We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (234 )
5 star
 (120)
4 star
 (88)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.3 (224 )
5 star
 (106)
4 star
 (84)
3 star
 (26)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.5 (224 )
5 star
 (142)
4 star
 (67)
3 star
 (9)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Cosima
    SOUTH CADBURY, United Kingdom
    8/29/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb Narration Great Detective"

    A good book, did not know it was written by JK when I started.
    I thought it was well written and in places really polished. I also felt it was full of stereotypes and took a long time to get to the point.
    I did enjoy it and wanted to listen to it, but felt the swearing was over the top.
    The narration was what really made the book for me, it was superb and brought the characters to life.
    Sadly I had worked out who the villain was before all was revealed.
    A good comfortable read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    Doncaster, United Kingdom
    8/28/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "EXCELLENT CRIME THRILLER"

    Very well written, good storyline. Read excellently by Robert Glenister. Really enjoyed this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • jennifer
    Barton st David, United Kingdom
    8/27/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen, highly recommended! well done J.K"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    A great story well written and read


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The ending is great and the beginning grabs you from the first words


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    This is the only book I have been unable to stop listening to constantly since being bought! Only took me two days to listen to.


    Any additional comments?

    Really fab job by both author and narrator please write more!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • R
    Wokingham, United Kingdom
    8/26/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story Line"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    I have read it again and find some detail that changes the perception of the story


    What did you like best about this story?

    The description of the characters presented by the other characters and their relationships, The story proceeds and the subtle changes give this such a wonderful read


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    The gay fashion designer Sumay, I think Robert Glenister paints the characters with a charm which makes then both believable and interesting. His understanding of the authors
    writing makes the characters bring the story alive.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Very much so - I wanted to make a long journey so I could listen to the whole book.


    Any additional comments?

    I just loved this story, its characters and the locations which I know so well, little surprise who the author is. A wonderfully written book - can we have a sequel or a series maybe.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    Haughton, United Kingdom
    8/26/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad at all"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    slow burner come good


    What did you like best about this story?

    The steady building of the characters, I did care about them and look forward to meeting them again.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    All of it! Top class.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Blood is thicker than water


    Any additional comments?

    Great job. First half could have been snappier but stick with it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    Poynton, United Kingdom
    8/24/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Just loved this book. I took this on holiday and could not stop listening to it, story superb, narrative was just right. I do hope there will be another one written soon with the same characters. You will not be disappointed.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • clare
    London, United Kingdom
    8/24/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Can't wait for the next Strike novel."
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Hooked from the very start and warmed to the characters immediately. I didn't want this book to end and ending was not a disappointment!


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Robert Glenister did a great job, loved his interpretation of the characters.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Brian
    United Kingdom
    8/21/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Brilliant Audio Book"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, it's a good story. Well read.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Lots of memorable moments.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    The detective Strike. But Robert Glenister brings all the characters to life.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Tangled lives, twisted minds


    Any additional comments?

    Best audio book I've ever listened to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sarah
    BOGNOR REGIS, United Kingdom
    8/21/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An absolute delight - so glad I didn't know before"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I will recommend this book to everyone! I am so glad that I didn't know who the real Author was, as that would have deterred me from buying. I didn't like any of J K Rawlings previous witchy wizardy stuff, and I threw Casual Vacancy away after a chapter or two, so in this instance ignorance was bliss.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I love Strike. Adore him. Want to meet him. The depth of character was superb. Really gritty. I have to admit though, my next character had to be Ghee or Guy ( the fashion designer - as I listened vs read I didn't get the spelling). That line " brush yer teeth, you're not ******* Byron" has been regurgitated over and over again by me to anyone who will listen


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No, but I'm definitely going to research him right now! The book I picked to follow was a massive disappointment as the narrator wasn't a scratch on RG. So I tossed the recording after Chapter 3. couldn't bear to listen any further ("children of the revolution")


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Yes.....and I tried and tried.....car, lounge, car, bed.........didn't want it to stop but was desperate to hear the end


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kurt
    Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
    8/21/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful combination of author and actor"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    A good story with memorable and colourful characters.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Robert Glenister's acting. He is absolutely amazing and brings the book to life.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    All the scenes from familiar London locales.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Even though it's a bit far fetched, I've met enough real characters in London like these in the book to help it be believable.


    Any additional comments?

    Please can we have another... soon?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 301-310 of 391 results PREVIOUS130313240NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.