We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Not Working Audiobook

Not Working: A Novel

Regular Price:$21.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Jennifer Close's Girls in White Dresses comes a sparkling debut told in vignettes that speak to a new generation not trying to have it all but hoping to make sense of it all.

Claire Flannery has just quit her office job, hoping to take some time to discover her real passion. The problem is, she's not exactly sure how to go about finding it. Without the distractions of a regular routine, Claire confronts the best and worst parts of herself: the generous, attentive part that visits her grandmother for tea and cooks special meals for her boyfriend, Luke, and the part that she feels will never measure up and makes regrettable comments after too many glasses of wine. What emerges is a candid, moving portrait of a clear-eyed heroine trying to forge her own way, a wholly relatable character whose imperfections and uncanny observations highlight what makes us all different and yet inescapably linked.

©2016 Lisa Owens (P)2016 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"A pin-sharp, utterly addictive debut." [Vogue (UK)]

"Full of crackling, voice-of-a-generation observations." [Glamour (UK)]

"A deadpan comic debut for the procrastination generation." (The Guardian)

More from the same

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Rachel Renee Foisy Mooresville, Indiana United States 09-30-16
    Rachel Renee Foisy Mooresville, Indiana United States 09-30-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just okay."

    Story jumped around too much. Has a character who displays bizarre behaviors and mood swings. At times it feels as though she's suffering with anxiety and depression. Overall, just okay.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.