We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel | [Eugenia Kim]

The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel

In early-20th-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother---but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess.
Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Najin's father, a calligrapher, clings to tradition as the Japanese occupation threatens Korean culture in the early twentieth century. He continually slights his daughter, the curious Najin, who holds back her questions and hides the hurt that comes from her father's insensitivity. If Lorna Raver's mature voice seems a curious choice for the young heroine, her throaty richness becomes more appropriate as the production proceeds. It fits the royalty of the Korean court, where Najin's mother sends her to escape an arranged marriage. Raver's resonance also makes sense as young Najin faces threats beyond her level of maturity. With devotion and strength, Najin works to maintain her family's well-being during times of war and poverty, ignoring her own desires for scholarship and love.

Publisher's Summary

In early-20th-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother---but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face?

Spanning 30 years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

©2009 Eugenia Kim; (P)2009 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"A beautiful, deliberate and satisfying story spanning 30 years of Korean history." (Publishers Weekly Starred Review)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (45 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.7 (12 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (11 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.