We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (481 )
5 star
 (246)
4 star
 (173)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (447 )
5 star
 (217)
4 star
 (162)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (445 )
5 star
 (283)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Mrs
    MALMESBURY, United Kingdom
    2/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good, shame so much swearing"
    What did you like best about The Cuckoo's Calling? What did you like least?

    Best: very rounded characters, good story, great performance, good twists
    Least: too much bad language for me personally so gave 3 stars.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Cormoran Strike.


    Was The Cuckoo's Calling worth the listening time?

    Yes


    Any additional comments?

    I would have preferred a storyline where the characters swore a lot less. I work from home and listen to audiobooks as I work, but I could only play this through headphones with family around. Didn't stop me buying the next one, but almost did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dianne Thomas
    2/14/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Compulsive listening!"

    Really enjoyed this .
    Narration mostly good but occasionally too quiet to hear comfortably in car.
    Story line good and not predictable 9

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jayne
    cassop, United Kingdom
    2/13/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    The book in my opinion in audible was superb


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Strike, what a great complex character, from his strange childhood to his injury whilst in the forces.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    I honestly think casting Robert Glenister as the narrator was genius, you could distinguish each and every character.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    This audio book kept my interest from begining to end ,at times there where laugh out loud moments, if you enjoy a good murder mystery set in London then this is a must.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jose
    2/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great, great, great!"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    I just decided to bought the book based on the positive reviews. I did not know what to expect, but I need to say that both the history and the narration are fantastic.


    Any additional comments?

    Really good audiobook

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Al
    2/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story - very well read"

    Interesting story. Quite involving. The guy reading it is excellent. Typical murder mystery but entertaining all the same. I would recommend

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jim Pike
    2/8/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A good listen"

    I don't usually go for detective fiction and I wonder if I'd have gone for this had it not been written by She Who Must Not Be Named, but I like a flawed protagonist and this one comes with plenty of baggage and a sensible sidekick to boot..
    So I'm rather glad I bought this, Robert Glenister narrates well, found myself forgetting the narrator, instead finding the voice of the book in a way that you can't with Steven Fry for instance in his Harry Potter narrations, and the narrative itself carries you along at a leisurely pace for the most part, the joy being in the various interactions as the plot develops. The plot itself isn't the strongest but the whole allows you to suspend disbelief and enjoy rather than rage pedantically at, inconsistencies or contrived misunderstandings.
    In all a good listen, so much that I will listen to it again soon

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • periodictable
    Newcastle
    2/7/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sceptical at first but loved it!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Definitely would recommend this. I was very cautious to begin with - the idea that this book had not sold particularly well until it was leaked that the real author was not 'Galbraith' but Rowling put me off. Actually I felt it was better written than the 'Potter' books and she had captured contemporary life, loves and anxieties really well. It was well plotted, interesting, engaging and quite a neat story. Liked it so much I bought the next one too :)


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    This is a middle class London centric version of Ian Rankin - and no bad thing because of that. Loved the characterisation of Cormoran and Robin.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Exceptional. I loved the reading and interpretation and I will be seeking out readings by Glenister in the future as he really made the book sing. this would be a 'deal breaker' for me in the future as I think Robert can make a book really come alive. I'll be looking to buy books read by him in the future.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes. The plot was engaging and the cliff-hangers at he chapter ending made one want to continue listening.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr
    2/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Couldn't stop listening!"

    really enjoyed this story and was hooked the whole way through with all the twists and turns!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J. CROSBY
    UK
    2/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it - all of it."

    Loved the story, the narration, the whole thing. Wished there had been less swearing although it did add authenticity to characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Karina Martus
    2/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really enjoyed the book"

    I loved narrators Roberts Glenister's voice and reading was excellent .
    And it was a good twist at the end. Thank you

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.