We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Leave Me Audiobook

Leave Me

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train to a place where no one needs constant attention - meet Maribeth Klein, a harried working mother who's so busy taking care of her husband and twins, she doesn't even realize she's had a heart attack.

Afterward, surprised to discover that her recuperation seems to be an imposition on those who rely on her, Maribeth does the unthinkable: She packs a bag and leaves. But, as is so often the case, once she gets to where she's going, she sees her life from a different perspective. Far from the demands of family and career, and with the help of liberating new friendships, Maribeth is finally able to own up to secrets she has been keeping from those she loves - and from herself.

With big-hearted characters who stumble and trip, grow and forgive, Leave Me is about facing our fears. Gayle Forman, a dazzling observer of human nature, has written an irresistible novel that confronts the ambivalence of modern motherhood head-on.

©2016 Gayle Forman (P)2016 Recorded Books

What the Critics Say

"Eva Kaminsky's narration is at once uniquely emotional and quietly familiar.... Each character in this novel has his or her own voice, thanks to Kaminsky's skill. Personalities emerge with nuances of timbre and tone.... Listeners will be reluctant to leave." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (141 )
5 star
 (57)
4 star
 (46)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (3)
Overall
3.9 (126 )
5 star
 (49)
4 star
 (35)
3 star
 (27)
2 star
 (11)
1 star
 (4)
Story
4.2 (128 )
5 star
 (60)
4 star
 (42)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    The Reading Date 09-21-16

    I'm an audiobook addict and blog about books at The Reading Date. My favorite genres are YA, New Adult, Fiction & Memoirs.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    287
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    103
    69
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    36
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional, Satisfying, All the Feels"

    Gayle Forman is one of my favorite YA authors, and so I was thrilled to see her make her Adult debut with Leave Me. She brings “all the feels” we’ve come to expect from her work in this new venture. Leave Me centers around an overworked magazine editor/wife/mom who takes drastic measures to reclaim her life when she has a heart attack at 44. She picks up and leaves everyone behind to take charge of her own recovery when she can’t get a break at home.

    Maribeth works full-time at her lifestyle magazine job, manages the household and takes charge of her preschool-age twins. Her husband works long hours and assumes a less active role at home. When Maribeth has a sudden heart attack, the pieces of their lives start to unravel. Husband Jason enlists Maribeth’s mother to help pick up the slack, but she is not as supportive to Maribeth or her family as she could be. When a lice outbreak strikes both twins at once, Maribeth has had enough.She leaves everything behind to take charge of her recovery.

    Forman makes Maribeth’s story so relatable with showing the exhaustion and stresses of trying to do it all. It’s hard to imagine leaving your kids behind but given her situation it didn’t seem that she had much choice. Maribeth’s story of self-discovery is fulfilling and satisfying and felt very real but still like an escape.

    Eva Kaminsky is a new-to-me narrator, and she is a good fit for Leave Me. She conveyed the stresses in Maribeth’s life well so it was easy to understand Maribeth’s desire to leave for some much-needed R&R. Kaminsky’s voice lent the appropriate emotional tone for this journey and made each character sound distinct. I did speed up the pace to 1.5x to better suit my taste and that worked well. This is an audiobook I didn’t want to put down.

    Fans of Forman’s YA books should give this one a try, and also recommended for readers of authors like Karma Brown and Taylor Jenkins Reid.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    deborah 11-17-16
    deborah 11-17-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great narrator, weak story"

    I love this author's young adult books. But she doesn't translate as well into adult fiction. The story was weak and the main character so unsympathetic. Characters were contrived. Narrator was outstanding.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacy O. 11-12-16
    Stacy O. 11-12-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The title is misleading"

    I really loved the story and the narrator was great. The title was a bite misleading when I purchased it, but very enjoyable anyway.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stacey 10-12-16
    Stacey 10-12-16 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great novel"

    Another great book by Gayle Forman! A little mad at the ending but that's because I wanted more....

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marge 10-03-16
    Marge 10-03-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful read!"

    This book draws you in quickly with it's twists and turns but you'll like it... I promise. The subject is fascinating and I really did want to see what is the outcome.
    I did question some of her moves but I don't know what I would do in that situation (not a mother myself). It was a touching book and really fast read.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.