We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Letters to the Lost Audiobook

Letters to the Lost

Regular Price:$23.62
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

An accomplished novel from a talented writer, Letters to the Lost is the kind of love story that will sweep you away from the very first minute. Iona Grey's prose is warm, evocative, and immediately engaging; her characters become so real you can't bear to let them go.

Late on a frozen February evening, a young woman is running through the streets of London. Having fled from her abusive boyfriend and with nowhere to go, Jess stumbles onto a forgotten lane where a small, clearly unlived-in old house offers her best chance of shelter for the night. The next morning a mysterious letter arrives - and when she can't help but open it, she finds herself drawn inexorably into the story of two lovers from another time.

In London 1942, Stella meets Dan, a US airman, quite by accident. But there is no denying the impossible, unstoppable love that draws them together. Dan is a B-17 pilot flying his bomber into Europe from a British airbase, his odds of survival at one in five. The odds are stacked against the pair; the one thing they hold on to is the letters they write to each other. Fate is unkind, and they are separated by decades and continents.

In the present, Jess becomes determined to find out what happened to them. Her hope - inspired by a love so powerful it spans a lifetime - will lead her to find a startling redemption in her own life in a powerfully moving novel perfect for fans of Sarah Jio and Kate Morton.

©2015 Iona Grey (P)2015 W F Howes Ltd

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (215 )
5 star
 (128)
4 star
 (61)
3 star
 (17)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.4 (199 )
5 star
 (119)
4 star
 (53)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.5 (201 )
5 star
 (133)
4 star
 (52)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (3)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Corina Laufiso 09-10-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great! But...get more depressing, I dare you!"
    Any additional comments?

    I am a HUGE sucker for a WWII love story, so this was right up my ally. This was a particularly compelling love story - i.e. I spent much of the time having no idea how it was going to wrap up. Loved the writing, ADORED the performance (Avita Jay was amazing!), really liked how the story progressed, and how it all wrapped up, etc. But in thinking about it now that it's over - it was a bit depressing and a little too needlessly dark. There was such sadness around the 1943 story, that I felt just kept going and going and going. I needed a reprieve from all the heaviness. I feel like the author could have allowed one teeny tiny thing to go right for the 1943ers! Or at the very least given Stella somewhat of a backbone. That actually got really irritating. I feel like someone who is daring enough to have an affair, would also be a big enough risk-taker to not get walked all over for the majority of her life.

    But, regardless - it was an amazing story and I wouldn't hesitate to read another book by this author.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 02-14-16 Member Since 2014

    Resides in Elkton, M.D. (but my heart belongs in Upstate, N.Y.)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    38
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    57
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Love That Transcends Time"
    What did you love best about Letters to the Lost?

    There were so many things about this book it's hard to begin. Without spoilers,
    : When Stella lost her watch
    : The peaches:
    : The new house
    : When Jess found the letters, Dan, Will, etc....


    What did you like best about this story?

    The Letters Of Course!!!


    Which character – as performed by Avita Jay – was your favorite?

    Dan- she played him so calm, so even kieled, understanding, and empathetic to Stella's needs you could hear it in the narrator's voice.


    Who was the most memorable character of Letters to the Lost and why?

    DAN - READ WHAT I WROTE ABOVE!!!!!


    Any additional comments?

    Beautiful love story! Slow moving at first, but just wait until Stella "loses her watch," and you won't be able to put it down! It had me in tears at the end.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna The Bayou 11-12-15
    Donna The Bayou 11-12-15

    "A classic is a book that never finishes saying what it has to say." Italo Calvino

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    40
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Reading Letters to the Lost by Iona Grey is Time Well Spent"

    Okay, you caught me! I'm crying. Just finished Letters to the Lost, and I am so moved by the characters, their predicaments, and the satisfying, bittersweet conclusion.
    The story begins with Jess, a young singer fleeing an abusive boyfriend, who finds shelter in an abandoned home. While there, she finds a letter written from an American WWII pilot, Daniel, to his English sweetheart, Stella. This takes the reader on a journey through time, as Jess learns more about Daniel and Stella, while she struggles to create a new life for herself.
    Letters to the Lost handles a very sentimental theme, enduring love, without over sentimentality. I am so impressed by Iona Grey's first novel, and this new fan hopes it won't be the last.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carolyn Calgary, AB, Canada 07-27-15
    Carolyn Calgary, AB, Canada 07-27-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    13
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "What a love story!"

    The characters came to life! I couldn't wait until all the letters were read...it was a such a suspense!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robert 07-20-16
    Robert 07-20-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    82
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful love story."

    The narration was excellent. beautifully well written story. I gave the story four stars because it was a bit predictable but I still loved it and would recommend.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sonja Vos 07-13-16
    Sonja Vos 07-13-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful"

    I was drawn into the book immediately, partly because of the pleasant voice of the narrator, but it is just very well written. You get to love the main characters and want to know more about them. I'm glad I know what happened, but sad the book is finished. Can really recommend it!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cheryl 02-08-16
    Cheryl 02-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Stepping back in time"

    Loved this story. At first I had a little difficulty keeping up with the story switching back & forth between the past & the current story. But it was well worth sticking with it. Sad to have it end. Loved the narrator too & all of her various voices.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 11-23-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable."

    A love story that is not mushy or overly sexed., i enjoy leaving something to the imagination. I also enjoyed being taken back in time to hear the hardships and the happiness of the characters.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 09-19-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Letters"

    I really loved this book. The story is great, but the performance makes it amazing. I am sure that I will listen to it again. I miss the characters already!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rebecca Fleming 09-03-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely beautiful in every sense!"

    This story was absolutely captivating in every way. I could read this story over and over.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.