We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans | [W. Bruce Cameron]

A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.

Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.

Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

©2010 W. Bruce Cameron (P)2010 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (2705 )
5 star
 (1613)
4 star
 (627)
3 star
 (307)
2 star
 (82)
1 star
 (76)
Overall
4.4 (1929 )
5 star
 (1213)
4 star
 (402)
3 star
 (208)
2 star
 (58)
1 star
 (48)
Story
4.5 (1925 )
5 star
 (1253)
4 star
 (415)
3 star
 (178)
2 star
 (48)
1 star
 (31)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Carol Parker Placitas, NM 08-10-11
    Carol Parker Placitas, NM 08-10-11 Member Since 2014

    Carol Parker

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    18
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Too childish"

    If you want a book that is sickly sweet and overly simplistic, written by someone who is not all that knowledgeable about dogs, this is your book. Otherwise, skip this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sam Bradford, PA USA 07-22-11
    Sam Bradford, PA USA 07-22-11 Member Since 2014

    Sam

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    "Great Story"

    How life comes full circle. Enjoyed how the story is told by the dog. Loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sande Brunswick, OH, United States 07-21-11
    sande Brunswick, OH, United States 07-21-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "My 10 year old and i loved it!"

    Occasionally my youngest daughter and I will find a book to listen to simultaneously on our devices...its a great way to connect and share...we loved this book...we laughed and still talk about things from the book..when they relate to our dog! The first couple of chapters were tough, but get through them and it gets much better!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Shirley Risingsun, OH, United States 07-19-11
    Shirley Risingsun, OH, United States 07-19-11 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    17
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    309
    11
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Beautiful story"

    Definitely a must for any animal lover-it's going in my favorites folder. This is one you find yourself taking the long way home so you can listen to more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathie Valeri Carroll Michigan 06-23-11
    Kathie Valeri Carroll Michigan 06-23-11 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A Dog's Purpose"

    I truly enjoyed this book. Not sure how it would have been to read it, but the narrator really gave life to the dog as he went through his lives of reincarnation. I saw so many characteristics of dogs I have known in my life in this book. Really gave a cute perspective from the animal's side. I felt this book brought in so many emotions especially if you are a dog lover. Good listen!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    littlesheree 06-16-11 Listener Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    58
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Heartwarming"

    If you love dogs you will like this book. Its so great to hear life from a dog's point of view. Every life the dog has is sweet and will make you laugh and cry.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin Lewisville, NC, United States 06-08-11
    Robin Lewisville, NC, United States 06-08-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    15
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awesome"

    I loved this book. Just make sure you have tissues handy. It was slightly embarrassing walking my dogs through the neighborhood with tears streaming down my face. George Wilson did a great job narrating.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth E. 06-07-11
    Ruth E. 06-07-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    73
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Insightful and warm"

    Truly captures the limitlessness of canine love. Mr. Cameron must have had some wonderful dogs...

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathy Titusville, FL, United States 05-07-11
    Kathy Titusville, FL, United States 05-07-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    18
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "Great Great Great"

    I loved this book. It made me laugh and cry. It had a wonderful way of letting you see how a dog thinks. If you love dogs than you will enjoy this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol Oliver, British Columbia, Canada 05-05-11
    Carol Oliver, British Columbia, Canada 05-05-11 Member Since 2009
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "a dogs purpose"

    It took a bit to really get into the dogs body but once I mangaed that, it gave such a unique perspective and I thoroughly enjoyed the story.Laughed, cried, and smiled a lot.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.