We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (381 )
5 star
 (191)
4 star
 (139)
3 star
 (39)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (352 )
5 star
 (166)
4 star
 (130)
3 star
 (41)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.5 (350 )
5 star
 (218)
4 star
 (105)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Cheryli
    Southampton UK
    2/2/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So far one of the most entertaining listens"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    All the characters were interesting and every stage of the story was compelling and cleverly thought out.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    All the moments where Robin and Strike were forging their awkward working relationship


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Strike - would love to see more books featuring Strike and Robin's investigations


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    yes most definitely!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • rosie
    United Kingdom
    2/1/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cuckoo's Calling"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    After Stephen King's 11.12.63 maybe 2nd


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    A description of the life and existence of Crystal.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Atthough his voice does not alter a great deal you know whose part he was talking. I also find his voice so clear and easy to listen to.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I did wonder for the first few chapters where this was going to but what particularly moved me, was probably be Terri Wheedon's situation or how Barry Fairbrother's life and death had intruded into all their lives.


    Any additional comments?

    I have never read a Harry Potter book although I never missed any of the films. This is as far from the Harry Potter books as you could get and I admire Ms Rowling in writing a fascinating book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jenny
    Redruth, United Kingdom
    2/1/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ok, but slightly disappointing"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    If a friend asked me about it, I would say that it was ok, that the plot is good, but the whole thing is fairly ordinary.


    How would you have changed the story to make it more enjoyable?

    The story is insipid and I am glad I don't have to think about how to improve it.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I have not heard any other performances from this narrator, but I would say this was a good performance


    Could you see The Cuckoo's Calling being made into a movie or a TV series? Who would the stars be?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    I have not read any Harry Potter stories, but given the hype over them, I find this book very lack lustre and unimaginative.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • S. Phipps
    UK
    2/1/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fab"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    Yes loved the character he had flaws, and like the rest of us was to ashamed to say it, brilliant twist at the end


    What did you like best about this story?

    Good story, good characters and really good twist


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Loved his reading of it he got everyone just right


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Spanish Teacher
    Ireland
    1/30/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    Great, well written good suspense.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Strike


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The ending


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Its a good triller so it grabs your attention


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • P
    Aberdeen, United Kingdom
    1/27/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very enjoyable, a good plot"

    A great listen, the characters in the book are great, lets hope it becomes a series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • rachel
    Cardiff, United Kingdom
    1/25/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Lovable"

    Narrated excellently. Story very gripping, you can get lost in their world. Just a little bit on the side of unbelievable on times, but not to much. However, that doesn't take away from the fab listen the book is. Can we have another one please, Galbraith.?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ms
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    1/24/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Read"

    I enjoyed this story and the narration was quite good. However, I felt in parts in just dragged on too much, going over the same information or just too much detail. I can recommend it but it wasn't as good as JK's Casual Vacancy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tatiana
    London, United Kingdom
    1/22/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Predictable"
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    This was an enticing criminal story but the ending was predictable from the start...Shame, i expected more from JK Rowling.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jo Davis
    UK
    1/21/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dubious but pleasantly impressed"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Kept me guessing with a great twist.


    What other book might you compare The Cuckoo's Calling to, and why?

    Not sure, definitely not Harry Potter!


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    He gave each character a distinctive voice which added to the experience without over doing it and spoiling it.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Too long to do that, but I was listening whenever I had a spare moment. Life just kept getting in the way!


    Any additional comments?

    People have complained about the excessive swearing and, yes, there is quite a lot of the 'f' word throughout but it was fitting with the characters involved. I was unsure whether to give this book a go with the mixed reviews and particularly when I found out who the author really is. Glad I decided to try it asi thoroughly enjoyed it. Loved Robert Glenister's performance and will be looking out for more books read by him.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 301-310 of 540 results PREVIOUS130313254NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.