We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling Audiobook

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

Regular Price:$25.54
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (481 )
5 star
 (246)
4 star
 (173)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (10)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.3 (447 )
5 star
 (217)
4 star
 (162)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.5 (445 )
5 star
 (283)
4 star
 (128)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Performance


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Roger Donald
    4/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mmmm - great user reviews narration isn't good!"
    What disappointed you about The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The narration is bad and quite monotone. This has meant I have got to chapeter 3 and gone back to a Sean Barrett narrated book.


    If you’ve listened to books by Robert Galbraith before, how does this one compare?

    First and last


    How could the performance have been better?

    Better narration. It's pretty awful.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    Disappointed that the story is delivered badly. Lost interest really quickly.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J. Julian
    UK
    4/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderfully narrated"

    Best narration I've listened to. Really brought all the characters to life. The writing (because it's Rowling) also helped. Vivid characters and setting made this an enjoyable listen, if a little predictable.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Ms
    4/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent"

    Excellent narration by Robert Glenister

    Kept me interested and compelled to listen on.

    Can't wait to read next in series.




    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Joseph
    Rochdale, UK
    4/15/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not bad for a first attempt"

    After The Casual Vacancy (which I thought was dreadful) I was a bit reluctant to give JKR another read but I admit that this one kept me interested.

    The story is good and Robert Glenister is an excellent reader.

    My only criticism is the over use of extreme bad language which even I as a normal bloke found over the top. This will not prevent me from reading the next one as Cormoran Strike looks to have a good future.

    A request - please keep to the same reader for continuity.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • S Price Sinclair
    4/13/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Entertaining listen"

    An enjoyable entertaining book. Slightly slow in parts but good ending & picks up pace later. Will listen to the next book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Lisa
    4/8/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "ROBERT GLENNISTER IS A GENIUS!"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Brilliant, sharp and characterful


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Cuckoo's Calling?

    Strike getting pissed. Sublime and horribly accurate.


    Have you listened to any of Robert Glenister’s other performances? How does this one compare?

    I have heard Glennister a lot on the radio. This performance was a tour de force.


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Very witty and great dialogue.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Mr. Chris Caldwell
    Larne, N.ireland
    4/5/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good"

    I enjoyed this. It takes its time to tell the story right. Very well read too. I look forward to more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Michelle Campbell
    4/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it...."

    Great characters and plot, I was hooked by the story and the relationship between strike and robin early on. There is something very poignant about the story and for me it linked to the way the characters are revealed. I'm going to get the next book and hope it's as good as this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Christine
    4/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Second audio book ever, same author . Hooked now"
    Would you listen to The Cuckoo's Calling again? Why?

    Yes


    What did you like best about this story?

    Everything


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Very good story teller, normall listed to radio 4


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No listened while painting pictures


    Any additional comments?

    Very very good, are the any more books in this series !

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • pen name
    london
    3/31/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "highly contemporary, classic whodunnit"
    If you could sum up The Cuckoo's Calling in three words, what would they be?

    Great story, narrator


    What did you like best about this story?

    true-ringing portrayal of contemporary London, or a certain vertical demographic of it, which like the best detective fiction, will read well as such 50, or 70 years from now. compelling, likeable leads, and good insight into the varieties of human folly misery and madness with which even the beautiful rich and famous may have to contend.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    very very good narrator; accents and characterisations extremely well rendered, and a great sensitivity for tone and narrative. he's now one of my top five readers.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    i wouldn't make a film of it, i think it would lend itself better to TV; Strike and Robin would make a great tv detective and sidekick/pair of detectives.


    Any additional comments?

    yeah. highly recommended if you like detective fiction that offers insight into the human condition. the sequel to this book, the silkworm, set in publishing, shows another facet of the city; another social niche to which this author is certainly not wasting their own special access. Adult readers of this author's other works will find many pleasing glimmers and leitmotifs

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.