We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Love Comes Softly | [Janette Oke]

Love Comes Softly

When it was first published in 1979, this novel introduced inspirational fiction to people hungry for well-told stories based on Christian values. Since then, over a million copies have been sold, and it has been made into a popular Hallmark movie. Janette Oke has won the Christy Award, the Gold Medallion, and scores of other awards.
Regular Price:$26.57
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

When it was first published in 1979, this novel introduced inspirational fiction to people hungry for well-told stories based on Christian values. Since then, over a million copies have been sold, and it has been made into a popular Hallmark movie. Janette Oke has won the Christy Award, the Gold Medallion, and scores of other awards. Generations of fans have laughed and cried over this story of Marty and Clark, two grieving people thrown together by necessity who find unexpected love as they work together as a family.

©1989 Janette Oke; (P)1989 Recorded Books, LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (167 )
5 star
 (99)
4 star
 (37)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (5)
Overall
4.4 (79 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Story
3.9 (77 )
5 star
 (35)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (16)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    W Marina, CA, United States 12-12-05
    W Marina, CA, United States 12-12-05
    HELPFUL VOTES
    289
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    431
    72
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Good, gentle audiobook"

    At first I found the narrator's 5-pack-a-day voice irritating. However, Soon I was so entranced by the story of Marty and Clark and their lives on the prairie that I forgot my initial annoyance with the narrator.

    This is a wonderful book full of great values and with endearing characters. While it *is* an Inspirational book, Oke's writing lacks the 'heavy-handed' preaching of some Christian Inspirational fiction. As someone who reads a wide variety of literature I found "Love Comes Softly" to be quite restful and entertaining without being bombastic in 'spreading the word.'

    Two things about this book grated. I found it completely unbelievable that as a woman of her era Marty would not know how to bake anything but pancakes... Um... She'd been married how long before she meets Clark? What exactly did this girl expect to cook for her husband when they were married?I *know* there were published cookbooks at the time. Second. I would've liked more background on Marty and her family. She doesn't send any letters, or communicate with them at all. It seemed a bit simplistic. A bit more backstory would've added depth to her character.

    Overall, an excellent book, sure to delight those longing for a good read in the vein of Anne of Green Gables or Little House on the Prairie.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michael Ballou 10-01-12

    Michael B.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love Comes Softly"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes. I already have.


    Have you listened to any of Ruth Ann Phimister’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I have not.


    Any additional comments?

    I am disappointed only the first three books in the series of ten are available on Audible.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judy Grand Chenier, LA, United States 04-20-11
    Judy Grand Chenier, LA, United States 04-20-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent narrator to go with an excellent book!"

    My first time to read Janet Oke, and I'm hooked. The narrator was wonderful, and I was sorry when I got to the end. Have already ordered more from this author.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Union, NJ, United States 12-31-10
    Lisa Union, NJ, United States 12-31-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "A Truely Enjoyable Book"

    I had the pleasure of ordering both "Love Comes Softly" and Love's Enduring Promise" at the same time, and was able to listen to each book consecutively. Such enjoyable books, I hated to come to the end of them.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kemo's Mom 11-15-10
    Kemo's Mom 11-15-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    101
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Good story, unpleasant narrator."

    I love this book and have a hard copy, but like to listen to them on my commute and during my workouts. It is a wonderfully sweet story. I love Janette Oke. However, I have to say that I believe the narrator was a mistake. She has a somewhat grating voice and she sounds very old, while the character in the story is a young woman. Very disconcering. I think this one is better read than listened to.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-27-08 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    263
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Sweetly Written"

    This book is a good listen. The historical events combined with the Christian theme made for an enjoyable listen. The narrator made me feel like I could relate and empathize with the characters. It is pleasantly refreshing to listen to a book with characters who are morally upstanding. What a sweet story without being sappy.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lori Gilbert, AZ, USA 07-12-07
    Lori Gilbert, AZ, USA 07-12-07 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "wonderful book"

    I really enjoyed this book, but I did not like the narrator's voice. She must have been very close to the microphone when she read, because her constant swallowing, deep breaths and rustling around were very distracting. I noticed that she's read for a lot of other books and on most of those her voice sounded much younger and more pleasant. She also doesn't change her voice at all for the various characters ~ she just pretty much reads it straight through. So, I highly recommend this heartwarming book, but I would definitely try to find another narrator.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paulette Great Bend, KS, USA 06-19-07
    Paulette Great Bend, KS, USA 06-19-07 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Mixed response"

    I love these stories and know this one almost by heart so I found it unpleasant for the reader to be changing the wording and paraphasing, adding to and leaving out etc. Also the reader has a very pleasant voice when she just reads but when she tries to alter her voice for the character it doesn't work. For example she has the 19 year old main character sounding like a feeble old lady. It would be so much better if she just read it in her own pleasant voice and read it word for word. It is supposed to be unabridged after all.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Oxford, CT, USA 04-15-07
    Elizabeth Oxford, CT, USA 04-15-07
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "a pleasurable listen"

    I enjoyed all three audiobooks in this series (Love Comes Softly, Love's Enduring Promise and Love's Long Journey) and hope the same narrator will continue in this series. I found her voice quite easy to listen to and especially appreciated her differnt voices for different characters.
    The best way I can describe this book (and the whole series for that matter) would be the feminine and Christian equivalent of many Louis L'Amour novels. With vivid descriptions of life on the frontier - I came away with a deep appreciation for women's contribution to frontier life survival and for the value of faith in each character's lives.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen 10-21-14
    Kathleen 10-21-14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredibly awful narrator"
    Any additional comments?

    I love the story line, so touching and realistic for the time period.
    But I was shocked by how awful, truly horrible, the narrator was. You could hear her smoke voice cough and the spit smacking and rolling around in her mouth. I was convulsively swallowing the whole time because I was so irritated by this woman's wet voice and gasping breathing.
    I have loved this book since I was a child and will continue to enjoy it. But I view the purchase of this audio book as an absolute waste of money.
    Truly terrible narrator

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 15 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.