We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Something Rotten: A Thursday Next Novel | [Jasper Fforde]

Something Rotten: A Thursday Next Novel

After spending her time chasing a stray Minotaur into pulp Westerns, filling in for Joan of Arc, and raising her infant son, Friday, Thursday needs a break in the real world. But her return to Swindon is far from relaxing. Rogue fictioneer Yorrick Kaine and the evil multinational Goliath Corporation are trying to rule the world, and a deadly assassin called the Windowmaker is tracking Thursday's every move.
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Jasper Fforde's time-traveling and fiction-jumping detective Thursday Next is an international hit with fans and critics. Beginning with The Eyre Affair, a Book Sense Top 76 Pick, Thursday's adventures have all cracked The New York Times best seller list.

After spending her time chasing a stray Minotaur into pulp Westerns, filling in for Joan of Arc, and raising her infant son, Friday, Thursday needs a break in the real world. But her return to Swindon is far from relaxing. Rogue fictioneer Yorrick Kaine and the evil multinational Goliath Corporation are trying to rule the world, and a deadly assassin called the Windowmaker is tracking Thursday's every move. To top it all off, her husband is still missing after being eradicated from the timestream before they met.

Fans of Douglas Adams and Monty Python won't want to miss this charming detective adventure sure to tickle the funny bone and stimulate the literary mind.

Delve into Jasper Fforde's literary universe with the other books in his Thursday Next fantasy/detective series.

©2004 Jasper Fforde; (P)2004 Recorded Books, LLC

What the Critics Say

"A brazenly witty series." (The New York Times Book Review)
"Opening one of Jasper Fforde's novels means stepping into a playful new universe....It's easy to be delighted by a writer who loves books so madly. (The New York Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (696 )
5 star
 (338)
4 star
 (255)
3 star
 (68)
2 star
 (20)
1 star
 (15)
Overall
4.4 (257 )
5 star
 (143)
4 star
 (81)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.5 (253 )
5 star
 (160)
4 star
 (72)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen Nederland, CO, United States 10-06-04
    Karen Nederland, CO, United States 10-06-04 Member Since 2003

    I read, almost exclusively, with audio books. I listen while driving, walking the dog, exercising, and doing chores (love multitasking!).

    HELPFUL VOTES
    24
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    22
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Re: the different narrator"

    This book is provided by Recorded Books not Highbridge Audio. I suspect that's why the narrator is different. Too bad - Elizabeth Sastre had it down pat!

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diana 11-11-04
    Diana 11-11-04 Member Since 2000
    HELPFUL VOTES
    133
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    164
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Best one yet!"

    Of the Thursday Next series, this is my favorite. I haven't laughed out loud this much while enjoying a book in a long time. I would give the book a 10 for its overall witty fun. I felt the ending was too muddled and bogged down an otherwise perfect book. I, too, missed Ms. Sastre's narration and almost opted to read the book instead of listen. However, I decided to keep an open mind, enjoyed the narration for the most part and am glad I listened!

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrea Houston, TX, USA 10-11-08
    Andrea Houston, TX, USA 10-11-08 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    30
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Highly Original"

    Jasper Fforde is a very unique writer, you really have to like this sort of thing. I only recommend him to certain people, but if you love the odd and unusual and have a good imagination you will love his writing. I would never recommend him to someone who doesn't like sci-fi, Monty Python or Douglas Adams. If you like any of the above, Fforde is for you.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. S. Cohen New York, NY USA 10-02-04
    M. S. Cohen New York, NY USA 10-02-04 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    164
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    85
    44
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    23
    0
    Overall
    "Why did they switch to a new narrator?"

    I haven't really spent much time with this new Jasper Fforde novel, but I am already disappointed in the new narrator.
    Her voice is a bit too "fussy" for the calm Thursday Next.
    Whatever were the audio people thinking?

    27 of 33 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matt ridlehy park, PA, USA 11-16-05
    Matt ridlehy park, PA, USA 11-16-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Not bad narration"

    Oh, I know Ms. Sastre has her fans, and she did a creditable job on the first books. But she mispronounced Acheron and Haworth, which pretty much ruined the first book for me. Many of the comments people are posting about the narrator of this book are a bit unfair, I think.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    John R. Brown 03-28-05

    Perry Mason Fan

    HELPFUL VOTES
    68
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Witty, Original and Lots of Fun"

    I, too, thought the author, Jasper Fforde, was a woman. Not so. Jasper is a man. That he can convincingly put himself (and a male reader) into the mind of a woman is, itself, sufficient reason to listen to the series. (In fact, when I heard the preview of the first book, I was sure it was a "woman's book" and I only purchased it and listened because I told a woman friend about it and she challenged me to stretch my brain a bit.)
    The new narrator is good. Not as good as the prior narrator, but then again, who could be? She still gives plenty of range and depth to the charcters in her reading.
    The writing is consistently witty and original. I loved the antics of two-year-old Friday and the Dodo. Also loved Thursday's single parent prospective: What could be as important in a new job as the challenge of saving the world? How about adequate child care. From shooting a page running minotar with a slapstick dart to the riots of fans at the croquet matches, to the common person's obsession with literary trivia and debate, in substitution for political arguments and sports talk, Jasper will keep you scratching your head and laughing out loud.
    You don't have to listen the three earlier books in the series to understand and love this one. Each stands alone. This one begins with a brief description of each character, which is very helpful. A glossory of terms, such as "page runner" might have been helpful, too. But part of the fun is figuring out what the terms and devices are.
    Certainly, Lost in a Good Book is the best in the series, but none of the books ran too long or seemed to me to have dry patches. All are fives on a scale of five.
    So prepare to stretch your brain and exercise your funny bones.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer Melbourne, FL, United States 11-02-04
    Jennifer Melbourne, FL, United States 11-02-04 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    32
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "who cares about the narration?"

    I started reading the book before I downloaded the listen. Her voice, while not Elizabeth Sastre's, worked just fine for me. The ending was beautiful! I cried buckets while smiling quite widely! Few books can make me cry and smile at the same time, this one succeeded in spades. Well done Jasper Fforde! Thank you. Enjoy the book, y'all!

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Katherine Mason, OH, United States 04-29-14
    Katherine Mason, OH, United States 04-29-14 Member Since 2010

    I love to read mysteries, histories, biographies, humor, and Jane Austen.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    51
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Time travel messes with your head..."

    ... but fortunately Thursday Next can roll with the punches. I love this series. I especially loved the tender and moving last chapters, when the narration point-of-view suddenly changes.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Momof2 04-28-14
    Momof2 04-28-14 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love this series"

    I've listened to all of the Thursday books and I love the series and it's quirky world.

    Some of these reviews puzzle me and I can only guess that some of the books have been rerecorded or something, as Elizabeth Sastre is not the narrator for any of the Thursday Next series available on Audible at the moment. Emily Gray narrates all of them, except for The Eyre Affair which is narrated by Susan Duerdan. I've enjoyed both of these narrators.

    The only thing that bugs me about this series is that there seems to be an inconsistency in the pause length in between chapters. Often the pause is long enough that I am just about to reach for my iphone to make sure it didn't die on me when the next chapter starts and occasionally the pause is so short it rambles out from the previous sentence. It's a small enough flaw that it doesn't detract from my overall enjoyment of the series.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Liana Ballston Lake, NY, USA 02-12-06
    Liana Ballston Lake, NY, USA 02-12-06 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Thursday Next: a hero for intellectuals"

    In this last installment to the Thursday Next series, our heroine is desparately trying to retrieve her eradicated husband. She spends her time embroiled in real world politics with a few bookworld characters popping in and out. While not as immersed in literary reference, it certainly takes a shot at the politics of today. Be prepared for a shocking conclusion!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 39 results PREVIOUS124NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.