We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Frankland Audiobook

Frankland: A Novel

Regular Price:$19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

With droll humor and biting wit, critically acclaimed author James Whorton, Jr. pens enjoyable novels in the tradition of John Kennedy Toole and Walker Percy. In Frankland, a socially challenged young man named John H. Tolley aspires to be a prestigious historian despite his lack of a college degree. To that end, he embarks on a journey to east Tennessee to track down 17th President Andrew Johnson’s secret papers, which may or may not actually exist. When he arrives, he meets a quirky group of people who inadvertently serve to obstruct him from his more scholarly pursuits.

©2005 James Whorton, Jr. (P)2005 Recorded Books, LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

2.5 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
2.0 (2 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (1 )
5 star
 (0)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Jake Marietta, GA United States 12-17-12
    Jake Marietta, GA United States 12-17-12 Listener Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    129
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, I enjoyed it. The "serve to obstruct him" is not locals protecting secret Johnson papers as I'd guessed. The main character inadvertantly gets involved in some local doings with the quirky locals. The main character is also quirky and an individual, with particular interests and traits, too so that he reminded me of the Dexter from the first few novels in that series (but without the dark passenger psychosis and killing aspects). I guess that's what I found entertaining about the book; unusual characters, doings and mysteries, and ending. I would say it is less a drama than some mysteries.


    What does Nick Landrum bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Nick gives most of the characters a sound that helps bring them to life. I've known people like some of the ones in this book and he captures them well.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.