We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
A Dog's Purpose Audiobook

A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.

Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.

Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

©2010 W. Bruce Cameron (P)2010 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3528 )
5 star
 (2258)
4 star
 (746)
3 star
 (346)
2 star
 (92)
1 star
 (86)
Overall
4.5 (2687 )
5 star
 (1807)
4 star
 (518)
3 star
 (241)
2 star
 (64)
1 star
 (57)
Story
4.5 (2684 )
5 star
 (1841)
4 star
 (549)
3 star
 (206)
2 star
 (51)
1 star
 (37)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Melissa Draper, UT, United States 10-11-10
    Melissa Draper, UT, United States 10-11-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    60
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Wonderful book!"

    I just bought this book on Friday and finished it this morning (Monday). I couldn't quit listening! This book made me laugh and cry. It also made me look at my dogs in a whole new way.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kindle Customer 09-12-10 Member Since 2007
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Loved this dog(s)"

    I loved this story. My son and I listened to this story two times. It has all the emotions humans can give, but all the perspective from a dog. Great story.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    11-26-10
    11-26-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    42
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    "It was good"

    This was good and I was glad I listened to the end but it is not a book I would be pushing into the hands of friends as a "must listen". The dog was too much of a hero and it was all too simple.

    9 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sunshine 12-01-15
    Sunshine 12-01-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Got this book by chance and loved it"

    This has to be one of my favorite books! Not very many books have brought tears to my eyes, but this but definitely did the trick a few times. I did not know what to expect with this one. I was just looking for something different, and I got this one by chance. I am so glad I did. Great story and great performance.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Howard Cumberland, MD, United States 11-17-15
    Howard Cumberland, MD, United States 11-17-15 Member Since 2010

    When I like something I'll let you know. If I don't, I'll let you know that too!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    477
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    106
    72
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    49
    13
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding!"

    An emotional read from the wonderful perspective of man's best friend. When you need a break and are in the mood for something a little different, here is a great read for you!!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Catherine 05-09-15
    Catherine 05-09-15 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    34
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    105
    31
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A bit goofy but I enjoyed it: Cute"
    What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

    This is a dog who goes through several lifetimes that build upon each other. The whole story from the dogs point of view. In the beginning I was tempted to abandon ship as the whole thing seemed maybe for teens or young adults. But for some reason I couldn't quite stop listening and ended up enjoying the whole story.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jennifer PRAIRIE VILLAGE, KS, United States 10-10-13
    Jennifer PRAIRIE VILLAGE, KS, United States 10-10-13 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Creative"
    What made the experience of listening to A Dog's Purpose the most enjoyable?

    This book will take you up and down through emotions.


    What did you like best about this story?

    A good narration with interesting twists and plots. I cried like a baby: keep your tissues close.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen 06-25-13
    Karen 06-25-13 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    26
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Beautiful story"
    What made the experience of listening to A Dog's Purpose the most enjoyable?

    The narrator was so good at expressing the dog's emotions. The story was so close to how I believe a dog thinks. Or at least how I hope they think.


    What other book might you compare A Dog's Purpose to and why?

    "The Art Of Racing In The Rain" is another book written from a dog's point of view. But this book gives the dog repeated lives as he continues his quest for a purpose.


    What does George K. Wilson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The emotions in his voice bring the dog to life.


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    Both, I cried when he said good bye to Ethan both times.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Miss Irene Portland OR 05-15-13
    Miss Irene Portland OR 05-15-13 Member Since 2016

    Miss Irene

    HELPFUL VOTES
    96
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    535
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    12
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Perfect Book In Every Way"

    Heartwarming story of a dog's reincarnation through four earthly lives - shines a light on the purity of dogs' perceptions; shines the same light on the cluttered perception of humans. It has inspired me to be the woman my dog thinks I am.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Short 05-10-13 Member Since 2015

    TeacherMom

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Heart Wrenching"
    What did you like best about A Dog's Purpose? What did you like least?

    It is a good story about a dog and the many lives he leads. At the same time, the tragedy that flows through the book is hard to listen to.

    In terms of the writing, it was repetitive (I lost track of the times that "instinctively knew" was used. If I had the text, I probably could have counted it on every other page. In the beginning of the book, the language was stilted. As the book continues, the author flip flops between low level words and complex words and concepts. If it was a progressive movement, it would have been understandable. Unfortunately, the dog would be discussing things on a 3 year old level and then suddenly would be talking on a high school or even college level. Consistency is not one of the author's better qualities....


    Would you be willing to try another one of George K. Wilson’s performances?

    Probably not. He has a drone that gets monotonous.


    Was A Dog's Purpose worth the listening time?

    I listen to books on my commute to work and to visit my parents. I can't say it was a waste of time, but I kept waiting for it to get better or at least give me a few laughs. Instead it was an emotional train wreck. Was it worth the time? Well, considering the only other options I had for that time was... ummm.... welll, nothing but driving. So, yes it was worth the listening time. If I had been doing something other than driving, I would have put it down long before the end.


    Any additional comments?

    For those who have dogs, some of this makes sense. Unfortunately, the word choice repeatedly slams the listener right out of the suspension of disbelief. I wish I could say it was a delightful book, but I can't.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.