We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
The Boleyn King: Boleyn Trilogy, Book 1 | [Laura Andersen]

The Boleyn King: Boleyn Trilogy, Book 1

Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.
Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?

Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.

Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.

©2013 Laura Andersen (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (95 )
5 star
 (40)
4 star
 (30)
3 star
 (15)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
4.0 (84 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (86 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Nancy L. Lamb Smyrna, GA, United States 05-03-15
    Nancy L. Lamb Smyrna, GA, United States 05-03-15 Member Since 2014

    I love books about history and thrillers/suspense.

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great beginning!!"

    Very compelling alternate theory of history. I love speculating in "What if...." scenarios. Can't wait to read the next installment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine 04-30-15
    Catherine 04-30-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting premis but..."

    I don't think I will be reading the rest of the trilogy. I love the Henry the 8th stories and Queen Anne is one of my favorite historical subjects. It just was not as good as I hoped it would have been.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gale Hurd 04-04-15
    Gale Hurd 04-04-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    "Very enjoyable"

    I enjoyed the whole package the story and the narration. I would definitely recommend to anyone who loves Historical Romance.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. D. Ristick Evanston, IL United States 09-22-14
    S. D. Ristick Evanston, IL United States 09-22-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great idea, bad story"
    Any additional comments?

    This was a terrific idea; I've often wondered how England's history might have been different if Ann had not been executed, and had produced a living son. Aside from the fact that Elizabeth may never have ruled, who knows how different things might have been. Unfortunately, this three book series offered little in the answers to those questions.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alison essex jct, VT, United States 12-22-14
    Alison essex jct, VT, United States 12-22-14 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    244
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    22
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not great...or even decent"

    I've listened to the entire series. I normally enjoy historical fiction. But this series just didn't do it for me.

    I did, however, find the narrator to be fabulous. I think I could listen to him read the phonebook. Without Simon Vance, I never would have gotten through.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-5 of 5 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.