We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
State of Wonder Audiobook

State of Wonder: A Novel

Regular Price:$27.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Best-selling author Ann Patchett and accomplished actor Hope Davis make a stellar combination for Patchett's latest novel, State of Wonder, an homage to Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness. Davis deftly voices an international cast of medical researchers in the Amazon jungle. Her talents enhance Patchett's artistically descriptive prose, in many cases coiling the jungle imagery closer than you may want.

Hope Davis voices Dr. Marina Singh's stoic professionalism as she, a pharmacologist, is sent to the Amazon jungle by her employer to seek information about the death of a colleague. Only months earlier Dr. Anders Eckman had also been sent by the pharmaceutical company to investigate the secretive research of formidable Dr. Annick Swenson. In a terse, unemotional letter, Dr. Swenson has announced Dr. Eckman to be dead and buried.

Patchett's gift is to give characters multiple, very human layers, and Davis' gift is to bring those creations to life. Dr. Singh's reserve falls apart as she is plagued by unsettling nightmares and vivid memories of past medical mistakes. Dr. Annick Swenson's imperious personality has, through Hope Davis, the ability to intimidate through your earbuds. Dr. Swenson's arrogance keeps everyone quaking until, as the story unfolds, Davis' tone allows hints of humanity to ease through the doctor's sharp-edged exterior. Davis easily moves from dialects as the individual personalities - among them, a West African doctor, an Indonesian researcher, and a self-absorbed Australian couple - flow one from the other. Davis gives a brilliant performance of a prickly, uncomfortable argument between the married couple Alan and Nancy Saturn, making all who are listening want to distract themselves with the scenery.

Terrain itself becomes if not a character, a force, in State of Wonder. Contrasting Dr. Singh's beloved Minnesota plains with the claustrophobic, crawling, itching, frighteningly enveloping jungle, Patchett's words offer Hope Davis another opportunity to shine artistically. Davis infuses Patchett's prose with palpable energy, allowing listeners to exult in the wide, open prairies of the Midwest and then sense the creeping terror of forbidding, dangerously alive Amazonian jungle. While Davis' depiction of a confrontation with an anaconda is not to be missed, be forewarned that Patchett's imagery and Davis' performance will put anyone listening right beside the panic-stricken fictional characters as a life-and-death battle ensues.

For fans of Ann Patchett, State of Wonder is all that one has been waiting for and more. The story has as many twists and turns as, well, the Amazon jungle itself. And Hope Davis takes the joy of a new Ann Patchett book to an even higher level of pleasure through her masterful performance. It is a fantastically compelling adventure trip without the hazards of incessant bug bites, poisonous critters, or sweltering heat. —Carole Chouinard

Publisher's Summary

Ann Patchett raises the bar with State of Wonder, a provocative and ambitious novel set deep in the Amazon jungle.

Research scientist Dr. Marina Singh is sent to Brazil to track down her former mentor, Dr. Annick Swenson, who seems to have disappeared in the Amazon while working on an extremely valuable new drug. The last person who was sent to find her died before he could complete his mission. Plagued by trepidation, Marina embarks on an odyssey into the insect-infested jungle in hopes of finding answers to the questions about her friend's death, her company's future, and her own past.

Once found, Dr. Swenson is as imperious and uncompromising as ever. But while she is as threatening as anything the jungle has to offer, the greatest sacrifices to be made are the ones Dr. Swenson asks of herself, and will ultimately ask of Marina.

State of Wonder is a world unto itself, where unlikely beauty stands beside unimaginable loss. It is a tale that leads the listener into the very heart of darkness, and then shows us what lies on the other side.

©2011 Ann Patchett (P)2011 HarperCollinsPublishers

What the Critics Say

“An expansive page-turner . . . Patchett’s fluid prose dissolves in the suspense of this out-there adventure . . . that readers will hate to see end.” (Publishers Weekly starred review)

“An engaging, consummately told tale.” (New York Times)

“A superbly rendered novel. . . . Patchett’s portrayal is as wonderful as it is frightening and foreign. Patchett exhibits an extraordinary ability to bring the horrors and the wonders of the Amazon jungle to life, and her singular characters are wonderfully drawn. . . . Powerful and captivating.” (Library Journal, starred review)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (5207 )
5 star
 (1905)
4 star
 (2006)
3 star
 (927)
2 star
 (239)
1 star
 (130)
Overall
4.0 (3898 )
5 star
 (1481)
4 star
 (1373)
3 star
 (739)
2 star
 (203)
1 star
 (102)
Story
4.3 (3899 )
5 star
 (1847)
4 star
 (1415)
3 star
 (496)
2 star
 (92)
1 star
 (49)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    David Gravely 11-26-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Almost a knockout"

    The language in the book is nice. Patchett has some serious skill for saying what she wants to say. Poor writing has nothing to do with the mediocrity of the book. It's all a matter of opinion. The story is intriguing and the story telling is great. Just simply not a big fan of the characters at times. I found certain moments and events that should have taken the potential and soared, instead got bogged in some sort of ego wash. I do recommend the novel however and I won't knock it, but it didn't connect with me as much as I would have liked.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caroline McLean 11-21-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "So good until..."

    Interesting and unique story with great characters but the end was rushed and disappointing - it felt like an assignment done the night before

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amy 08-25-15
    Amy 08-25-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ruined the ending"
    Any additional comments?

    Uggh- I hated one aspect of the ending. Why the author had to go there is beyond me since I don't think it did anything to add to the story. It was so out of keeping with the characters. Otherwise I loved it until this point.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 08-22-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved it. wonderful story."

    So glad I picked this, I spent my entire Saturday
    listening to it. very moving and very interesting as well. the did a great job with voices.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maxine Jones PACIFIC GROVE, CA, US 08-13-15
    Maxine Jones PACIFIC GROVE, CA, US 08-13-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thoroughly engaging? "

    As usual Patchett writes a compelling story with believable characters wrapped around a world social issue. She manages to engage listening as well as inform.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chuck 08-09-15
    Chuck 08-09-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Weird book"

    Had to read this for my school summer reading program and regret picking this book to read. I would not recommend this book.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Angela 07-22-15
    Angela 07-22-15

    Angel

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    77
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not particularly engaging"

    Never really satisfied with the story... anticlimactic ending
    Story just chugged along never really going anywhere.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna Des Moines Iowa 06-28-15
    Donna Des Moines Iowa 06-28-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    201
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprisingly Good"

    I didn't have high expectations when I purchased this book, but I was pleasantly surprised. It was very good.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Switzerland 06-25-15
    Amazon Customer Switzerland 06-25-15 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Found it boring "

    Not much of a review here. Couldn't get into. Bored from the start. Maybe got two thirds through then, gave up. Characters flat. Story, well, it is an imaginary tale. Those natives? I thought educated people were supposed to stop doing that to strangers? Many people like her work. What am I missing? I want the pleasure and insights too.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    littlefox 04-29-15
    littlefox 04-29-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Blah blah"

    This story had a nice build up and a compelling setting. But I was not compelled by the story or the voice. The voicing was relatively monotonous, a sort of airy voice that sought after wonder, but ended up just sounded bored. The setting and action of the story had so much potential, like the Amazon itself. Brimming with possibilities that I felt were just stopped short of anything worthwhile. The ending felt stopped short, there was hardly resolution. The climatic scene was dramatic and surprising, but again stopped short before I felt a state of wonder.
    Overall I feel the whole thing did not fill the shoes it set out to fill.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.