We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Every Woman for Herself Audiobook

Every Woman for Herself

Regular Price:$16.77
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

First comes marriage. Then comes divorce. Then it's every woman for herself....

Every Woman for Herself is a hilarious account of divorce and dating from Sunday Times best seller Trisha Ashley. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews, the country setting and rom-com storyline make this the perfect summer companion.

When Charlie's husband Matt tells her that he wants a divorce she has to start from scratch. Suddenly single, broke, and approaching 40 she is forced to return to her childhood home in the Yorkshire moors.

Living with her father and eccentric siblings could be considered a challenge but soon Charlie finds her new life somewhat refreshing. Now that she's single she's got no need to dye her roots nor to be the perfect wife and she can return to her first love - painting.

But just as she begins to feel settled, handsome, bad-tempered actor Mace North moves in down the road and starts mixing things up for Charlie in more ways than one....

©2015 Trisha Ashley (P)2015 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

"One of the best writers around!" (Katie Fforde)
"Full of down-to-earth humour." (Sophie Kinsella)
"A warm-hearted and comforting read. Trisha at her best" (Carole Matthews)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (57 )
5 star
 (26)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
4.0 (49 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (15)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (3)
Story
4.1 (49 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (12)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    jodiod Bay area ca 06-19-15
    jodiod Bay area ca 06-19-15 Member Since 2016

    Jodiod

    HELPFUL VOTES
    335
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1082
    338
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    29
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Adorable."

    Loved every minute of this book. Light but still meaningful. Utterly delightful and quirky characters.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    F. Langley, BC, Canada 12-10-15
    F. Langley, BC, Canada 12-10-15 Member Since 2012

    Fran Langley.BC Canada

    HELPFUL VOTES
    14
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Treat yourself to a good giggle. Oh yes !!"

    Totally engrossing from beginning to end. Charlie is so lovable, a girl after my own
    heart. Her thoughts and actions had me giggling and laughing out loud. The down to earth
    affection of her family so amusing you will want to become one of them, sister, cousin
    even. I listened late into the night and didn't want to stop. Narration by Julia Barrie couldn't have been more perfect. So good I just started this book again straight away, just
    to have that feel good feeling. I would give it six stars if I could.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Laura E-E 09-04-16
    Laura E-E 09-04-16 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent story!! Really enjoyable!!!"

    What a great story!! The characters were really witty and funny and I truly enjoyed the narrator!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    K. 05-25-16
    K. 05-25-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    65
    24
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unexpectedly delightful!"
    What made the experience of listening to Every Woman for Herself the most enjoyable?

    This book is full of surprises. I had trouble getting into it because of the trite divorce setup at the beginning, but it gradually takes on a very unusual and quirky personality unlike other chick lit I have read. The odd and very charming family life is somehow quite believable, even if some of the plot points aren't. And that's okay because the hero is yummy. Tricia Ashley throws in a hodgepodge of stuff: tropical plants, painting, wicca, cooking, the Brontes, far-out preschool education and even magazine publishing (Skint Old Northern Woman!).


    What other book might you compare Every Woman for Herself to and why?

    I haven't read other books by this author but I will now, and I wish Audible had all of them.


    What about Julia Barrie’s performance did you like?

    I thought the reading was brilliant. I did like the way she did the men, and also thought her children were wonderful.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    It's a very funny book.


    Any additional comments?

    I actually started it over when it ended, because I had such a bad impression at the beginning. Now I recognize the author's quirky sense of humor which takes a couple of chapters to really develop.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Katie
    7/23/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Original Storytelling"

    In Every Woman for Herself the main character Charlie, named for Charlotte Bronte, seems to be on a 'journey' to find her own strength through adversity. She has a family of siblings all also named for the other Bronte siblings, by their Bronte obsessed father; but there is a twist waiting here!

    The book is mostly set in Yorkshire, which I suppose is essential for the Bronte connection. It is peppered with the alternative magazine articles that Charlie is writing to entertain herself. It has some almost black comedy to do with squashed watermelons. I think Trisha Ashley could win prizes for the originality of some of ideas. The narrator is absolutely fine too.

    All in all, quite a complex story line, with lots of characters who play a small but important part in the plot. There are also some main central characters who all live happily ever after, or alternatively get what they deserve!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Mrs. A. L. Lilley
    France
    6/9/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great story!"

    I loved the story but really didn't like the way the reader spoke the men's part. just read the story! don't do voices.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • vanessa
    5/18/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "very entertaining unusual story and made me laugh"

    loved it very good storyline made me smile and laugh out loud on several occasions

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • louise price
    4/14/16
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely rubbish"

    Did not like anything about this book story nonsense made no sense to me reader hopeless at voices so not waste your money

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Chauvesouris
    12/1/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice easy read"
    Would you consider the audio edition of Every Woman for Herself to be better than the print version?

    I have not read the print version of this book so I am afraid I am unable to comment on how it compares to the audio book version


    What other book might you compare Every Woman for Herself to, and why?

    I think it is similar to a lot of romantic fiction writers out there.


    What about Julia Barrie’s performance did you like?

    I enjoyed Julia's performance it was pleasant and her voicing the other character's was convincing and seemingly accurate to their roles and parts


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    No, it's not that sort of book really, although there are some nice sections related to the child and the lead character, but nothing I would determine to be emotionally moving.


    Any additional comments?

    It is a pleasant read and there were certainly times when I did laugh here and there. I would say the storyline was rather unconvincing, certainly with regard to the lead character's romance.It seemed to go from nothing to all, with little substance in between. Nevertheless, I would purchase another book by the author and there were some nice and witty moments within it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • J. Hardy
    scotland
    11/13/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great escape story"

    After a number of fantasy sci fly novels this was a fabulous change. I love the characters - strangely familiar after a childhood in Derbyshire (not Yorkshire but pretty close). The family bond is fabulous. I would recommend this to any one who enjoys a good yarn.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • lynn clough
    9/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A laugh out loud tale"
    If you could sum up Every Woman for Herself in three words, what would they be?

    Strife, love and giggles


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    So many wonderful characters. Charlie is a lovely warm character and Caitlin is a gem.


    What does Julia Barrie bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

    Julia Barrie brought the characters to life. Her intonation is excellent. A super bonus is reading the book with the lights off.


    If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Life can go right accidentally


    Any additional comments?

    If your fond of Chicklit enjoy this book for a funny and rye look a one woman's life adventures. Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.