We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
The Boy That Never Was Audiobook

The Boy That Never Was

Regular Price:$28.40
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

"The Boy That Never Was is that powerful thing, a beautifully written mystery driven by its exploration of the characters' innermost hearts'' (Tana French)
"A truly remarkable novel... Written in a captivating, lyrical style and brilliantly structured, the story grips your heart from the first pages and simply never lets go" (Jeffery Deave)
"This is a debut novel that will catch fire" (Nelson DeMille)

Publisher's Summary

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of The Boy That Never Was by Karen Perry. Read by Gerry O'Brien, Niamh Daly, Christopher Ragland and Roy McMillan.

You were loved and lost - then you came back...

Five years ago, three-year-old Dillon disappeared. For his father Harry - who left him alone for ten crucial minutes - it was an unforgivable lapse. Yet Dillon's mother Robyn has never blamed her husband: Her own secret guilt is burden enough. Now they're trying to move on, returning home to Dublin to make a fresh start. But their lives are turned upside down the day Harry sees an eight-year-old boy in the crowd. A boy Harry is convinced is Dillon. But the boy vanishes before he can do anything about it.

What Harry thought he saw quickly plunges their marriage into a spiral of crazed obsession and broken trust, uncovering deceits and shameful secrets. Everything Robyn and Harry ever believed in one another is cast into doubt. And at the centre of it all is the boy that never was...

The Boy That Never Was is a deeply atmospheric and masterfully crafted tale of love and loss that will chill you to the bone. Fans of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah will fall in love with this debut from Karen Perry.

©2014 Penguin Books Limited; 2014 Penguin Books Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
5.0 (1 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Olivia 03-08-15
    Olivia 03-08-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great read"

    This book had me sitting by the edge of my seat from beginning to the end. It was a great read and storyline. It could easily be non fiction.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • nitapet
    8/7/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautifully narrated."
    Any additional comments?

    Beautiful narration brought the characters to life as they each told the story from their view point. The story was a little slow and improbable in places and I think I might have given up without the skill of the narrators.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Peter A Connolly
    7/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enthralling"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes Excellent story and performance


    What did you like best about this story?

    Kept me guessing all the way to the end


    Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favourite?

    All


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Cry but also kept me enthralled all the way through


    Any additional comments?

    Excellent

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Suzy
    5/3/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional ride with plenty of twists"
    Any additional comments?

    This was a great listen with several narrators taking the roles of the main characters. They all did a great job except for one time when mimicking a foreign accent. It was so muffled I couldn't understand anything that was said. But this took up 2 minutes of the entire book, so was fine.

    The story begins in 2005 with a tragic earthquake and the loss of a son. It then skips to present day and mostly the chapters alertnate between the husband and wife. Through flashbacks we learn of events leading up to the day of the earthquake from their perspectives. Running alongside this is the present day story of how they moved on with their lives, or at least tried to, after their loss. The story starts strongly with action and emotion, then dips a little, but comes soaring back at the end with several plot twists. Just as I thought okay so that's what happened there was another surprise. It's difficult to say too much without giving the plot away. It reminded me of the recent BBC drama about a man looking for his missing son. What was also interesting was that I didn't really like the husband /father and yet it was easy to empathise with him.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • brenda miller
    harlow, United Kingdom
    9/30/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I wanted to finish it!"

    I tried very hard to get into this book but it just kept moving away from my attention span - the narrators were excellent but I just could not concentrate on the characters and their story

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Maggs
    Port Talbot
    5/15/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The boy that never was - dramatic read,"

    The boy that never was - dramatic read, excellent narration.
    You could really feel for this father in this dramatic book.
    Great narration

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Miss
    2/12/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful listening"

    I could Not put this down. It was breath taking.

    Worth buying and I would recommend it to anyone. Sue

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Wicked
    England
    1/11/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful story"
    What made the experience of listening to The Boy That Never Was the most enjoyable?

    I never quite knew which way the story was going, so the twists and turns always came as a surprise. I was willing certain things to happen, and I didn't always get what I wanted.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Harry - he's a man haunted my his loss, and that drives him to an obsessive degree.All of the characters were very strong.


    Which character – as performed by the narrators – was your favourite?

    All of the narration was good, I particularly like the narrator who read the part of Robyn.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The ending, when we finally find out what happened to Dillon, and the result of that discovery.


    Any additional comments?

    An excellent book. I would highly recommend it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Giftgiver
    10/6/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Masterful Storytelling"
    What did you like most about The Boy That Never Was?

    The characters were very compelling. Each had his or her flaws, but their actions and the reasons behind them were entirely understandable. Whilst the circumstances were very unusual, I felt I understood why things developed in the way they did. The three narrators did a great job.


    Which scene did you most enjoy?

    I enjoyed feeling that I knew what had happened in the past, and then the dawning realisation that I was mistaken! The author managed the events in a masterful fashion.


    Any additional comments?

    The ending was a bit of a mystery to me. I wonder if I missed something?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • sunflower
    UK
    9/16/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a goodie"
    Would you listen to The Boy That Never Was again? Why?

    yes. it's good enough to hear a second time round


    What about the narrators’s performance did you like?

    yes, they were both extremely good, "played" the parts well. The Irish voices were a real pleasure to listen to....


    Any additional comments?

    a book that I listened to at every possible (free) moment! Stayed in yr head between listenings

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • kenneth Sharpe
    8/25/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "v"
    What disappointed you about The Boy That Never Was?

    very hard to get into to many people telling the story ,ive give up on trying this book


    What was most disappointing about Karen Perry’s story?

    ive only just started to listen to this audio book and I have give after a few chapters


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.