We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Body Artist Audiobook
The Body Artist
Written by: 
Don DeLillo
Narrated by: 
Laurie Anderson
 >   > 
The Body Artist Audiobook

The Body Artist

Regular Price:$14.60
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In this spare, seductive novel, Don DeLillo inhabits the muted world of Lauren Hartke, an artist whose work defies the limits of the body. Lauren is living on a lonely coast, in a rambling rented house, where she encounters a strange, ageless man, a man with uncanny knowledge of her life. Together they begin a journey into the wilderness of time - time, love, and human perception.

©2001 Don DeLillo, All Rights Reserved; (P)2001 Simon & Schuster Inc., All Rights Reserved; AUDIOWORKS Is an Imprint of Simon & Schuster Audio Division, Simon & Schuster Inc.

What the Critics Say

“DeLillo’s most affecting novel yet...A dazzling, phosphorescent work of art.” (Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times)

“The clearest vision yet of what it felt like to live through that day.” (Malcolm Jones, Newsweek)

“A metaphysical ghost story about a woman alone…intimate, spare, exquisite.” (Adam Begley, The New York Times Book Review)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (91 )
5 star
 (27)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (21)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (8)
Overall
3.7 (60 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (18)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.2 (60 )
5 star
 (31)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    John Chapel Hill, NC, USA 04-30-05
    John Chapel Hill, NC, USA 04-30-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent in every way"

    I'd give this one six stars if I could. DeLillo isn't everyone's cup of tea. The earlier negative reviewer is fair: the painstaking exactitude with which he documents our (contemporary American people's) thoughts and speech could, I suppose,--if you're not attuned--seem to have a pointless obsessiveness. But man alive, if you let yourself go with it, you'll find that he's speaking thoughts you yourself have had, speech you yourself recall having heard someplace (you can't quite recall where); and it's all absolutely true, often funny, and continually disconcerting. What's even more odd about the sense of familiarity is that this book, really, is a bizarre ghost story in the tradition of James' Turn of the Screw or Conrad's Secret Sharer.
    About the narration: Laurie Anderson is perfect for this book in every way, aurally and temperamentally. I could listen to her tell stories for days on end. Audio quality excellent, too.

    16 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Columbia, SC 10-27-03
    Amazon Customer Columbia, SC 10-27-03
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "DeLillo's usual excellence"

    With DeLillo's usual expertise, this story is an excellent slant on the grieving process. I felt that I wanted to listen to it again as soon as it had ended, afraid that I had missed so much of the important details. This is definitely one that bears repeating and I would highly recommend it. It is not one to be casually listened to in the background, however. It required concentration. I found myself rewinding whenever I got to engrossed in traffic while I drove...but well worth the effort!

    14 of 15 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Swallowtail 11-29-11
    Swallowtail 11-29-11
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth it just to hear Laurie Anderson's narration!"

    DeLillo's take on the grieving process is fascinating, unique and, admittedly, sometimes confusing. As one reviewer noted, you can't listen to The Body Artist in traffic and fully appreciate its complexity. Laurie Anderson's narration is superbly nuanced. Hers is just the right voice, just the right articulation.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 03-21-05 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "How boring can it get??"

    Why did I buy this book? The write up looked interesting but the book is proving to be a big disappointment. I am not enjoying it at all. So far it has been description after endless description of the most mundane aspects of life - with a little story thrown in if you can find it. This is the first audio book I will not finish. I recommend listening to a sample before buying - you may find this as boring as I have.

    7 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lora S. 12-28-15
    Lora S. 12-28-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sort of a Tone Poem of a Book"

    There's not a whole lot of story to this book. It is more or less the story of how a woman comes to terms with the death of her husband after he kills himself. On her return to the house they have been renting after the funeral, she discovers a man in the house who appears to have overheard various conversations she had with her husband and is able to almost play them back for her. But it is never clear who this person is, or, ultimately, whether he even exists or not.

    The style is similar to parts of Delillo's major work, 'Underworld', and the effect is almost more of a meditation or tone poem than a story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tyler Tanner Los Angeles, CA United States 10-01-15
    Tyler Tanner Los Angeles, CA United States 10-01-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worth Listening to Multiple Times"

    I normally don't take to lyrical prose, if that is in fact what I listened to. The book comes in at three and a half hours, which was ideal for getting out of my comfort zone. In an era where information comes lightning fast and you just want to hurry up and get to the next thing, I like that the book makes you slow down and take the time to really listen to what it has to say. When I realized that the opening scene in the kitchen was not going to transition anytime soon, I let myself appreciate the choice of words and how DeLillo was saying it.

    Laurie Anderson's narration is warm and deliberately paced. It was well suited for the way the story is told.

    In short, it's about a woman who loses her husband to suicide and a "being" who has been in the house where she lives appearing to her shortly after. What makes me want to listen to this again is that, now that I have a full understanding of what a Body Artist is and does, it leaves me to wonder if the apparition was real or not. The book makes no effort to answer either way, which I loved.

    What I thought was going to be tedious wound up being a pleasant surprise and I'm glad I stuck with it. I'll be looking for more of the author and the narrator in future.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Joe Kraus Kingston, PA, United States 07-13-15
    Joe Kraus Kingston, PA, United States 07-13-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    102
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    99
    99
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Powerful and Intense, but Hard to Follow"
    What three words best describe Laurie Anderson’s voice?

    I love her own work and saw her many years ago in a brilliant concert. Unfortunately, her voice strikes me as ineffectively "quiet" for these purposes. I listened while I rode in a car, and it seemed much of her inflection got drowned out by road noise. She's a great performer and a major artist in her own right, but I don't think her voice is quite pitched for the work of narration.


    Any additional comments?

    I'm a big DeLillo fan, but this turned out to be very difficult to follow as an audiobook. It's a story where the ground is constantly shifting, where we can't be certain of many of the things we early on take for granted. I think it would be confusing to read even as a printed book, but that confusion is amplified through the listening experience.

    The central figure experiences a deep loss and, at least I read it, she projects that loss onto a character who suddenly seems to occupy her house. I read that character as an image of her grief and, as such, that central metaphor is beautiful and powerful. The book doesn't settle there, though, and, much as it pains me to say of DeLillo, this one doesn't quite find its core argument. (I recently read Point Omega as well, and I found that a much better work.)

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie Pellican 06-20-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "DeLillo Disappointment"

    This is my first encounter with DeLillo, so I don't know if this book is representative of his style, but I found the repetitious writing very boring. I couldn't wait for it to be finished.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    @the real Tom byrne 04-19-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    80
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So bassy it is unintelligible"

    It's all about the bass no treble.
    I can't understand what the woman is saying

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Rebecca
    Hackney, London, United Kingdom
    3/9/09
    Overall
    "urgh. stop."

    this is the worst book i've ever "read" by delillo - i'm a big fan of white noise, cosmopolis, underworld etc but i actually began to find this book so embarrassing to listen to that i eventually turned it off. i found delillo's imaginative attempt to describe female embodiment from the inside very, very weird indeed, and i would say that if you're not into breathy confessional discussions of embodiment, in a performative, "body art" context, then spare yourself this one. on the other hand, if you are into all that stuff - i know that some people are, and i'm not standing in judgement - then, great, this book is for you.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Miss Emma T
    7/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting but not really for me"

    I did struggle to finish listening to this book. It's written in a very specific style and I just found it hard to keep my concentration on what was being said - my thoughts kept wandering away from what I was hearing! It was worth a listen though!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.