We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (481 )
5 star
 (246)
4 star
 (173)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (447 )
5 star
 (217)
4 star
 (162)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (445 )
5 star
 (283)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • pen name
    london
    3/31/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "highly contemporary, classic whodunnit"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Great story, narrator


    What did you like best about this story?

    true-ringing portrayal of contemporary London, or a certain vertical demographic of it, which like the best detective fiction, will read well as such 50, or 70 years from now. compelling, likeable leads, and good insight into the varieties of human folly misery and madness with which even the beautiful rich and famous may have to contend.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    very very good narrator; accents and characterisations extremely well rendered, and a great sensitivity for tone and narrative. he's now one of my top five readers.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    i wouldn't make a film of it, i think it would lend itself better to TV; Strike and Robin would make a great tv detective and sidekick/pair of detectives.


    Any additional comments?

    yeah. highly recommended if you like detective fiction that offers insight into the human condition. the sequel to this book, the silkworm, set in publishing, shows another facet of the city; another social niche to which this author is certainly not wasting their own special access. Adult readers of this author's other works will find many pleasing glimmers and leitmotifs

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Susan
    3/31/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Average"

    Fairly average detective story. A bit boring in parts and didn't have me on the edge of the seat. I warmed to Strike and Robin but not sure I'll read or listen to another.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • karen
    3/31/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    This is the first audible book I have listened to now I am hookef !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Tom M. Alliban
    UK
    3/30/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely terrific"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    The charicterization


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The detail


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Strike


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Cormorant Strike a man not to be messed with


    Any additional comments?

    The narrator is outstanding. He did the characters so well with the accents. You kind of fall in love with Robyn.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dora Szabados
    3/28/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic"

    Fabolous reading, best narrator i ever heard. very easy to follow. Great story! Loved it all the way. Five star.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Monica
    3/26/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    The story was a bit slow at first. But it gradually pick up the pace and is so gripping in the end! Now move up to the next book! Really enjoyable!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • David
    Halesworth, Suffolk, United Kingdom
    3/25/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly enjoyable! Fantastic."

    Wonderful and very well written, very addictive storyline and very interesting plot! Looking forward to the next one now. Thank you author.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • TicTacToe
    3/25/15
    Overall
    "Excellent crime drama."

    Thoroughly enjoyed spending a few hours in the company of new crime hero Cormeran Strike.
    Well read by R Glenister

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jamie Young
    3/25/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Appealing, eventually engaging but a slow burner."

    The audio book is definitely one I would describe as compelling to listen to and would certainly be something to give a spin if you are new to audio books in general. Do be aware though that this book took me a while to get to a point where it became gripping and would initially only listen to it while I was pottering around cooking or cleaning. It did eventually get to the point where I was listening at every possible opportunity but that did take quite some time.

    Robert Glenister gives a fantastic performance in his narration, some other narrators have really put me off even giving other audio books a go. I would definitely consider reading any other audio book narrations by him in the future. My only niggle with his performance was his Jamaican/West Indies accent, my other half and I found it slightly cringe worthy and very amusing at the same time but in all honesty I'd recommend you pick up this book just to hear him doing it, you won't be disappointed!

    The character development sometimes left me feeling like something was lacking, but in all there were some loveable, relatable characters amidst some that added nothing and served no other purpose other than to be a red herring. That said red herring characters are part and parcel with the genre so allowances must be made!

    All in all a very enjoyable experience and will absolutely be picking up the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Alasdair
    3/24/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    Well crafted, great characters, sorry to leave Strike and Robyn. Enough twists and red herrings to keep any crime fiction lover gripped. Can't wait to read the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.