We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Tender Graces Audiobook
Tender Graces
Written by: 
Kathryn Magendie
Narrated by: 
Mia Bankston
 >   > 
Tender Graces Audiobook

Tender Graces

Regular Price:$24.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A gentle yet unflinching look at how we find our way home, in the tradition of Rebecca Wells, Sue Monk Kidd, Olive Ann Burns, and Dorothy Allison. A woman returns to her West Virginia roots to resolve the ghosts of her childhood.

Tender Graces by Kathryn Magendie is strong literary women's fiction written with exquisite style. The death of her troubled mother and memories of her abused grandmother lure a young woman back to the Appalachian hollow where she was born. Virginia Kate, the daughter of a beautiful mountain wild-child and a slick, Shakespeare-quoting salesman, relives her turbulent childhood and the pain of her mother's betrayals. Haunted by ghosts and buried family secrets, Virginia Kate struggles to reconcile three generations of her family's lost innocence.

©2009 Kathryn Magendie (P)2012 BelleBooks, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (8 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (7 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.6 (7 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jo Settle 10-09-15
    Jo Settle 10-09-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    312
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Timeless story -"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes very definitely! This story grabs your heart and never lets go. It dives down deep into your psyche and pulls your own memories of childhood and family to the forefront.


    What does Mia Bankston bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Her soft, southern drawl imbibes the story with a sense of conversation - like I was sitting on a porch, sipping sweet tea, listening to a member of my family tell me her memories and her story.


    Who was the most memorable character of Tender Graces and why?

    All the characters are so well drawn and fleshed out that it's hard to pick the most memorable. For me, it was the mother, Kate. She was so full of secrets and open woundings that she could not get to heal -


    Any additional comments?

    You will not regret listening to this story - it will haunt your thoughts and quiet moments for days afterwards -

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.