We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (400 )
5 star
 (197)
4 star
 (149)
3 star
 (42)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.2 (370 )
5 star
 (171)
4 star
 (140)
3 star
 (44)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Story
4.5 (368 )
5 star
 (227)
4 star
 (112)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • mywallmum
    United Kingdom
    3/26/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "well worth the read"

    i really enjoyed this, i thought it took a bit of time to get going but there were some great parts in it, the characters compliment each other

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • iris
    Paris, France
    3/21/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A ratttling good read"

    The main character Cormoran Strike is excellent - an illegitimate son of a famous musician and a somewhat zany mother - nothing in his background would have predicted him ending up in a career with the military police and now a private dick - minus half a leg after an incident in Afghanistan. He is called in to investigate the suspicious suicide of a top model from the balcony of a fashionable appartment in London. Although nearing financial ruin he had forgotten to cancel his demand for a temporary p.a. Enter robin, a feisty Yorkshire lass who throws herself into dectection work with alacrity. The budding relationship between the two is touching and amusing. The investigation itself can at times be a little sluggish especially at the start of the book but once it takes off the writing becomes very fluent and enjoyable. I loved the cockney characters especially with a rendition of their authentic sound even if the constant 'F' word might put off some. I was brought up in London and I felt the author really captured the speech rhythms of the Londoners. The narrator was on the whole excellent but the one accent he cannot master is London West Indies speech - I had to grit my teeth all through the interview with the West Indian porter at the hotel. Apart from that little quibble I would definitely reccommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • lucinda
    FAREHAM, United Kingdom
    3/20/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    First audiobook I downloaded and still my favourite


    What did you like best about this story?

    Great story, great characters. Lots of twists, kept me guessing until the end.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Brought the characters to life.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Miss
    Dover, United Kingdom
    3/20/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting crime puzzle"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    If you enjoy a puzzle and working out 'who did it' then I would recommend this book. If you remember the facts and don't get misdirected by any red herrings you may manage it.
    I soon warmed to the main characters who were believable and well sketched.


    What about Robert Glenister’s performance did you like?

    Robert Glenister was able to perform a range of accents and voices for the various characters without any of them sounding forced or too false; easy to listen to.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Megan
    Hitchin, United Kingdom
    3/20/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant"

    Great storyline and I felt real empathy for the characters. Robert Glenister does a cracking job. Would definitely recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Pinkbee
    Kent, UK
    3/19/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not disappointed"
    Where does The Cuckoo's Calling rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    It would definitely be in the top 5


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    My favourite character was Strike because he was realistic and relatable.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    The drunk scene where Robin came to the rescue.


    Any additional comments?

    An engaging listen and a brilliant story, can't wait for book 2.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs
    GRAVESEND, United Kingdom
    3/18/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Superb story and excellently read"
    Would you consider the audio edition of The Cuckoo's Calling to be better than the print version?

    I haven't read the print version, but Robert Glenister was an inspired choice to read this thrilling story.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The descriptions of the characters was so detailed, that I could picture them clearly in my mind.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    No, but I certainly will!


    Any additional comments?

    It's a long time since I was so absorbed in a story and Robert Galbraith does not disappoint! I will be looking out for more in the series...and hope that they too will be read by Robert Glenister.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bill
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    3/16/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A pastiche of stereotypes but ok"

    I consume detective novels like dairy milk chocolate and its probably a guilty secret. The story was good but the characters felt they wernt new to me i had come across them in other books rather than breathing out of the narrative. But i do like cheap chocolate

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • EVA
    WRAY NR LANCASTER, United Kingdom
    3/15/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "MARVELLOUS"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    OH YES PLEASE.
    I LOVED CORMORANT AND ROBIN WAS A GREAT SIDEKICK


    What did you like best about this story?

    HAD GUESSED TWO THIRDS OF THE WAY THROUGH WHO WAS THE MURDERER BUT IT WAS GREAT TO FIND OUT HOW CORMORANT FOUND OUT


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    FANTASTIC VOICE AS GOOD AS MANY OTHERS


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • S G Parkinson
    United Kingdom
    3/8/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    The characters in the book were great and the narrator did an excellent job.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Has to be Strike


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No I listened to this when driving and also going to bed.


    Any additional comments?

    Can't wait for the next one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.