We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
No Highway | [Nevil Shute]

No Highway

Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicuous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost. The title, No Highway, is taken from the poem "The Wanderer" by John Masefield, which Shute quotes at the start of the book.
Regular Price:$26.42
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicuous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.

The title, No Highway, is taken from the poem "The Wanderer" by John Masefield, which Shute quotes at the start of the book:

"Therefore, go forth, companion: when you find

No Highway more, no track, all being blind,

The way to go shall glimmer in the mind."

©2012 Nevil Shute (P)2012 Audible Ltd

What the Critics Say

"Mr Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R.L Stevenson and Kipling." (Evening News)

“No Highway is a novel which engages the heart and grips the mind." (Evening Standard)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (23 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (23 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (23 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Doug Elizabethtown, IN, United States 12-10-12
    Doug Elizabethtown, IN, United States 12-10-12 Member Since 2006

    Literature adds to reality, it does not simply describe it. C.S. Lewis

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fine writing keeps this story fresh"

    This novel became a movie with Jimmy Stewart and Marlene Dietrich - ignore that. The movie didn't work well. The movie was awful, and I never realized it was based on a Shute novel. Ben Elliot's great vocal characterizations bring the subjects to life. Shute writes on a subject he knows - aircraft engineering - but it's the character clashes, especially those in the decision making meeting rooms, that make this piece sparkle. Great surprise alliances when people are speaking bluntly - I love a good scene like that - it's as good as any courtroom scene written in the past generation. Shute probably doesn't get his due for anything other than "On The Beach."

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Christopher Howrah, Australia 03-18-13
    Christopher Howrah, Australia 03-18-13

    Social Scientist and Researcher; mostly retired but conducting longitudinal research into social issues especially the media and social networking. Avid SF and alternative history fan; enjoy a good crime yarn and have become something of an addict for audiobooks.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    42
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    94
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In many respects, a pioneer work."

    Be warned that this is an old book and the author has been dead for some while. I like it because of my interest in aeronautical matters and especially the problems of metal fatigue in early jet airliners. The film made in black and white has not stood the test of time but the plot of this story is really quite good as an obsessed and driven man tries to prove he is correct before more disasters occur. I am extraordinarily pleased that audible.com has secured rights to a number of old books. My paperback copy of the book fell apart years ago but as someone who was born to fly and loves the experience, Nevile Shute did a very good job given the time. There is some congruence with Michael Crighton's Airframe and the technological differences are considerable. Well worth a read.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    June Melbourne, Australia 02-03-13
    June Melbourne, Australia 02-03-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of Nevil Shute's best"
    Where does No Highway rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    In the top 25%


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Dr. Scott for his overall understanding


    Which character – as performed by Ben Elliot – was your favorite?

    Dr.Scott


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    No


    Any additional comments?

    Very enjoyable. Highly recommended for the older reader

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results
Sort by:
  • A
    BRENTWOOD, United Kingdom
    7/8/13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved the storey the audio book performed v well"
    Where does No Highway rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    one of the best from all audio book sources not just Audible


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The lead male as he kept going despite the incredulity of his opponents and proved his worth and willingness to take resopnability for his actions


    What does Ben Elliot bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    he has a calm voice not grating and can provide the necessary inflections when questions, outrage or emotions are needed.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    i use these books for dogwalking and my GermanShepherd gets about 2.5 hours a day so I tend to listen to the books in largeish chunks and not all at once.


    Any additional comments?

    I listen through a bluetooth headset on an iphone and the audible books are just right for me, the second part automatically follows on from the first with no user action required. Theykeep my mind occupied whilst the dog is having a good sniff and the headset remote controls for play / pause and ffw and frw all work just as they should.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • david
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    4/13/13
    Overall
    "An old story with present relevance"

    Nevil Shute was one of the great story tellers of the last century, the essence of his tale is still relevant as we see the Dreamliner grounded for modifications shortly after entering service. If you have never read this book give yourself a treat and do so - if you have read it try listening to it - you will find it fresh as ever.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-2 of 2 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.