We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Forgiving Audiobook

Forgiving

Regular Price:$14.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In is 1876, in the still-wild Dakota territories...Sarah Merritt arrives in the mining town of Dead-wood, intent on finding her runaway younger sister Addie and starting a newspaper. When she sets up her printing press in the middle of Main Street, she finds herself at loggerheads with the handsome, headstrong Sheriff Noah Campbell, who places her under arrest. From the battle of wills between Sarah and the Sheriff emerges a story of innocence lost and regained and a love destined to overcome all odds.

In the tradition of Bittersweet, Vows, The Endearment and Morning Glory, LaVyrle Spencer has created a tale rich in feminine strength, determination, courage and surprising, magical romance.

©1992 LaVyrle Spencer; (P)2009 Phoenix

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (10 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.0 (7 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (8 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Marcy 08-01-10
    Marcy 08-01-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    324
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Abridgement of Forgiving by LaVyrle Spencer"

    The book is wonderful, but this abridgement makes the story trite and meaningless. Why would anyone abridge such an author? Every part of the original story is necessary to get the entire picture and beauty of the book. the reader is good.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patrice Macomb Twp., Michigan, United States 10-31-13
    Patrice Macomb Twp., Michigan, United States 10-31-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Love the book HATE the Audible"
    What would have made Forgiving better?

    Why they chose to abridge it is beyond me... they eliminated some key parts of the story making it feel forced and rushed. All of the elements of the two main characters falling in love were gone and the climax which was critical to the flow of the story was rushed through quickly to get to the end. Also, the narrator sounded like she was way too close to the microphone and you could hear her chewing and swallowing... passing by punctuation marks like they weren't there and just in general reading way too fast to enjoy the story. Just horrible! Buy the book... It's worth the time to read it yourself!


    What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

    Too rushed.


    If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Forgiving?

    Too much was cut already. For a book that cost full price, why not read the whole book as the author intended it. The book was beautifully written and had very tender, romantic moments that we all, for the most part cut. There was no build up in their relationship. One day they hated each other and the next they were getting married. And don't get me started on how chopped up the final scenes were when they finally resolved their conflict with each other! You should be ashamed of yourself to have hacked it up so much.


    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Eastern, CT USA 03-02-12
    Amazon Customer Eastern, CT USA 03-02-12 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart warming story of emotional healing"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Forgiving to be better than the print version?

    No, but the reason I say this, is that the story is so much better in its true unabriged version. This version leaves much of the story out.


    Any additional comments?

    Wonderful story, but not worth the credit for its abriged version.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.