We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (315 )
5 star
 (160)
4 star
 (114)
3 star
 (31)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.3 (297 )
5 star
 (142)
4 star
 (108)
3 star
 (35)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.5 (295 )
5 star
 (184)
4 star
 (88)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Belinda
    LONDON, United Kingdom
    10/19/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I didnt want this story to end"
    What did you like most about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    A compelling novel which was beautifully narrated.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Strike was brilliant. But each character took on a very distinct personality of their own.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • D. C. Allison
    London
    10/19/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tour de Force"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    This is a great story with great characters, fantastically performed by Robert Glenister. Cormoran Strike, damaged and courageous in equal measure, is every inch the perfect hero.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    For me, there were many memorable moments, particularly the scenes between Strike and his 'sidekick' Robin. Great drama, with romantic possibility always bubbling just beneath the surface.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I haven't. But I definitely will now.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    For me, the most moving moment in the the book was the scene with Strike and Robin, when Strike is drunk and Robin is trying to look after him. Sad, funny, tender - and beautifully performed. Surely a TV series is just around the corner?


    Any additional comments?

    I loved every minute. End of.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • K. Ormiston
    UK
    10/16/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Rattling Good Listen"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This was a great listen, even including the very dodgy West Indian accent! It was about three quarters of the way through when I guessed the killer and why but that didn't detract. Well worth a listen.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The temp - because she was young and ambitious and obviously smart.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    A rich voice, well read and even worse accent that I could have thought up!


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Yes, when the temp grapples with telling her boss about his ex.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Kim
    Poole, United Kingdom
    10/15/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Totally absorbing."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Has you on the edge of your iPod. Great book well read.


    Any additional comments?

    Great suspense. Well read and very enjoyable

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Carolyn
    Hampton, United Kingdom
    10/15/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved getting to know the characters"
    What did you like best about this story?

    I was completely pulled in to the story and didn't want to put it down. It is well set up for a sequel and I am looking forward to the next one.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Carolyn
    EASTBOURNE, United Kingdom
    10/14/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dire and dull"
    Would you try another book written by Robert Galbraith or narrated by Robert Glenister?

    I would always listen to the wonderful Robert Glenister who made the best he could out of this dire book.


    Has The Cuckoo's Calling put you off other books in this genre?

    No


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Range of voices


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    The central character was likeable but none of the characters were believable


    Any additional comments?

    Badly written, like a crime book for children although the swearing (used in place of real characterisation) would probably rule it out.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mary
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    10/13/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting"

    Unfortunately the news of who 'Robert Galbraith' really is came out the day after I'd downloaded this title. It would have been good to listen without that knowledge. I enjoyed the story and the characters whom have been well developed for a first book. The writing wasn't fantastic, probably not surprising as she must have written it pretty fast, but a good story that I enjoyed.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • S
    LIVERPOOL, United Kingdom
    10/12/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ok"

    expected more from this author . storyline was interesting and kept my attention but just too many unfamiliar names with 'he said ' 'she said' easy to lose concentration
    expect better with next book narrator was good and easy to listen to

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    France
    10/12/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I hope this is the first of a series"
    What did you like about this audiobook?

    I liked the story line and the narrator brought it all to life.


    How has the book increased your interest in the subject matter?

    I, like Robyn, would have loved to work for a private investigator. I hope this is number one of a series as I look forward to further episodes.


    What did you find wrong about the narrator's performance?

    Nothing. I have, since listening, found myself searching for other books narrated by Robert Glenister


    Do you have any additional comments?

    Enjoyed it very much.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • angela
    Kells, Ireland
    10/11/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very enjoyable read.."

    I was so interested to read this when I heard that JK Rowling wrote it. It really is very good and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The narration was very nice too. Think there's more to come from Strike...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 291-300 of 439 results PREVIOUS129303144NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.