We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Augustus | [John Williams]

Augustus

A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor. Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome.
Regular Price:$25.17
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’ I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs.

A mere 18 years of age when his uncle, Julius Caesar, is murdered, Octavius Caesar prematurely inherits rule of the Roman Republic. Surrounded by men who are jockeying for power—Cicero, Brutus, Cassius, and Mark Antony—young Octavius must work against the powerful Roman political machinations to claim his destiny as first Roman emperor.

Sprung from meticulous research and the pen of a true poet, Augustus tells the story of one man’s dream to liberate a corrupt Rome from the fancy of the capriciously crooked and the wildly wealthy.

©1972 John Williams; 1995 by Nancy Williams (P)2011 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What the Critics Say

Augustus is a masterpiece.” (Los Angeles Times)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (55 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (16)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (9)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
4.0 (41 )
5 star
 (17)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (40 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (17)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Naftaly Edison, NJ, United States 06-12-14
    Naftaly Edison, NJ, United States 06-12-14 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book, weak reading"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    This is one of the best Historical fiction I have ever read


    What did you like best about this story?

    Great writing, and its organization as a set of letters is brilliant.


    What about Robin Field’s performance did you like?

    He is trying to change his diction for the various narrators.And it sounds terrible, particularly when narrating women.
    YOu should get a different narror for this wonderful book.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    mtparis 11-21-14
    mtparis 11-21-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "poor reader"
    How did the narrator detract from the book?

    This reviewer is hard to listen to. He has a dour reading style in this book and the other I've listened to, Stoner. His reading is replete with distracting mannerisms, such as his affected snicker. His characters are so pat that they seem to return from past books to the current ones. Others may like his style, but he makes all the writing seem flat and negative; and he distracts from the story at hand.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Caroline 11-30-13
    Caroline 11-30-13
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful multi-narrator technique"

    This is beautifully written and narrated. Friends, advisors, daughter, enemies buld up layers of history and character as you wonder what Augustus himself thinks. Highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.