We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (256 )
5 star
 (130)
4 star
 (95)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.3 (244 )
5 star
 (116)
4 star
 (88)
3 star
 (30)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.5 (243 )
5 star
 (154)
4 star
 (71)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Miss
    BIRMINGHAM, United Kingdom
    9/15/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pleasant surprise"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    Well narrated and good inflection of characters. They were interesting and you cared about the key roles in the book.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I liked the character of the detective, he was basic enough and down to earth. The secretary offers an interesting counterpoint.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I was keen to keep listening to this book and race through it.


    Any additional comments?

    I have read other Rowling books and after A casual vacancy , this was far from a disappointment. It had pace, good characters and was an original stance from her. I would have enjoyed it even if I didn't know it was her writing it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • jane
    OXFORD, United Kingdom
    9/14/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Audio Book Review of ‘The Cuckoo's Calling’"
    Any additional comments?

    The story which is beautifully read by Robert Glenister is a very grown gritty ‘who done it?’ mystery, which is set against the back drop of London.
    The main character a super model called Lula Landry, whom the story fixates around is already dead before the first chapter, and even although you never hear her voice, you gleam the pieces from her life and her untimely demise from secondary and sometimes conflicting sources.
    The people in this story are never at first who you believe they will be, this is most apparent with the private detective, ‘Cormorant Strike,’ who is as my mother would say is a, ‘diamond in the rough,’ he is a heavily written character and you get to know every detail of his life such as his false leg, and share his highs and lows of his personal relationships.
    The other main character, who is simply known as ‘Robin’ opens the story on a personal high of her engagement, she is a temp sectary looking for a full time job but also has underling dreams for adventure.
    Although Strike and Robin start of in very different places, Robin’s engagement and Strikes long term relationship ending, together they make an incisive and appreciative pair of each other’s skills and share a common goal to seek the truth.
    I really enjoyed the audio book and marvelled both at the descriptive writing skills of Rowling and the wonderful range of voices that Robert Glenister was able to produce to bring the character’s fully to life, from a Jamaican man to an old lady, I was spell bound, ‘The Cuckoo's Calling’ is truly worth listening to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • patrick
    armagh, United Kingdom
    9/13/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    This was a gripping story which had me hooked from beginning to end. It was beautifully narrated.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Cormorant Stryke


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bob
    Goring Heath, United Kingdom
    9/12/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cathartic for the author painful for the listener"
    Would you try another book written by Robert Galbraith or narrated by Robert Glenister?

    They can only get better - at least this one is out of the system


    What was most disappointing about Robert Galbraith’s story?

    It wasn't so much a story but an opportunity to vent all the pent up adult words that must have stockpiled in the Potter author over the last ten years


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Narrator help to his accents nearly to the end of the story


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The first and last chapters were disappointing - the first for the language and the last for the length due to attempting to tie up all the loose ends


    Any additional comments?

    Hoping the next one is a belter

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Elizabeth
    York, United Kingdom
    9/8/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"

    I have listened to quite a few who dunnit's and didn't think this one would be as good. But I was wrong and I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for another one from this author. I thought the private detective character, Cormorant Strike, was a great character. I highly recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs. J. Jackson
    knutsford cheshire uk
    9/8/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "one of the best reads I have had so far"

    This is a true thriller, loved the characters, the PI & his assistant unusual. although there are quite a few characters in the storey you don't loose track of them. Loved the Narrater some times you get it wrong and it can spoil a storey. This is the first time I have heard of Robert Gilbraith but I will certainly be looking for more,cannot wait.
    well done ROBERT KEEP IT UP Mrs J ackson

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • L
    YORK, United Kingdom
    9/7/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "definitely worth a credit!"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Beautifully written crime by an author who doesn't underestimate his audience. A strong, believable set of characters and a story that kept me riveted to the end. I hope to hear more from Cormoran and his investigations!


    What did you like best about this story?

    The story flowed at a good pace and didn't have chunks that slumped into tedium. You were given the chance to try working the clues without being smacked in the face with the answer, nor did you feel lost and wandering what on earth it was all about.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Robert Glenister's performance was excellent. No stupid attempts at over done accents!


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Samantha
    Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
    9/7/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Never having listened to PI or murder mystery type stories this was great. Great characters, engaging story addictive to listen to. I really thought it was great.
    Only sad point is that it is ended! I want to know what Cormorant and his secretary will get up to next!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Border Reiver
    Scotland
    9/7/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A marriage made in heaven !"

    The partnership between the two Roberts (Galbraith and Glenister) is a perfect one. A detective story with Cormoran Strike as a gritty hero surrounded by numerous characters all capable of the crime and read with the skill of a true actor. Only downside ...... MORE .......NOW !!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Avril
    Ruardean Woodside, United Kingdom
    9/6/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it, loved it, loved it!"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Novel; Clever; Gripping


    What did you like best about this story?

    It was amusing too, and quite refreshingly different.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Not that I know of. It was a good performance though.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Laugh a bit I think.


    Any additional comments?

    More please!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 291-300 of 403 results PREVIOUS129303141NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.