and disappointed. So glad I did not know beforehand that Galbraith=Rowling as I listened without prejudice or expectation and blimey madam you can write!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    UK
    1/1/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An enjoyable yarn."
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    I really enjoyed this book. There was enough to keep me guessing, although I did figure out 'who dunnit'. The book settled down after a couple of chapters. In my opinion, there was no need for the Latin at the beginning of the parts (I understood why it was there though) or the need for a thesaurus at the start of the book. It did help brush up my vocabulary! I really liked Cormoran, he was the perfect blend of grumpy, happy, intuitive and human.


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    It was clever. Nicely wrapped up. The book wound its way round the story giving enough hints if you were paying attention.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I had not heard a book by Robert Glenister before but I will certainly look out for others read by him.


    Any additional comments?

    Good book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Nancy
    EDENBRIDGE, United Kingdom
    12/27/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable book"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    I loved the pace of the story and how it slowly unravelled allowing you to enjoy the character development.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Cormoran Strike.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    All the scenes involving Cormorant and Robin.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes but not possible as it's a big book. Found it easy to pick up after a break.


    Any additional comments?

    Can't wait for the next one in the series, if there is to be one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • liz
    BUXTON, United Kingdom
    12/25/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "fantasic"
    What did you like about this audiobook?

    murder mystery


    How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter?

    yes


    Does the author present information in a way that is interesting and insightful, and if so, how does he achieve this?

    yes, kept me guessing right to the end


    What did you find wrong about the narrator's performance?

    fine


    Do you have any additional comments?

    i loved this book. Now the plot is set this could hopefully be made into a series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ann
    Newcastle, England
    12/23/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Compelling story, fantastic narration!"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Very well written. Lots of twists and turns, but the quality of Robert Glenister's narration made the audio book quite brilliant. His timing is spot on, inflection faultless and his ability to bring each character to life with remarkable changes in his voice, frankly amazing.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Genious!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No, too long and not quite pacey enough for that.


    Any additional comments?

    The characters were beautifully scripted.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mikey
    poole, United Kingdom
    12/22/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Faultless"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    No. Once you know the outcome of a detective story it's a done deal for me.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Sounds silly, but I loved Strike's encounters with Kiara Porter, and the relationship that grew between him and Robin. Two interesting characters that were entertaining to listen to throughout a top class storyline with twists and thrill a plenty.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    His accents were fantastic and his interchanging between many characters at once.


    Any additional comments?

    I simply cannot fault this book on any aspect of it's performance. Well read by Glenister with some great character accents, beautifully interesting throughout, I did not find myself bored at a single point in the book. The outcome was not as obvious as I thought it would be, like many detective novels. This book is begging to be made into a film. Bravo Rowling.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.