We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
Death, the Devil, and the Goldfish | [Andrew Buckley]

Death, the Devil, and the Goldfish

From the Bahamas to Heathrow airport, to the rain soaked streets of London the dead have ceased dying. This is inconvenient for a number of reasons but what's the real reason behind the chaos? In London we find Nigel Reinhardt, a disgraced, confused, and gifted London police constable who owns a prophetic goldfish. In Ireland the Angel of Death questions the value and position of his current employment. At Majestic Technologies Celina McMannis works diligently on a top secret project.
Regular Price:$18.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

From the Bahamas to Heathrow airport, to the rain soaked streets of London the dead have ceased dying.

This is inconvenient for a number of reasons but what's the real reason behind the chaos?

In London we find Nigel Reinhardt, a disgraced, confused, and gifted London police constable who owns a prophetic goldfish.

In Ireland the Angel of Death questions the value and position of his current employment. At Majestic Technologies Celina McMannis works diligently on a top secret project.

At the South Pole there lives a very unhappy penguin. When the Devil hatches a nefarious plot to take over the world by possessing a cute little kitty and seizing a factory of robotic Christmas elves it's up to Nigel and his group of unlikely companions to save the world or die trying....

Or both.

©2012 Andrew Buckley (P)2012 Andrew Buckley

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (24 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.1 (22 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.0 (22 )
5 star
 (9)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Kimberly Ypsilanti, MI, United States 08-23-13
    Kimberly Ypsilanti, MI, United States 08-23-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    207
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    210
    53
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    35
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "My Advice, Read the Book"

    In the vein of Tom Holt and A. Lee Martinez, this was a very fun story that was nearly ruined by poor narration. Mr. Cross rushed through most of the story so quickly that many of the jokes were lost and his character voices were awful. I very much want to get the book so that I can really enjoy the work the author put into the story.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sharon Bayliss Austin, TX 03-27-13
    Sharon Bayliss Austin, TX 03-27-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Delightfully ridiculous"
    Would you listen to Death, the Devil, and the Goldfish again? Why?

    Sure! It's a funny, easy listen.


    What did you like best about this story?

    This story reminded me of Douglas Adams, full of absurd British humor. Buckley has a clever and rich voice. I laughed throughout the story.


    Which character – as performed by Jon Cross – was your favorite?

    Jon Cross made the narrative come alive. I loved his interpretation of the characters, especially the voice he chose for the Devil.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    I would if I had time!


    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jonathan Ner York, NY, United States 08-22-13
    Jonathan Ner York, NY, United States 08-22-13 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Gripping and endlessly funny"
    Would you listen to Death, the Devil, and the Goldfish again? Why?

    Yes and I have. It's a great book and perfectly performed. Reminds me of Douglas Adams, Doctor Who, or a Guy Richie flick. Quirky and hysterical


    If you could take any character from Death, the Devil, and the Goldfish out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Death seems like a fun guy but wouldn't let him get drunk


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melisa Ponchatoula, LA, United States 01-16-14
    Melisa Ponchatoula, LA, United States 01-16-14 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    143
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    337
    33
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ruined by the narrator"

    This may be an interesting book but I don't think I can finish it because of the narrator. He speaks too quickly and runs all of his sentences together. I even tried playing it at half speed, which I have never had to do before, but it is still intolerable. He then sounds bored and the sentences are still run together with no breath in between. It is exhausting to listen to and very hard to follow. I might try this one in print, because I do think it may be worth a read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kyle United States 11-12-13
    Kyle United States 11-12-13 Member Since 2010

    a very sad man

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    75
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a conglomeration of enjoyable styles"
    Any additional comments?

    imagine if you could squish a robert rankin, a terry pratchett, and a douglas adams book together and squeeze out the juices. that's what this is.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charlene Seattle, WA, United States 09-27-13
    Charlene Seattle, WA, United States 09-27-13 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    131
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    391
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pratchetty, funny and clever"

    It's not just Pratchetty because there is an anthropomorphized death, but because it is also an amusing and engaging and absurd satire of human behavior. I'm not giving anything else away - but I've been a little disappointed with the long earth books, as they are so not like the discworld books, and I wish there was more Buckley on Audible, because it seems a promising way to fill the void of funny, smart satires.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-6 of 6 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.