We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
Chocolate Wishes | [Trisha Ashley]

Chocolate Wishes

Life is sweet for chocolate maker Chloe Lyon…Business is booming at her artisan chocolate-makers 'Chocolate Wishes' in the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond - not least because all of Chloe's sweet treats contain an inspirational prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to read in the cards, perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar….
Regular Price:$14.01
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Life is sweet for chocolate maker Chloe Lyon. Business is booming at her artisan chocolate-makers, Chocolate Wishes, in the picture-perfect Lancashire village of Sticklepond - not least because all of Chloe's sweet treats contain an inspirational prediction for each customer. If only her own life was as easy to read in the cards, perhaps Chloe could have foreseen being jilted at the altar…. But Chloe has long put thoughts of love behind her - after all, life is busy enough, especially as she tries to sort out her friends' tangled love lives and the village welcomes its new vicar, Raffy Sinclair.

However, the village rumour mill goes into overdrive when it is revealed that Raffy is the distinctly unorthodox ex-front man of rock band Dark Angels - and also happens to be Chloe's first love, who left her broken-hearted. Whilst Chloe tries to ignore this blast from her past, will she discover that wishes can come true when you least expect it?

A charming novel for chocoholics everywhere and perfect for fans of Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, and Carole Matthews.

©2010 Trisha Ashley (P)2010 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.3 (34 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (11)
3 star
 (10)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (4)
Overall
3.4 (17 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
3.6 (17 )
5 star
 (4)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Aryn Pullman, WA; United States 09-22-10
    Aryn Pullman, WA; United States 09-22-10 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    302
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    835
    91
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    30
    0
    Overall
    "Do you love angels?"

    Part one was really pretty good. During part two, the female protagonist began acting outside her established character and the author seemed to place more intention on just making the character fit the plot lines. SPOILER ALERT: within this slightly bi-polar characterization, the MC decided to forgive after receiving a very expensive gift; then after the surprise plot device, instant lust ensues. I nearly got whiplash from the character's occasional forays into her alternate 'universe'. Had I known the book was Christian in belief structure (yep, you can see the conversion coming) I wouldn't have bought it. That being said, most of the book was really well-written and well-narrated and, had some of the 'devices' been edited out, quite well done.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sara Temora, Australia 10-07-11
    Sara Temora, Australia 10-07-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    56
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Disappointing...."

    I listen to an audiobook every week or so and love them. This is the most disappointing one I have ever listened to. If I hadn't paid for it I would not have finished it.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin new york, new york, United States 11-22-12
    Robin new york, new york, United States 11-22-12 Member Since 2010

    Hi all. I'm in my 50's (that's relevant, i think), and I favor fiction. I like the british sensibility, and was introduced to the Forsyte Saga through audible ... loved it! I happen to also like Chinese writers, but they are not well represented yet at audible. Looking to follow readers with similar tastes ...

    HELPFUL VOTES
    129
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    92
    91
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    17
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "2 stars since i managed to finish"

    trisha ashley's books are for the very casual reader, preferably someone who listens to books while otherwise occupied. i read the sequel first, which wasn't bad ... your standard chick lit i would say. this one, i think, is better suited for an older teen reader. 2 stars at best (i did manage to finish the book).

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Myrtha Asunción, Paraguay 10-21-12
    Myrtha Asunción, Paraguay 10-21-12 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    53
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    252
    41
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "sweet but not cloying..."

    I wasn't planning on reviewing this one but I read some reviews and thought I could throw something to the pile.

    First of all: True, the story is not thought provoking or anything like that, it is light and probably does not stand too much scrutiny, but it is certainly sweet and fun and of course it is predictable as most of these are but in a good way! Let's face it if you are reading a chick lit you are looking for a fun happy ending even if it is escapism. As I said before the genre it's not exactly deep-moving-thought-provocking kind.

    Now to the merits: the characters are quite real (except the Male Character who's a bit too good to be true). Physically they are mostly ordinary every day people, not drop dead gorgeous, not fat not stick skinny etc. They dress normally and mostly act normal and they are nice, so you can somehow relate to them. They DO NOT offend the reader trying to TEACH what to think, to believe, or how to behave !!! And also don't do acts of extreme stupidity, nothing that would make you gag ( and I've read and review some books like that.) And true the book is somehow christian but believe me in a very subtle open-minded non-judgemental way. And I am very susceptible to ANY kind of propaganda.

    I also liked the setting, the little village, kind of bucolic,and it is the same place with some of the same characters of a previous book, which i accidentally happened to read some time ago.

    The narrator has a lovely voice and intonation. Also it seemed to me just right for the character. I just thought her accent so cute!

    All in all I found it entertaining and fun for a light listening of course.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-4 of 4 results
Sort by:
  • Sheila
    Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
    8/15/11
    Overall
    "Like this book"

    I enjoyed listening to this book, the story is on the whole predicatble but I kind of expected that before buying. Having said this I think it is very entertaining and funny, I am in the process of buying the other book by this author available from audible. As for the narrator I had no problem with her performance I thought her voice suited the book very well.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Terence
    United Kingdom
    5/2/11
    Overall
    "A cosy Lancashire tale"

    Although some of the twists and turns in this book may be a little predictable, I found this a humorous and heartening Lancashire tale. It kept me engaged throughout and was well narrated. I'll look out for more from Trisha Ashley.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Rebecca
    Binna BurraAustralia
    4/2/11
    Overall
    "Sadly disappointing"

    I purchased this book because I am a fan of Katie Fforde - however, from the beginning I hoped it would get better, the narrator made me feel like turning off - I am near the end now, and it has not got any better - the story is ok 4/10 possibly - the narrator 1/10 - I will try and avoid a talking book with her reading it. She sounds like she is bored stiff - a bit like a parent being asked to read the same story to a child for the 10th time that night. I have enjoyed all the other books that I have purchased with audible - this one was very disappointing.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.