We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (494 )
5 star
 (254)
4 star
 (177)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (458 )
5 star
 (224)
4 star
 (165)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (456 )
5 star
 (293)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • C. Murphy
    London, UK
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I really enjoyed this."

    I'd been waiting for the narration to pair up with the kindle for audio whispersync as I've really been enjoying reading books like that but I bit the bullet and just listened to the audio.

    I couldn't have been more happy, it's a great story and it's really well read. I love the main character and his secretary and look forwards to reading more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Angie Stokes
    7/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice methodical story"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    I really enjoyed this book. I wasn't sure that I would knowing who the Author is but I found it compelling and difficult to stop listening to. I was always wanting to know what was going through his mind. I will listen to this again in a few years as I am sure there are bits i missed


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    I liked the non sexual interaction between Robyn and Cormoran, He was made out to be a nice bloke in a difficult situation


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    I enjoyed it all equally, the plots changng in my mind kept me focussed


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    If it hadn't been so long I would have listened to it in one sitting


    Any additional comments?

    Starting Silkworm next can't wait

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • catherine ozoude
    7/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good plot, swearing not to my liking"

    The plot was interesting, but the language and swearing were too crude for my liking.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mickey Mc
    7/14/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good"

    I really enjoyed this book. Was interested to see what JK Rowlings talents were like outside of the Harry Potter universe. She doesn't disappoint. I wish I had the ability to conjure half her imagination. My one reservation is that I felt the book advanced quiet rapidly near the end. It almost wrapped up too quickly. Highly recommend none the less.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Melissa
    7/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really good!!"

    I ignored my love of the Harry Potter books and pretended not to be a fan of the writer already. This book seriously held up on its own. I'm so happy its a series and cannot wait to read the next books .

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • KCT
    7/2/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An addictive bunch of characters"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    I loved this. The characters were fresh and interesting and I listened to it whenever I had a spare minute. I came to this late, when the second book was already out and I read that immediately after. Highly recommend it!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J. James
    London
    6/28/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Clever, classic style detective story."

    Thoroughly enjoyed it and moved immediately into the next in the series. Perfectly narrated too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Scott
    6/27/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very immersive and enjoyable."

    Interesting characters excellently portrayed by the narrator. The story is immediately up to pace and twists and turns all the way to the end.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jessica
    6/21/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Give it time!"

    This bought this book over 6months ago.. After about half way it got soooo much better! The start was a bit tricky to follow and quite mundane listening to all the lengthy interviews.. However stick with it! It WILL eventually be worth it haha

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Heidi
    6/18/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    Beautifully written and narrated. Cannot wait to read more by the
    author, characters were fantastic

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.