We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
The Body Artist | [Don DeLillo]

The Body Artist

Since the publication of his first novel 30 years ago, Don DeLillo has lived in the skin of our times. He has found a voice for the forgotten souls who haunt the fringes of our culture and for its larger-than-life real figures. The Body Artist is DeLillo's haunting and profoundly moving new novel.
Regular Price:$14.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In this spare, seductive novel, Don DeLillo inhabits the muted world of Lauren Hartke, an artist whose work defies the limits of the body. Lauren is living on a lonely coast, in a rambling rented house, where she encounters a strange, ageless man, a man with uncanny knowledge of her life. Together they begin a journey into the wilderness of time - time, love, and human perception.

©2001 Don DeLillo, All Rights Reserved; (P)2001 Simon & Schuster Inc., All Rights Reserved; AUDIOWORKS Is an Imprint of Simon & Schuster Audio Division, Simon & Schuster Inc.

What the Critics Say

“DeLillo’s most affecting novel yet...A dazzling, phosphorescent work of art.” (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times)

“The clearest vision yet of what it felt like to live through that day.” (Malcolm Jones, Newsweek)

“A metaphysical ghost story about a woman alone…intimate, spare, exquisite.” (Adam Begley, The New York Times Book Review)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (50 )
5 star
 (15)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
3.9 (21 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (21 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    John Chapel Hill, NC, USA 04-30-05
    John Chapel Hill, NC, USA 04-30-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent in every way"

    I'd give this one six stars if I could. DeLillo isn't everyone's cup of tea. The earlier negative reviewer is fair: the painstaking exactitude with which he documents our (contemporary American people's) thoughts and speech could, I suppose,--if you're not attuned--seem to have a pointless obsessiveness. But man alive, if you let yourself go with it, you'll find that he's speaking thoughts you yourself have had, speech you yourself recall having heard someplace (you can't quite recall where); and it's all absolutely true, often funny, and continually disconcerting. What's even more odd about the sense of familiarity is that this book, really, is a bizarre ghost story in the tradition of James' Turn of the Screw or Conrad's Secret Sharer.
    About the narration: Laurie Anderson is perfect for this book in every way, aurally and temperamentally. I could listen to her tell stories for days on end. Audio quality excellent, too.

    12 of 12 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Columbia, SC 10-27-03
    Amazon Customer Columbia, SC 10-27-03 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    30
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "DeLillo's usual excellence"

    With DeLillo's usual expertise, this story is an excellent slant on the grieving process. I felt that I wanted to listen to it again as soon as it had ended, afraid that I had missed so much of the important details. This is definitely one that bears repeating and I would highly recommend it. It is not one to be casually listened to in the background, however. It required concentration. I found myself rewinding whenever I got to engrossed in traffic while I drove...but well worth the effort!

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    03-21-05
    03-21-05 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "How boring can it get??"

    Why did I buy this book? The write up looked interesting but the book is proving to be a big disappointment. I am not enjoying it at all. So far it has been description after endless description of the most mundane aspects of life - with a little story thrown in if you can find it. This is the first audio book I will not finish. I recommend listening to a sample before buying - you may find this as boring as I have.

    5 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Swallowtail Maine 11-29-11
    Swallowtail Maine 11-29-11 Member Since 2010

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth it just to hear Laurie Anderson's narration!"

    DeLillo's take on the grieving process is fascinating, unique and, admittedly, sometimes confusing. As one reviewer noted, you can't listen to The Body Artist in traffic and fully appreciate its complexity. Laurie Anderson's narration is superbly nuanced. Hers is just the right voice, just the right articulation.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results
Sort by:
  • Rebecca
    Hackney, London, United Kingdom
    3/9/09
    Overall
    "urgh. stop."

    this is the worst book i've ever "read" by delillo - i'm a big fan of white noise, cosmopolis, underworld etc but i actually began to find this book so embarrassing to listen to that i eventually turned it off. i found delillo's imaginative attempt to describe female embodiment from the inside very, very weird indeed, and i would say that if you're not into breathy confessional discussions of embodiment, in a performative, "body art" context, then spare yourself this one. on the other hand, if you are into all that stuff - i know that some people are, and i'm not standing in judgement - then, great, this book is for you.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.