We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Girl at War Audiobook

Girl at War: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age - and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree 10-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war - secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country's difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Novic fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl - and its legacy on all of us. It's a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

©2015 Sara Novic (P)2015 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual, Girl at War is a remarkable debut by a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind." (Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story and Little Failure)

"Intimate, crushingly brutal, and beautiful, Girl at War is the work of someone far more mature than her years. It constitutes signal proof that even great history is insufficient to tell the story of the twentieth century in Europe: Great fiction like this book is required, too." (Robert D. Kaplan, author of Balkan Ghosts andAsia's Cauldron)

"Novic's important debut brings painfully home the jarring fact that what happens in today's headlines on a daily basis - the atrocities of wars in Africa and the Mideast - is neither new nor even particularly the worst that humankind can commit.... Thanks to Novic's considerable skill, Ana's return visit to her homeland and her past is nearly as cathartic for the reader as it is for Ana." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (275 )
5 star
 (128)
4 star
 (97)
3 star
 (44)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.3 (245 )
5 star
 (120)
4 star
 (84)
3 star
 (36)
2 star
 (5)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (246 )
5 star
 (147)
4 star
 (77)
3 star
 (19)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Sara 06-03-15
    Sara 06-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    84
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A perfectly timed departure from the predictable template."

    Girl at War shouldn't pass you by. The horrors of the 1990's Balkan Crisis, set against the breathtaking beauty of the land, give bittersweet memories of her past that is far removed from Ana's new life in America, where comfort is taken for granted and war is something folks watch on TV.

    The will to survive, despite having every reason to surrender to the fate of her mother and father, is Ana's story. Love, fear, hesitation and uneasy rediscovery are mixed into a nostalgic reunion that takes place when Ana returns to see the remains of her childhood. Perhaps the only thing that has stayed the same is the connection she shares with Luka, the boy she left behind. As young adults, Luka and Ana set off together on a journey to find the past that had previously been set aside in Ana's mind.

    Sara Nović masterfully unwinds this story of survival. Don't pass over this book! It is haunting and beautiful in every sense of the word.

    4 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-08-16
    Daryl Edmonton, Alberta, Canada 02-08-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    615
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    357
    343
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    36
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "On Growing up and Finding Home"

    This book is difficult to review, even as I read it quickly and swallowed it whole. I grew up in Canada, and am about the same age as the fictional Ana. While I never could understand her need to hide her heritage from her American classmates, teachers, and anyone else, it did make sense in the way of a teenager and preteen.
    Julia Whelan is a narrator I've heard of but not explored much. She handles this book nicely, though her male characters have frustratingly low tones that don't suit her well. But her dialogue was polished and emotive, and does carry Ana's character nicely.

    This book tackles very difficult subjects of homecoming, of war, of innocence lost at an age where you desperately cling to whatever innocence you have left. It's a difficult read, as war books should be, but it is by no means violent for its own sake. It is hopeful and shattering and frustrating and resilient... maybe it was meant to be this way.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    michael NEWTON CENTER, MA, United States 08-21-15
    michael NEWTON CENTER, MA, United States 08-21-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    31
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well thought through realistic and moving story"

    We are humans with the greatest and weakest in us. Biology plays a role, environment makes the difference. The circumstances outside of our control are hard to acknowledge as we want to believe that our will plays a more important role, than it actually does..

    I found characters well developed, very realistic, events to be very probable, the cultures presented from multiple points of view, and learned quite a bit about myself and others. The torturous events were not extravagantly emphasized, but then they did not loose their power of hurt and understanding. The kindness of people was not elevated to sainthood, but also was not minimized. This book is a reminder that not everything depends on us, but then something does depend. It helped me to understand the impact of certain experiences.

    I was impressed with author writing. The books reads easily, but the vocabulary is quite rich.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Greg Dobbin 05-26-15
    Greg Dobbin 05-26-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible, moving, inspirational ❤️"

    Very nicely delivered story and beautifully performed. Highly recommend it. It is the safest way to learn what it is to be a child in a war.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Emily M. Drutel 09-29-16 Member Since 2015

    Mila Drutel

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    "Story of war seen by a young girl."

    great war story told by a young girl, who did not understand the purpose of this ethnic/ religious war.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Gloria 09-06-16
    Gloria 09-06-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brings home the Homeland War"

    Compelling characters. Compelling story. The author personalizes the War, the tragedies, the brutalities, the scars in a way that a history book cannot. Despite the subject matter, it is not downbeat nor depressing. The lead character, Ana, has hope and a future like Croatia itself. The book provides an insight to the Balkans (as well as to the Middle East today.) The narrator could not be better.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    J. Kaufman 07-18-16
    J. Kaufman 07-18-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "by far the best book in a long while"

    any person who has experienced war will want to read this book. my experiences, while not the same, elicited many of Ana's emotions. I did not like the abrupt end and wanted more closure. Overall Excellent!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marcia Rowe 05-13-16
    Marcia Rowe 05-13-16 Member Since 2015
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really good"

    I wish the story wouldn't have switched from adult to child but besides that I really enjoyed the book keep my attention while I was listening.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirstyn cline 05-04-16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book about the Balkans"

    The narrator makes all the men in the book sound Eastern European. Otherwise, it was an amazing heartfelt tale of the Croatian crisis, less known the Bosnian massacre.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jorgia Parker 04-19-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the narration! Disappointed with the ending..."

    The ending was so abrupt...was a bit disappointed but overall I enjoyed the book. Narration made it so easy to follow.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.