We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
A Small Indiscretion Audiobook

A Small Indiscretion: A Novel

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Everything I Never Told You and The Girl on the Train will devour this page-turning literary debut about a harrowing coming-of-age and a marriage under siege from O. Henry Prize winner Jan Ellison.

“An emotional thriller . . . Connoisseurs of domestic suspense will finish this book in a few breathless sittings.” (Kirkus Reviews)

At nineteen, Annie Black abandons California for a London winter of drinking to oblivion and looking for love in the wrong places. Twenty years later, she is a happily married mother of three living in San Francisco. Then one morning, a photograph arrives in her mailbox, and an old obsession is awakened.

After a return trip to London, Annie’s marriage falters, her store floods, and her son, Robbie, takes a night-time ride that nearly costs him his life. Now Annie must fight to save her family by untangling the mysteries of that reckless winter in Europe that drew an invisible map of her future.

With the brilliant pacing and emotional precision that won Jan Ellison an O. Henry Prize for her first published story, A Small Indiscretion announces a major new voice in suspense fiction as it unfolds a story of denial, obsession, love, forgiveness—and one woman’s reckoning with her own fateful mistakes.

©2014 Jan Ellison (P)2014 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

“Are those wild college days ever really behind you? Happily married Annie finds out.” (Cosmopolitan)

"An engrossing, believable, gracefully written family drama that reveals our past’s bare-knuckle grip on our present." (Emma Donoghue, New York Times bestselling author of Room)

“[A] cleverly constructed debut . . . a deftly crafted, absorbing novel that peels back the layers of Annie’s character as it reveals the secrets of her past and present.” (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (309 )
5 star
 (78)
4 star
 (125)
3 star
 (76)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (12)
Overall
3.7 (271 )
5 star
 (65)
4 star
 (101)
3 star
 (75)
2 star
 (19)
1 star
 (11)
Story
4.1 (273 )
5 star
 (115)
4 star
 (91)
3 star
 (47)
2 star
 (14)
1 star
 (6)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    T. Castano 03-28-15
    T. Castano 03-28-15

    shopsalot

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Slow"

    it took me nearly a month to listen because I was just bored. The story is ok, but so slow and drawn out that I couldn't stay interested. There was one twist in the final chapters, but by then I just wanted to get it over with.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Tammy 02-21-15
    Tammy 02-21-15

    Wife, mom of one amazing son, and I have the second best job in the world, working in a bookstore :)

    HELPFUL VOTES
    46
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well....."

    This is well written and the author did put a lot of effort into detailing the story very thoughtfully. To me though it was not a captivating nor satisfying read. It falls into the genre of contemporary troubled marriages like other novels such as The Vacationers-Emma Straub and Us-David Nicholls. I did enjoy the twists towards the end of the story. For the most part the narrator did a good job but her male Irish accent quite often sounded like a Pakistani accent.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Chris Fralic New Hope, PA 02-07-15
    Chris Fralic New Hope, PA 02-07-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent mystery/love story"

    Well told, kept me engaged right until the end. Highly recommended. I think this is Jan Ellison's first novel - can't wait for the next one.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 04-30-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "No small discretion"

    I didn't feel this was a 'small discretion', this was a huge discretion that Annie made. It changed so many people's emotional DNA.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marie 06-14-15
    Marie 06-14-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    35
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding, all around!"

    Excellent! The narrator did an outstanding job of presenting a story that was mysteriously presented to us in a way that was very captivating !

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shannon M Everett 03-25-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A wonderful story about life"

    A wonderful story about real life problems and old love and how it can affect your new life . Is it really worth harming your life to relive an old one?

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kimberly Fujioka Honolulu, HI 03-12-15
    Kimberly Fujioka Honolulu, HI 03-12-15

    the professional editor

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good book but too long"

    The book is very good and the plot is not easy to detect. There is plenty of drama. The ending is not so good.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jhewett 03-10-15
    Jhewett 03-10-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It was not bad"

    The characters were well developed and there were enough mysteries to keep my interest. However, the story got stuck on superfluous descriptions and lagged a bit. She also left out the conclusion of two of the characters, which was a big bummer.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    David New York, NY, United States 03-06-15
    David New York, NY, United States 03-06-15 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging prose, well-crafted, and very well read"

    Not the kind of book I usually listen to, but for me it was ten good hours spent exploring different kinds of relationships from different perspectives. There are a lot of ideas and well-developed feelings crammed into the taught prose - not a lot of wasted sentences. The narrative jumps around a bit chronologically, and the author and narrator both did very good jobs making these shifts clear to immediately ground us in the new times/places.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Charise 01-28-15
    Charise 01-28-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wasn't very small Indiscretion"

    A good story, a bit long winded
    I enjoyed and couldn't stop listening, can say it was predictable. Thank you

    4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.