We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Sawfish Audiobook

Sawfish

Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Marine biologist Dr. Mason Rayman is experimenting with gigantism in sea creatures when he accidentally creates a monstrously large sawfish. When it grows so big he can no longer keep it in his Miami lab, he is preparing to have it destroyed when he learns he is being terminated from his position. By way of revenge, he dumps the oversized shark relative into the ocean, where it soon roams out of control, slaughtering bathers at nearby trendy South Beach. Dr. Rayman doesn't let on that it's his fish responsible for the killings, but someone knows what he did, and she's blackmailing him. He plays along for a while, but then decides she needs to be eliminated. Breaking into a lab at his former workplace, he deliberately creates more monster sawfish and releases them into the local waters. Rayman then attempts to get his job back by stepping forward as the expert on how to stop the scourge of gigantic predators now ravaging swimmers and water sports enthusiasts on South Florida beaches. But his blackmailer will not let up, leading to an ultimate confrontation between woman and beast, and finally, woman and man.

©2016 Rick Chesler (P)2016 Rick Chesler

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.6 (28 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
3.5 (27 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.2 (26 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kim Venatries 05-31-16 Member Since 2013

    There are few things better than a good story well told!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1326
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    812
    138
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    261
    19
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Better than your average Syfy Tale"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes especially if the friend was in to science fiction. But this should have a broader appeal because of the tight plot, interesting characters and lots of action.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Sawfish?

    The slam bam ending.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Glad I listened. Good stuff.


    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    AudioBook Reviewer Madison, WI, United States 07-21-16
    AudioBook Reviewer Madison, WI, United States 07-21-16 Member Since 2011

    All of my reviews are on my blog audiobookreviewer dot com

    HELPFUL VOTES
    8959
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    988
    949
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    676
    22
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you're a fan of creature features and fun gore"

    I was already biased to like this story as such stellar titles as 'Sharktopus' and 'Frankenfish' top the list of my favourite ever films. I don't know what it is about pseudo-science giant animal monster flicks, but I freaking love them.

    This book didn't disappoint, it begins with a mean and nasty scientist having the funding cut on his make-giant-sea-creatures project and finding himself out of a job. What the funding body doesn't know is that he's just discovered away to cause gigantism in sawfish, and cos he's mean an' all - he dumps them in the public waterway.

    The beasties grow exponentially and become uncharacteristically aggressive because.... science. I have an undergrad degree in Zoology, so I really enjoyed the fact that the author had put some real science in among the fantastic and the fun.

    Rayman (pun intended? The fact that sawfish are closely related to ray is a fact which is repeated a few times in the course of the book), the mad scientist, isn't the most developed of characters but that isn't what this story is about. He's deliciously hateful, pompous and amoral. He's careful to pose himself as the hero in this situation, with absolutely no consideration for the fatalities he's ultimately responsible for.

    The course of the story follows the sawfish and the havoc they cause, hacking and slashing as a giant sawfish will. Ending in a great hint that there may be more books where this one came from!

    Jeffrey S. Fellin is a great narrator and well suited to this book, I'm not sure this book would have brought me quite so much joy in print form. The audio quality was flawless, as well as Fellin's execution of character voices and accents.

    If you're a fan of creature features and fun gore, I would absolutely recommend this book for you. It kept me entertained right to the very end!

    Audiobook was provided for review by the author.

    Please find this complete review and many others at my review blog

    [If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

    5 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sci-Fi and Scary 11-30-16

    Prolific reader, who always wished I could find a way to read and drive. Then, I found Audible. Wish granted!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Idea, Good Narrator Choice"

    I knew there was a chance that I would be disappointed when I decided to purchase Sawfish, given what I've read from the author in the past. However, I really like his ideas, and this sounded like the perfect sort of relaxing monster novel to listen to. It's been a while since I had one of those, so I decided to give Mr. Chesler another chance.

    I wish I hadn't.

    Sawfish has a great concept. It sets up perfectly to be this rip-roaring, monster-of-the-deep sort of novel. It had the potential to be so-bad-it's-good. Instead it was just bad. The sawfish was cool, don't get me wrong. The problem is that the author spends way too much time on the two main characters. Normally that wouldn't be a problem, except in this case both of the main characters are unlikable idiots!

    For fans of The Walking Dead, Raymond is an evil Eugene. At least that's how I pictured him in my head. It didn't help that the narrator had that sort of nasal tone which built the ticked-off nerd image in your head. (The narrator was a perfect choice for this book, actually. I think it made it feel a bit more believable being told in that particular tone.) He wants revenge and then he wants to get back the attention he feels he rightly deserves. He's a toe rag.

    But I will give Rick Chesler this: Even though Raymond is a douche, I still found myself rooting for him. When he's going up against the sawfish, I was hoping he'd win. He's not a likable character by any means, but you do find yourself cheering for him occasionally.


    Elise is worse than Raymond is, and that's saying something. It's been a while since I disliked a female character as intensely as I disliked her. At least he had intelligence going for him, even if his personality and ego often overruled it I spent too much of the book actively hoping something gruesome happened to her.

    My favorite chapters were the sawfish attacks. The characters in them were often throwaways, but I didn't care. Those were the sections of the novel that I wanted to read more of. Anything so that I wouldn't have to listen to Raymond whine, boast, and plan.

    Most of the ending was pretty good. The location and how things got rigged up was unique. The author did a great job of painting the scene in my mind. But the last few pages ruined it for me. My opinion already wasn't high on the book, and then we have something completely unbelievable happen from one of the characters. The twist wasn't believable. Not even a little bit.

    Overall, it was a great concept and was voiced by a good narrator. I just didn't care for the actual execution or the characters. Can't recommend it.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deedra United States 07-29-16
    Deedra United States 07-29-16 Member Since 2015

    I am at that half a century mark in years. I enjoy audiobooks,cats,rats and most days my family,not necessarily in that order!lol

    HELPFUL VOTES
    344
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    716
    637
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    16
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Sawfish"

    Sawfish is a B movie fans type of book.A scientist is let go due to his grant not being renewed.He dumps one of his sawfish into a water way and horrific killings occur.Our unlikable main character after seeing this lets loose his other enhanced fish and the terror spreads.He then gets hired to hunt them down.One woman stands in his way,yet she blackmails him instead. Jeffery S. Fellin is great at narration.
    I was given this book free for an honest review.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.