We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (502 )
5 star
 (260)
4 star
 (178)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (464 )
5 star
 (229)
4 star
 (166)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (462 )
5 star
 (298)
4 star
 (129)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Helen
    WATERLOOVILLE, United Kingdom
    5/24/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great start to a series that I hope will never end"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    I loved the world that the author creates, the descriptions of characters & places allows a vivid image of the world of Strike to build & stays with you.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    I love Robyn & Cormoran - as individuals & their interactions.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes - happily


    Any additional comments?

    I loved this book so much that I went out immediately & purchased the audio book of the second book 'The Silkworm' & devoured that next. I can't wait for the third book to come out this autumn.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Psdbwallace
    5/17/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "First audio book"

    This was my first audiobook and I really loved it - great story but the narrator robert glinester made the story riveting.









    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    5/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A must!"

    Absolutely briĺiant book. Great story read beautifully. Characters had depth and were interesting. The plot was thrilling and I couldn't wait to find out the conclusion. I am looking forward to listening to book two.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr. J. Marriott
    5/10/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Hard Listen"

    A good story but so much build up. I suppose it works in the end but difficult to see how at times. Some chapters really are un required

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Joanna
    5/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed."
    Any additional comments?

    I will be following the series. I like the characters & it is easy listening with enough... but not too complicated plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    5/7/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Another amazing JK book. I enjoyed every minute!"

    Love it. This and the follow up book are great. Both have great twists at the end, the storyline is so clever. I can't recommend them enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Debz
    5/7/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "couldn't put it down"

    loved it, it was very enjoyable. good voice actting, enjoyed the twist at the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Myview
    5/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good well constructed read,I wait for more"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    Excellent voice. great plot, never boring.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I like the people they feel real and able to move in various different parts of society from rich to poor, they are flawed but coping. The story line was really good not shock horror but true detective stuff, this is a book you enjoy to read and I will be happy to read everyone he publishes.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Its the reader that makes a book really good to listen to and Mr Glenister has the voice to do that.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Decent man doing a decent job despite his damn leg, thank god he has a good woman by his side, together they can sort this mess out.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • K. L. Sturgess
    uk
    5/4/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "trickles along nicely..."

    relaxing listen with an array of varying characters. Love Phillip Glenisters narration abd all the dubious accents.....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Carolyn Oliver-Hall
    5/4/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping to the end"

    A wonderfully well written and
    exquisitely narrated book - 15 hrs and 5 parts - but oh so fab. Loved it! I'm definitely going to look for more by both author and narrator.



    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.