We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (280 )
5 star
 (142)
4 star
 (102)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.3 (265 )
5 star
 (124)
4 star
 (99)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.5 (263 )
5 star
 (167)
4 star
 (76)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (2)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Patricia White
    Kendal
    9/30/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Exceeded Expectations"

    A thoroughly enjoyable performance (I don't think the read would be as good as the listen). Easy to pick holes in the story, but my main problem was buying the "hero's" attractiveness to women and this wasn't about his leg: almost daily alcohol binges and a diet of Big Macs - c'mon!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Karen
    LEEDS, United Kingdom
    9/28/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cuckoo's Calling was fab"
    Any additional comments?

    I really enjoyed this, i hope more will be writed with the same main charecters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sophie
    Bournemouth, United Kingdom
    9/27/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A story to grip you"

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was hooked right from the first chapter, very well composed and excellent narration. Highly recommended!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Colin Wise
    Nuneaton uk
    9/25/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The reader


    What did you like best about this story?

    The ending


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    when the perp was being told how it was


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Robyns relationship with strike


    Any additional comments?

    My 1st audible book - definitely not my last

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • JillyB
    uk
    9/25/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly enjoyable"

    Really enjoyed this, even though I didn't expect to in some ways. Yes enjoyed the Harry Potter books - although I think I'm a tad older than the target audience! However with the proviso that books can be traded back if you can't get on with them I decided to take a gamble. I'm so glad I did, have truly enjoyed this book. So much so I may even try Casual Vacancy now.

    Plot may not be original - but I'm not sure if there is such a thing as an original plot any way - but enjoyed how it was resolved and like the base characters who I presume will reappear in any sequel/s and I do hope there will be at least another one.

    Easy listening - the swearing may not be to everyone's taste, but unfortunately it seems to be the way many people talk - I enjoy listening as a bedtime story so nothing there to wake me up - just ended up listening for too long! Definitely a case of just one more chapter!

    Try it - and I do hope you enjoy it half as much as i did.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    Holmfirth, United Kingdom
    9/24/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really engaging"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    A really engaging crime thriller, with clichéd but well rounded characters made this story fun to listen to.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    Reading was well paced.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Funny in places. Loved the drunken scene.


    Any additional comments?

    More please!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Jon
    Umberleigh, United Kingdom
    9/24/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping, really enjoyed this"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    yes, excellent descriptions, I was listening when heard it was written by Harry P's creator, the quoting of Latin then being recognisable somehow!


    What did you like best about this story?

    All of it.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    no


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    ?


    Any additional comments?

    no

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Catherine
    newark, United Kingdom
    9/22/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "an uneven jolting listen"
    What would have made The Cuckoo's Calling better?

    the sentences of this book are too often awkwardly written, forced, studied, and combined with Robert Glenister's often strange pauses for breath make for a piece which is almost unlitenable too at times, the words jarring when they should be leading one into the plot. deeply disappointing.


    What will your next listen be?

    I followed this with Jo Nesbo's 'Police'. wow what a contrast. a five star plot and Sean Barrett's outstanding charaterisations


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Kiera
    Nuneaton, United Kingdom
    9/21/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant book amazing charactors"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    It is a cracking yarn that is very hard to put down fast paced and exciting.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Cormarant is a wonderfully drawn character fully fleshed out by Robert Glennisters amazing vocal talents, totally believable.


    Any additional comments?

    This book was a pot luck purchase. I didn't know the author at all at time of ordering and it has been proved to be an unexpected and recommendable pleasure. Please may we have lots more this one private detective I dont expect to get bored with.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • A
    United Kingdom
    9/21/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyed every minute of this"

    Enjoyed this from beginning to end. A good tale. This story kept me listening and back from doing other things.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 291-300 of 420 results PREVIOUS129303142NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.