We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
A Strong Hand to Hold Audiobook

A Strong Hand to Hold

Regular Price:$18.70
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

A heartbreaking tale of love and loss in a time of war, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

Jenny O'Leary is devastated one morning in 1940 when she receives a telegram giving her the dreadful news that one of her brothers has been killed in action. Grief threatens to engulf her, but as an ARP warden, tending to Birmingham's injured after the nightly raids, she is well-used to the suffering that thousands are enduring every day.

Linda Prosser is just twelve years old and desperately close to her mother and two tiny brothers. As the bombs drop around them one fateful night, Linda takes a risk which has disastrous consequences. Terrified, and buried beneath a mass of debris after her home takes a direct hit, it is Jenny who crawls through the wreckage of the house to rescue her.

So begins a friendship which is last through the years. But when Linda falls in love with a man that Jenny despises, she is faced with sacrificing her future happiness for the friend who has given her everything…

©2014 Anne Bennett (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What the Critics Say

Praise for Anne Bennett:

"A powerful read that will have you gripped. 'Yours‘[Anne Bennett is] blessed with a vivid imagination and a natural aptitude for writing" (Daily Post)
"An affecting story, populated with rich, beautifully drawn characters." (Choice)
"The beauty of Anne's books is that they are about normal people and are sewn through with human emotions which affect us all" (Birmingham Post)

What Members Say


There are no reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Tina Smith
    10/16/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A nice story."

    A bit disappointed with this audible book (first time ever). Although the story was ok if a bit slow to start I have never heard the word 'said' used so much. I didn't find the accents very believable either.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • grace cassar
    3/5/15
    Overall
    "À lovely story. Another great book by this author"

    It is a lovely book although the narrator was boring in the first half, in fact was boring, without any feeling. Sometimes one sentence was finished and she went to the next without a pause, but it got better in the second half of the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.