We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
His Majesty's Hope Audiobook

His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie Hope Mystery, Book 3

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.
Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive–a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad–and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war–and of her own past.

©2013 Susan Elia Macneal (P)2013 Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (309 )
5 star
 (136)
4 star
 (113)
3 star
 (40)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.2 (273 )
5 star
 (128)
4 star
 (89)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (6)
Story
4.1 (270 )
5 star
 (120)
4 star
 (83)
3 star
 (42)
2 star
 (12)
1 star
 (13)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Maine Knitter 12-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    291
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    581
    237
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite good"

    I was very pleased by this book. I enjoyed the first in the series but was disappointed with the second one. It's good that this third volume is back to the quality of the first book.

    The story was compelling even given its serious nature. I enjoyed the narrator better in this book than in the preceding one basically because Maggie was speaking with a German accent throughout most of the story. In the earlier book Maggie's voice was just weird.

    I wasn't happy with the way Maggie's personal life worked out at the end. Time will tell with that.

    And finally, there was a moment that made me stop and say "what?" That was the use of the term "baby bump." Seriously, was that used in the early 1940s?

    But, all-in-all, a lightly suspenseful story of WWII Berlin. I liked it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    CissyCatt Hill Country, TX 12-02-15
    CissyCatt Hill Country, TX 12-02-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Such a good story!"

    The characters are continuing to develop from the previous books and throughout this one. Overall, well done.

    Also Susan Duerden does an excellent job, as always.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie Long Beach, CA, United States 05-11-15
    Stephanie Long Beach, CA, United States 05-11-15 Member Since 2010

    Favorite authors: Donna Gabaldon, Dorothy Dunnet, Anya Seton, Daphne Du Maurier, CS Forester,Alastair Mclean, Irving Stone, MM Kaye, L'amour

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good incite into WWII"

    Fun to read about a woman spy. Loved it. On to the next. I'm addicted. Maggie also has great difficulty being a spy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anita F. Hales Ketchikan, AK USA 03-20-15
    Anita F. Hales Ketchikan, AK USA 03-20-15 Member Since 2014

    Harp-Alaska

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Keeps you gripped."

    Lots of twists. Keeps you engaged. The reader was quite good doing a German accent when people spoke German.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    M. Lockard Bryan, Tx USA 02-08-15
    M. Lockard Bryan, Tx USA 02-08-15 Member Since 2012

    Capitalist Pig

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great female lead."

    I thoroughly enjoy this series. It has enough meat to it, but not too much to be too intense. Looking forward to the next one!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    N. Victor Colorado 01-26-15
    N. Victor Colorado 01-26-15 Member Since 2011
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    "Enjoyable read"

    This series is interesting, well paced. I am off to read the 4th one in the series. Very enjoyable reading.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Fran Pearson 01-16-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    28
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    627
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "NOT AS GOOD AS THE FIRST 2 BOOKS IN THE SERIES"

    The first 2 books of the Maggie Hope Trilogy were very good, but the third book drags along, mired in the Nazi atrocities during WWII. The characters lose depth and the plot is predictable. Thank heavens for fast forward to get through this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Colette Michaud 01-07-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book - lost in the narration."
    Any additional comments?

    While this is a really good book in a favourite series, the narration just seems too stiff to meet the story.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nina 10-25-14
    Nina 10-25-14 Member Since 2007
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Annoying narrator"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    I'd give it a lukewarm recommendation- I like the ideas- the storyline and the settings. I find the narrator to be annoying and her accent and voice so distracting that it is hard to enjoy the books. I also fine the character to be annoying with her temper tantrums and her overblown agonizing. Her efforts to be strong or to be independent generally make her seem weak and whiny. I've listened to a few and keep hoping against hope that the storyline with triumph.


    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    I don't like the voice and find the performance weak- it makes the characters less likeable.


    Was His Majesty's Hope worth the listening time?

    half and half.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 10-13-14 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    126
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good read!"
    Would you try another book from Susan Elia MacNeal and/or Susan Duerden?

    Yes.


    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    I like the way the author is presenting Maggie Hope. She's young, smart but impetuous - her youth and self-confidence has her making decisions that bring dire consequences. Wisdom is often gained from painful lessons and this is true for Maggie.


    Do you think His Majesty's Hope needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

    Yes, the war leaves it's scars - but the author shows Maggie has the strength to learn to live with them and this needs to come out. This character has a real-life feel to her.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.