We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Nina Is Not OK Audiobook

Nina Is Not OK

Regular Price:$26.24
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn't?

Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five-year-old Katie. Nina's almost an adult, after all. And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks.

Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend. But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her....

A dark, funny, sometimes shocking coming-of-age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. Nina Is Not OK will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

©2016 Shappi Khorsandi (P)2016 Random House Audiobooks

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (4 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (4 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (4 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Melissa 08-09-16
    Melissa 08-09-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic!"

    Loved the book and the reader. Very engaging, listened even when I only had a few minutes time. Highly recommend!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • deborah-jane
    Steyning, United Kingdom
    9/20/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Comedy/tragedy"

    Excellent look at coming of age which rang true to my own youth. Amazing how the only difference over thirty years is social media....
    Well written, well performed I couldn't put it down.
    Some very difficult content which was beautifully tackled. Thank you

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Vicky
    Alton, United Kingdom
    9/10/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good effort - overall enjoyable"

    Narration included lots of swallowing which was rather off-putting and unprofessional.

    Book itself tried to deal with to many issues I felt, and only skimmed the surface, including some misinformation.

    Character of Trisha hugely stereotypical of fat lazy boring person no one wants to be near. Same with fat barman who was used by Nina terribly. Ms Khorsandi obviously has some issues with overweight people that have spilled over into this book.

    Good listen if you don't read too much into it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Hannah Ballou
    8/25/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Witty, well-drawn characters beautifully performed"

    Funny and moving with a richly drawn heroine. I'll be mentally bookmarking this for my daughter to read when she's older. Deals with teenage sexuality and alcoholism, as well as sexual assault just perfectly.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Emma
    8/17/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thought provoking"

    Excellent story, very thought provoking but worrying to listen to. Dealt with the topics well although wasn't sure about the narration by shappi herself, stumbled over some words which was a bit distracting. All in all however a interesting subject area.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Miss
    8/4/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    I'm so glad I listened to this. Thank you Shappi. I'll remember this book and recommend it to others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Louise
    Scalloway, United Kingdom
    8/4/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story but narration was only ok"

    Brilliant debut novel; Nina Is definitely not ok and Khorsandi has created a very stark and real story. The only thing I didn't enjoy was her reading which was a bit faltering, she often trips over her own words.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.