We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Medicine Walk Audiobook

Medicine Walk

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female listeners equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks, and general literary.

Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father Eldon. He's 16 years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner.

What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected.

A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the listener.

©2014 Richard Wagamese (P)2015 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (51 )
5 star
 (33)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.5 (49 )
5 star
 (30)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (48 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Craig Seattle, WA, United States 07-31-15
    Craig Seattle, WA, United States 07-31-15 Member Since 2016

    I teach. I Listen. I trust your judgment as a fellow listener.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    525
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    183
    58
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    33
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "In the end we are nothing..."

    A man's circumstances, geography, vices, and guilt are background for this road trip (horse trip) story about redemption and forgiveness. It is a mid-20th-century Canadian Western that engagingly makes the point that sometimes humans can only rise as far as circumstance allows. The main characters, Franklin and Eldon Starlight are Native Canadians (First Peoples). Eldon, the father has tremendous guilt and psychic trauma resulting from the Korean War. Franklin, the son, is the unintended victim of his father's PTSD.

    The story revolves around a request that the father makes to the son for a Warrior's Burial in the Canadian mountains. Franklin must face his own demons to honor his father's last request.

    Medicine Walk has many redemptive and thought provoking qualities. I am still thinking about it several days after the listen. I recommend this book to those of us whom enjoy Native American stories and realistic fiction.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Davina Daly 06-08-16
    Davina Daly 06-08-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "wonderful story"

    I thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this book and the presentation. it took me to another place and my emotional reactions were deep. it reminded me that we can never guess another's personal journey and we should have patience and kindness rather than judgement.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sara Santa Cruz, CA, USA 06-04-16
    Sara Santa Cruz, CA, USA 06-04-16 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Agree with WOW!"

    This book is beautifully written and beautifully performed... complex relationships and the magic of the natural world...do not hesitate...just listen!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen F Seattle, WA United States 05-22-15
    Karen F Seattle, WA United States 05-22-15 Member Since 2016

    stanfay

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    9
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Among the finest books I've ever read."

    Breath stopping writing. Characters so real that you can reach out and touch them. Characters you can really care about.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.