We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
His Majesty's Hope Audiobook

His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 3

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.

©2013 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2013 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (412 )
5 star
 (185)
4 star
 (154)
3 star
 (52)
2 star
 (15)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.2 (370 )
5 star
 (178)
4 star
 (129)
3 star
 (43)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.1 (368 )
5 star
 (171)
4 star
 (113)
3 star
 (51)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (16)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Tina Thomas Austin, TX, US 12-22-16
    Tina Thomas Austin, TX, US 12-22-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Maggie - still naive"

    For all that Maggie has been through, her naïveté still remains. Wish she would mature a little.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ann Mesa, AZ, United States 10-26-16
    Ann Mesa, AZ, United States 10-26-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful"

    I love this story. This is my favorite era to read about. Maggie is very believable and sassy enough to keep you guessing. Love her friends too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melanie 06-26-16
    Melanie 06-26-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    48
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The story was good"

    The narrator was awful. Her pauses far to long. I knew where ever period and paragraph was in the book... I enjoy the story and at one point I even found myself jumping a few chapters to satisfy a fear I had and go back to listening..lol..

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Grad school student 04-21-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story"

    I do believe this is my favorite Maggie story yet. It got right into the action, instead of leaving it to the last few pages of the story. I am bummer about her and John and hope they are able to come to terms with everything and work it out. I was upset that they switched narrators, but now that I am on the third book, I think it was the right choice. On to the next!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pixanna Walker 02-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    52
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I recommend this book"

    this book has a lot about World War 2 it's very interesting and has a good story line I would recommend this book for anyone over the age of 14

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Erica 01-12-16
    Erica 01-12-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    76
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best in series so far!"

    Enjoyed story behind enemy lines in Germany. Well researched, excellent plot, great characters. Can't wait to read next in series. This narrator was much better with German accent than she was with English in second book in series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Maine Knitter 12-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    526
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    740
    375
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite good"

    I was very pleased by this book. I enjoyed the first in the series but was disappointed with the second one. It's good that this third volume is back to the quality of the first book.

    The story was compelling even given its serious nature. I enjoyed the narrator better in this book than in the preceding one basically because Maggie was speaking with a German accent throughout most of the story. In the earlier book Maggie's voice was just weird.

    I wasn't happy with the way Maggie's personal life worked out at the end. Time will tell with that.

    And finally, there was a moment that made me stop and say "what?" That was the use of the term "baby bump." Seriously, was that used in the early 1940s?

    But, all-in-all, a lightly suspenseful story of WWII Berlin. I liked it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CissyCatt Hill Country, TX 12-02-15
    CissyCatt Hill Country, TX 12-02-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Such a good story!"

    The characters are continuing to develop from the previous books and throughout this one. Overall, well done.

    Also Susan Duerden does an excellent job, as always.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie Long Beach, CA, United States 05-11-15
    Stephanie Long Beach, CA, United States 05-11-15 Member Since 2010

    Favorite authors: Donna Gabaldon, Dorothy Dunnet, Anya Seton, Daphne Du Maurier, CS Forester,Alastair Mclean, Irving Stone, MM Kaye, L'amour

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good incite into WWII"

    Fun to read about a woman spy. Loved it. On to the next. I'm addicted. Maggie also has great difficulty being a spy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anita F. Hales Ketchikan, AK USA 03-20-15
    Anita F. Hales Ketchikan, AK USA 03-20-15 Member Since 2014

    Harp-Alaska

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Keeps you gripped."

    Lots of twists. Keeps you engaged. The reader was quite good doing a German accent when people spoke German.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.