We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Heretic Audiobook

Heretic

Regular Price:$26.45
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A sharp, skilled and utterly fearless archer in the army of King Edward III, young Thomas of Hookton has been making his way through France for three years now, fighting fiercely alongside the English troops. But being a soldier in the great Hundred Years War is only a means to an end: Thomas of Hookton is hot on the trails of the man who brutally slaughtered his father and stole his only treasure - rumored to be the Holy Grail - from the ancient church of Hookton. All Europe wants the grail, and though many doubt it even exists, no one would willingly allow an enemy to find Christendom's most precious relic. To seek revenge and reclaim what's rightfully his, Thomas finds himself in a murderous race with the dangerous black rider who keeps cunningly eluding his grasp.

In the tradition of Ken Follett and Edward Rutherford, Heretic is the third book in Bernard Cornwell's remarkable new series about the search for the Holy Grail.

©2003 Bernard Cornwell (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (251 )
5 star
 (166)
4 star
 (74)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.5 (224 )
5 star
 (147)
4 star
 (59)
3 star
 (14)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.7 (224 )
5 star
 (162)
4 star
 (55)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Barbara POTTSTOWN, PA, United States 02-27-15
    Barbara POTTSTOWN, PA, United States 02-27-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "my favorite of the grail quest series"

    I was sad to be done with this series. i totally enjoyed the narrator. I would like to read more of Thomas of Hookton tales

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin Rains 09-12-16
    Robin Rains 09-12-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    39
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    184
    117
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thomas of Hooktan"

    I seriously don't know where to begin & end praising Bernard Cornwells historical novels. This series has me as captivated as Uhtred of Bebbanburg. I love history especially historical wars before guns when everything was sheer strength & cunning. The man is a genius!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth HERNANDO, MS, United States 03-25-16
    Elizabeth HERNANDO, MS, United States 03-25-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "once again, a masterpiece"

    Cornwell spins a tale like no other. His attention to detail is superb. The reader gets the texture, the reality of life and war in the middle ages. well done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ekhp 03-19-16
    Ekhp 03-19-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love this series"

    Was looking for more after I finished with Uhtred. Love Thomas! Great series so far. Interesting and historically enriching. Downloading 1356 now...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charles 10-11-15
    Charles 10-11-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "picture perfect history"

    Enthralling mental picture of the 14th century in every page. An exciting and accurate look at the life and times of both peasant and nobility.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Randall H. Russell 03-23-15

    Randy

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Skip this one"

    Not one of his good ones. Pales in comparison to Agincourt. The reader did what he could with a weak plot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jeffrey MILTON, WI, United States 01-22-15
    jeffrey MILTON, WI, United States 01-22-15 Member Since 2011

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story well read"

    Loved the book and the series very descriptive, the long bows dominance was something I didn't know about before this series.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.