We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Boleyn King Audiobook
The Boleyn King
Written by: 
Laura Andersen
Narrated by: 
Simon Vance
 >   > 
The Boleyn King Audiobook

The Boleyn King: Boleyn Trilogy, Book 1

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares to imagine: What if Anne Boleyn had actually given Henry VIII a son who grew up to be king?

Just seventeen years old, Henry IX, known as William, is a king bound by the restraints of the regency yet anxious to prove himself. With the French threatening battle and the Catholics sowing the seeds of rebellion at home, William trusts only three people: his older sister Elizabeth; his best friend and loyal counselor, Dominic; and Minuette, a young orphan raised as a royal ward by William’s mother, Anne Boleyn.

Against a tide of secrets, betrayal, and murder, William finds himself fighting for the very soul of his kingdom. Then, when he and Dominic both fall in love with Minuette, romantic obsession looms over a new generation of Tudors. One among them will pay the price for a king’s desire, as a shocking twist of fate changes England’s fortunes forever.

©2013 Laura Andersen (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (224 )
5 star
 (92)
4 star
 (67)
3 star
 (41)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (10)
Overall
4.0 (199 )
5 star
 (90)
4 star
 (56)
3 star
 (32)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (9)
Story
4.2 (200 )
5 star
 (101)
4 star
 (61)
3 star
 (25)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    L L 06-22-15
    L L 06-22-15 Member Since 2014

    private shopper

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Was ok"

    Interesting concept, story was diverting but the narrator had a 'James T Kirk' quality to done of his sentences which I found distracting

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nancy L. Lamb Smyrna, GA, United States 05-03-15
    Nancy L. Lamb Smyrna, GA, United States 05-03-15

    I love books about history and thrillers/suspense.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great beginning!!"

    Very compelling alternate theory of history. I love speculating in "What if...." scenarios. Can't wait to read the next installment.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    S. D. Ristick Evanston, IL United States 09-22-14
    S. D. Ristick Evanston, IL United States 09-22-14 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great idea, bad story"
    Any additional comments?

    This was a terrific idea; I've often wondered how England's history might have been different if Ann had not been executed, and had produced a living son. Aside from the fact that Elizabeth may never have ruled, who knows how different things might have been. Unfortunately, this three book series offered little in the answers to those questions.

    8 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Arbel 09-01-15
    Arbel 09-01-15 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great "what if" story"

    I enjoyed this book, just the right amount of love, mystery, and royals.
    Looking forward to some more!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Layla Mabbitt 06-04-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Weird Twist on History"
    Would you try another book from Laura Andersen and/or Simon Vance?

    I didn't care for it. The reader is great but the story is so far off of real history that it was hard for me to get into the story.


    Has The Boleyn King turned you off from other books in this genre?

    No. I love this genre, I think that's why I am having so much trouble with this particular story. It changes history.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    Performance was not the problem, the reader Simon Vance was great.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from The Boleyn King?

    I don't know, I could not grasp the story at all.


    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-04-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very enjoyable"

    I enjoyed the whole package the story and the narration. I would definitely recommend to anyone who loves Historical Romance.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cate 04-30-15
    Cate 04-30-15 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting premis but..."

    I don't think I will be reading the rest of the trilogy. I love the Henry the 8th stories and Queen Anne is one of my favorite historical subjects. It just was not as good as I hoped it would have been.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Alison essex jct, VT, United States 12-22-14
    Alison essex jct, VT, United States 12-22-14 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    70
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    249
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    28
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "not great...or even decent"

    I've listened to the entire series. I normally enjoy historical fiction. But this series just didn't do it for me.

    I did, however, find the narrator to be fabulous. I think I could listen to him read the phonebook. Without Simon Vance, I never would have gotten through.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miss Abi 03-27-16
    Miss Abi 03-27-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "pleasantly surprised"

    I absolutely enjoyed this book. As a huge fan of historical fiction it was nice to actually listen to a story about The Tudors that I had no idea what was going to happen next. The author of this book has created an astounding masterpiece in regards to creativity while still keeping the authenticity of the time period. She has taken creative liberties with some of the characters yet kept the personalities that have been established throughout history for those members that had existed before she made the turn of events. If you are a fan of historical fiction and a fan of the Tudor family line this will be an interesting twist to a story that seems to be as old as time. What If Anne Boleyn had a son that lived and became king?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Richard Monson, MA, United States 10-23-15
    Richard Monson, MA, United States 10-23-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointed"

    I like a good historical fiction and listen to tons of audiobooks. I was just not able to get into this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.