We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
My Memories of a Future Life: The Complete Novel | [Roz Morris]

My Memories of a Future Life: The Complete Novel

Carol's a gifted musician who needs nothing more than her piano and certainly doesn't believe she's lived before. But forced by injury to stop playing, she fears her life may be over. Enter her soulmate, Andreq: healer, liar, fraud and loyal friend. Is he her future incarnation or a psychological figment? And can his story help her discover how to live now? Provocative studies of the shadows we don't know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. Above all, it's the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs.
Regular Price:$13.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

If you were somebody's past life....

What echoes would you leave in their soul? Could they be the answers you need now?

It's a question Carol never expected to face. She's a gifted musician who needs nothing more than her piano and certainly doesn't believe she's lived before. But forced by injury to stop playing, she fears her life may be over. Enter her soulmate, Andreq: healer, liar, fraud, and loyal friend. Is he her future incarnation or a psychological figment? And can his story help her discover how to live now?

A novel in the vein of The Time Traveller's Wife, Vertigo and The Gargoyle, My Memories of a Future Life is much more than a "who was I" tale. It's a provocative study of the shadows we don't know are driving our lives, from our own pasts and from the people with us right now. An examination of what we believe, what we create and how we scare and heal each other.

Above all, it's the story of how one lost soul searches for where she now belongs.

©2011 and for ever Roz Morris (P)2014 Roz Morris

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (6 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.6 (5 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.2 (5 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Teresa 07-24-14
    Teresa 07-24-14

    Vibrant Lifeforce

    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    99
    95
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Reincarnation"
    Would you consider the audio edition of My Memories of a Future Life to be better than the print version?

    I would say the audio version of this story is better than the print version although I haven't read the print version.


    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked how this story moved back and forth from her painful hand injury as a musician and the hypnotherapy of past life regression. At first I was a little confused but this turned out to be a great listen that I would recommend.


    What about Sandy Spangler’s performance did you like?

    I thought her performance was passable. She was speaking in monotone without much inflection but that's what made it seem more realistic and even edgy.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    It was a deep story so I couldn't listen to it all in one reading so it took me a few sittings.


    Any additional comments?

    I hope to hear more from both Roz Morris and Sandy Spangler in the 'FUTURE'.
    I received the audiobook free of charge in exchange for an unbiased review.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Pittsburgh, PA 08-23-14
    Amazon Customer Pittsburgh, PA 08-23-14 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting and different"

    I've never read anything quite like this book. I've read a few books about past lives but this was a different spin. I liked both story lines and how they wove together. I was confused at some points but it wasn't a frustrating experience. The narrator reminded me of the narrator from The Poisonwood Bible, where she did a straight reading more than trying to dramatize it. Some people don't like this, but I find it to be a nice change of pace. As another reviewer said, it did take me out of the story a bit having an American reading a story set place in England.

    I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia 06-21-14
    Patricia 06-21-14 Member Since 2013

    pjaye

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A very imaginative story that will surprise you."

    Carol is a professional piano player with RSI in her hands and is currently unable to play. Her best friend Jerry suffers from debilitating panic attacks and he asks her to attend a hypnotherapy session with him where he undergoes a past life regression which seems to cure him.
    Jerry's cure intrigues Carol and when she encounters Gene, an old school friend who is also skilled in hypnotherapy she begins a tentative relationship with him.
    Gene initially hypnotizes Carol against her will and instead of regressing to a past life, Carol jumps several lives into the future and begins to have memories of being a man called Andreq who is a 'soothe sayer' in his lifetime.
    Carol is looking for the meaning in her sessions and how that information can help her current condition, but the mysterious and somewhat unscrupulous Gene seems to have another agenda entirely.
    Gene convinces Carol to go with him to a small country town where he has a new job, and word of her hypnotherapy sessions quickly spreads.... but isn't always positively received, some of the locals think they are dabbling in black magic and Carol finds herself in danger...and then Gene abruptly vanishes.

    This was an interesting and intriguing book with a well thought out story line that wasn't predictable. I got immersed in the various descriptions about music and piano playing throughout the book as well.

    The narrator has a pleasant voice that is easy to listen to, however I was a little surprised that an American narrator was selected to perform a book that is set in the UK.

    Of you're looking for something a little bit different, then give this one a try!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results
Sort by:
  • Leona
    Feniton, United Kingdom
    7/18/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Surprising"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes I would recommend this audiobook to a friend. My Memories of a Future Life by Roz Morris is a surprising, unpredictable novel. I like the tension between the expected supernatural element of the book and the concept of hypnotists using hypnosis as tool to 'project' thoughts and ideas onto unsuspecting patients interesting, in fact the reader is left wondering throughout the book as to what is actually happening, is this reincarnation or is it the other? I particularly liked the fact that Roz leads the reader to their own slow understanding of this through Carol's and Jerry's experiences and feelings.Carol Lear's struggle and frustration with RSI and Jerry's experiences of panic attacks is portrayed very well, both characters are well developed and their friendship, and Carol's unlikely friendship with Eleanor Leer, serves to inject the novel with a warmth necessary to counteract the disappointments and frustrating challenges that Carol faces in her other relationships, especially her relationship with Gene. Gene is a bit of an enigma and although his motivations are made clear at the end (not at all predictable) the listener is left to decide if he is a negative force in the novel or if his character does in fact give Carol ownership of her eventual understanding of her life and the importance of music in it. The ending is unexpected, we are not given any assumed resolutions but are instead motivated to think and consider the value and reality of the things in our lives that we feel define us


    Any additional comments?

    I was surprised that the narrator was an American when the protagonist is clearly English, initially this bothered me but Sandy Spangler's clear narrative voice was a definite bonus and I quickly immersed myself into the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.