We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (469 )
5 star
 (238)
4 star
 (170)
3 star
 (46)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (437 )
5 star
 (208)
4 star
 (161)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (435 )
5 star
 (275)
4 star
 (126)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • TicTacToe
    3/25/15
    Overall
    "Excellent crime drama."

    Thoroughly enjoyed spending a few hours in the company of new crime hero Cormeran Strike.
    Well read by R Glenister

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jamie Young
    3/25/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Appealing, eventually engaging but a slow burner."

    The audio book is definitely one I would describe as compelling to listen to and would certainly be something to give a spin if you are new to audio books in general. Do be aware though that this book took me a while to get to a point where it became gripping and would initially only listen to it while I was pottering around cooking or cleaning. It did eventually get to the point where I was listening at every possible opportunity but that did take quite some time.

    Robert Glenister gives a fantastic performance in his narration, some other narrators have really put me off even giving other audio books a go. I would definitely consider reading any other audio book narrations by him in the future. My only niggle with his performance was his Jamaican/West Indies accent, my other half and I found it slightly cringe worthy and very amusing at the same time but in all honesty I'd recommend you pick up this book just to hear him doing it, you won't be disappointed!

    The character development sometimes left me feeling like something was lacking, but in all there were some loveable, relatable characters amidst some that added nothing and served no other purpose other than to be a red herring. That said red herring characters are part and parcel with the genre so allowances must be made!

    All in all a very enjoyable experience and will absolutely be picking up the sequel.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Alasdair
    3/24/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it"

    Well crafted, great characters, sorry to leave Strike and Robyn. Enough twists and red herrings to keep any crime fiction lover gripped. Can't wait to read the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • luke kehoe
    3/20/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A solid listen"

    Good solid book with a solid storyline, property paced, and a great ending. The narrator was brilliant and made the story come alive. The book was an easy listen, did not end chapters on cliffhangers or have any twists until the climax at the end. Overall, I'm satisfied with it. I did find the writing style to be very simple and basic, but it made it straightforward and easy to listen to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • sarah
    3/18/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "glennisters performance is out standing"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    Since purchasing the book i think i have listened to it approximately 5 times. Really enjoy the content. The first time i was kept guessing until the end. Subsequent listening has allowed me to enjoy the narration fully as Robert glennister is captivating through out


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    All the scenes between comaran and robin but one that stands out is scene between wardle,carver and strike when a body is pulled out of the river


    Any additional comments?

    Can't wait for small screen adaptation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • roving mum
    UK
    3/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripped to the last"

    ..not just by the mystery to solve but by the fantastic characters and their relationships. Really enjoyed being transported away into this fantastic story...and in fairness., I'd listen to Glenister reading a shopping list.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • cheryl
    Boston, United Kingdom
    3/14/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice entertaining whodunit"

    I was hesitant about this novel as modern day whodunits are not usually my thing, but I enjoyed every second of it once I got into the character and narrative.

    The first thing that struck me was how easily Glenister stepped up and said he would do as Strike. The role was made for him.(film makers take note) He narrated Strike as the rough diamond, intelligent yet street wise smart as well. A man who has seen the edge of the precipice, stepped over it and lived to tell the tale.

    Galbraith has captured the anti hero well, and drawn on the secretaries inquisitiveness which bubbles over with infections enthusiasm and an all compassing intelligence that provides Strike with more than 'just' a secretary
    .
    The bad guy was bad, the model was gorgeous and the friends, hangers on on druggies and toadies are wonderful diversion and when you reach the end, it dawns on you, Strike had this case solved right back at the beginning, he just wanted to see you run to keep up thats all!

    I look forward to seeing where this character is off to next, because one thing is sure, trouble finds him and he doesn't have to go far to find it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Helen
    Brighton, United Kingdom
    3/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "An enjoyable listen, but ultimately disappointing"

    I really enjoyed A Casual Vacancy, so had high hopes for Rowling's next offering, but this fell way short of the mark. I enjoyed the book, but it's pretty light stuff - and I won't be bothering with any of the Cormoran Strike follow ups.

    Robert Glenister is a great narrator though, and really captured the characters well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • MRS AUDREY MAWBY
    1 ORCHARD COURT, NORTHALLERTON, DL7 8DQ
    3/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not a usual detective story, nor a romance, unique"

    The characters' idiosyncrasies keep us interested as the mystery unravels and we are left pleased but wishing for more.
    A masterly reader!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Darran/Melinda
    Woking
    3/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "excellent"

    Great combination of an excellent book and great narrator. A highly recommended who done it!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.