We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Snapper | [Brian Kimberling]

Snapper

Set in a brilliantly observed rural Indiana, 'the bastard son of the Midwest', Snapper is a book about birdwatching, a woman who won't stay true, and a pickup truck that won't start. Here turtles eat alligators for breakfast, Klansmen skulk in the undergrowth, and truckers drop into the diner of a town named Santa Claus to ensure that no child's Christmas letter goes unanswered, while Nathan grapples with the eternal question: Should I stay, or should I go? Kimberling's vision of small-town life is as characterful as Garrison Keillor's Lake Wobegon, but bristling with the tensions of race, class, poverty, and prejudice.
Regular Price:$19.36
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A birdwatcher's guide to the human heart - an unconventional coming of age story from an unforgettable new voice that will appeal to fans of David Vann and Annie Proulx.

Set in a brilliantly observed rural Indiana, 'the bastard son of the Midwest', Snapper is a book about birdwatching, a woman who won't stay true, and a pickup truck that won't start. Here turtles eat alligators for breakfast, Klansmen skulk in the undergrowth, and truckers drop into the diner of a town named Santa Claus to ensure that no child's Christmas letter goes unanswered, while Nathan grapples with the eternal question: Should I stay, or should I go?

Kimberling's vision of small-town life is as characterful as Garrison Keillor's Lake Wobegon, but bristling with the tensions of race, class, poverty, and prejudice, it makes for a bracing listen.

©2013 Brian Kimberling (P)2013 Headline Digital

What Members Say


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Sarah
    GLASGOW, United Kingdom
    11/16/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing"

    The blurb for this sounded so good, but it was just so random and disjointed. You delved into chapters and just as you were getting somewhere, you were rudely shunted onto the next one - and don't get me started on the abrupt ending.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.