We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1 | [Robert Galbraith]

The Cuckoo's Calling: Cormoran Strike, Book 1

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger...
Regular Price:$21.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger…

A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

Robert Glenister has performed with both the National Theatre and the RSC. He has worked extensively on radio and television and is probably best known for his roles as Ash Morgan in the BBC's Hustle and as the Home Secretary in 5 series of Spooks.

©2013 Robert Galbraith (P)2013 Hachette Digital

What the Critics Say

"The Cuckoo's Calling reminds me why I fell in love with crime fiction in the first place." (Val McDermid)

"One of the most unique and compelling detectives I've come across in years" (Mark Billingham)

"One of the best crime novels I have ever read." (Alex Gray)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (267 )
5 star
 (138)
4 star
 (97)
3 star
 (24)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.3 (254 )
5 star
 (121)
4 star
 (92)
3 star
 (31)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.5 (253 )
5 star
 (162)
4 star
 (73)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (2)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Trevor
    Craven Arms, United Kingdom
    9/18/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Superb Reading"

    When one knows the book is really by J.K. Rowling it is quite easy to identify certain passages as by a female hand but I doubt I would have known otherwise.
    The writing is good, straightforward narrative stuff with some excellent descriptive passages and I would normally award it three stars but what catapults it into the four star category is the brilliant reading by Robert Glenister.
    Incidentally, Rowling has lost none of her aptitude for creating quirky names for her characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rose
    London, United Kingdom
    9/18/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So, so good!"

    I can't believe how much I enjoyed this! It was a real punt, but I'm really glad I took the gamble. The first couple of chapters weren't great, and I was starting to think that I'd make a mistake, but it picked up after the second chapter or so and just got better and better!

    Totally gripping. The narration was excellent, with such a wide variety of voices and accents. I would recommend this to absolutely anyone.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Shaun Sandy
    Durban, Kwa - Zulu Natal South Africa
    9/18/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Potential"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

    Time was neither well spent or wasted, the book was very middle of the road.


    What was most disappointing about Robert Galbraith’s story?

    It was too easily ended, and the lack of depth to the story was disappointing.


    What does Robert Glenister bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    The narration was great, one of the reasons I stuck with the book to the end. Characters were well defined and accents and tones fit the characters.


    Do you think The Cuckoo's Calling needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    I would read sequel, or series to see the development of the detective and his secretary and their possible relationship.


    Any additional comments?

    I think the pen name shouldn't have been used and the author published the book under the name they're known for.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    Wittersham, United Kingdom
    9/16/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "First of many?"

    I hope this will be the first of many such outings for the Detective Cormoran Strike. The writing was realistic and the plot complicated enough to keep you guessing. However, for me, the best part was Robert Glenister's narration. It made the whole story come to life. It is amazing how he can so effortlessly take on a myriad of voices and characters. I hope he narrates many more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sandra
    Ashford, United Kingdom
    9/16/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sorry when my commute ends!"

    Just loved this book from beginning to end. Robert Glenister was a perfect narrator across all the characters and keeps the listener with him all the way. The story keeps you engrossed and I gasped out loud on a couple of occasions - looked a bit stupid on the train. Also laughed out louds many times. The story is well written, moves through the plot at just the right place and leaves you wanting the next book at the end. I just didn't want it to finish. More please!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Miss
    BIRMINGHAM, United Kingdom
    9/15/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pleasant surprise"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    Well narrated and good inflection of characters. They were interesting and you cared about the key roles in the book.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    I liked the character of the detective, he was basic enough and down to earth. The secretary offers an interesting counterpoint.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I was keen to keep listening to this book and race through it.


    Any additional comments?

    I have read other Rowling books and after A casual vacancy , this was far from a disappointment. It had pace, good characters and was an original stance from her. I would have enjoyed it even if I didn't know it was her writing it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • jane yates
    9/14/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Audio Book Review of ‘The Cuckoo's Calling’"
    Any additional comments?

    The story which is beautifully read by Robert Glenister is a very grown gritty ‘who done it?’ mystery, which is set against the back drop of London.
    The main character a super model called Lula Landry, whom the story fixates around is already dead before the first chapter, and even although you never hear her voice, you gleam the pieces from her life and her untimely demise from secondary and sometimes conflicting sources.
    The people in this story are never at first who you believe they will be, this is most apparent with the private detective, ‘Cormorant Strike,’ who is as my mother would say is a, ‘diamond in the rough,’ he is a heavily written character and you get to know every detail of his life such as his false leg, and share his highs and lows of his personal relationships.
    The other main character, who is simply known as ‘Robin’ opens the story on a personal high of her engagement, she is a temp sectary looking for a full time job but also has underling dreams for adventure.
    Although Strike and Robin start of in very different places, Robin’s engagement and Strikes long term relationship ending, together they make an incisive and appreciative pair of each other’s skills and share a common goal to seek the truth.
    I really enjoyed the audio book and marvelled both at the descriptive writing skills of Rowling and the wonderful range of voices that Robert Glenister was able to produce to bring the character’s fully to life, from a Jamaican man to an old lady, I was spell bound, ‘The Cuckoo's Calling’ is truly worth listening to.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • patrick
    armagh, United Kingdom
    9/13/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"
    What made the experience of listening to The Cuckoo's Calling the most enjoyable?

    This was a gripping story which had me hooked from beginning to end. It was beautifully narrated.


    Which character – as performed by Robert Glenister – was your favourite?

    Cormorant Stryke


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Bob
    Goring Heath, United Kingdom
    9/12/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Cathartic for the author painful for the listener"
    Would you try another book written by Robert Galbraith or narrated by Robert Glenister?

    They can only get better - at least this one is out of the system


    What was most disappointing about Robert Galbraith’s story?

    It wasn't so much a story but an opportunity to vent all the pent up adult words that must have stockpiled in the Potter author over the last ten years


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    Narrator help to his accents nearly to the end of the story


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Cuckoo's Calling?

    The first and last chapters were disappointing - the first for the language and the last for the length due to attempting to tie up all the loose ends


    Any additional comments?

    Hoping the next one is a belter

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Elizabeth
    York, United Kingdom
    9/8/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping"

    I have listened to quite a few who dunnit's and didn't think this one would be as good. But I was wrong and I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for another one from this author. I thought the private detective character, Cormorant Strike, was a great character. I highly recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 291-300 of 408 results PREVIOUS129303141NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.