We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
A Dog's Purpose Audiobook
A Dog's Purpose
Written by: 
W. Bruce Cameron
Narrated by: 
George K. Wilson
 >   > 
A Dog's Purpose Audiobook

A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.

Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.

Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

©2010 W. Bruce Cameron (P)2010 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (3224 )
5 star
 (1992)
4 star
 (719)
3 star
 (340)
2 star
 (88)
1 star
 (85)
Overall
4.4 (2405 )
5 star
 (1561)
4 star
 (493)
3 star
 (233)
2 star
 (64)
1 star
 (54)
Story
4.5 (2403 )
5 star
 (1607)
4 star
 (512)
3 star
 (199)
2 star
 (50)
1 star
 (35)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Davina MACUNGIE, PA, United States 03-26-12
    Davina MACUNGIE, PA, United States 03-26-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Thought provoking"
    If you could sum up A Dog's Purpose in three words, what would they be?

    Excellent, spiritual, emotional


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Buddy because he sums up the entire book.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    The last time he is a puppy.


    Any additional comments?

    I've recommended this book to several of my friends including my minister for a possible reference for use in an upcoming sermon.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jon College Place, WA, United States 03-26-12
    Jon College Place, WA, United States 03-26-12

    I listen to two audiobooks a month. My main interest is in a well-told story, so I enjoy a lot of fiction. But I like history as well

    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "We all have a purpose"
    What made the experience of listening to A Dog's Purpose the most enjoyable?

    The novel is in the dog's voice, and you get to really love this animal.


    What other book might you compare A Dog's Purpose to and why?

    If you like dogs, or if you like the Chet and Bernie novels (Dog on it, etc.) you need to prepare for a more serious side of dogs. But this novel, have no doubts, is very much about how deep dogs love us.


    What about George K. Wilson’s performance did you like?

    A really good narrator fades into the background, and Wilson does that so well, you forget that the dog is not telling this tale.


    If you could take any character from A Dog's Purpose out to dinner, who would it be and why?

    Oh, no question that it would be the dog, in any of the incarnations.


    Any additional comments?

    Be prepared for a really great book, one that goes deeper into what matters in life than you expect. But it is also a really fun book, very well narrated.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer Stevens Point, WI, United States 03-19-12
    Amazon Customer Stevens Point, WI, United States 03-19-12 Member Since 2015

    book lover

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good, not great."
    Is there anything you would change about this book?

    In the end I liked this book. It had a slow start and I wasn't sure I wanted to continue, but I'm glad I did.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    roxann Olathe, KS, United States 03-11-12
    roxann Olathe, KS, United States 03-11-12

    family tree buff

    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I absolutely loved this book."
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    I have recommended this book to so many people, including my daughter and everyone has thanked me.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The dog.


    Have you listened to any of George K. Wilson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    I haven't listened to his other books but his narration in this book was outstanding.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

    Why we love our dogs


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Aiden Hovde 03-07-12
    Aiden Hovde 03-07-12 Listener Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A really nice story..."

    ...that has changed the way I relate to dogs. The author does a fantastic jobs weaving together what the dog hears and what the dog understands. And the dog's vocabulary is awesome!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kim Fargo, ND, United States 03-04-12
    Kim Fargo, ND, United States 03-04-12 Member Since 2014

    Kim

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    44
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Dog's Purpose"
    What made the experience of listening to A Dog's Purpose the most enjoyable?

    I really loved the story. It was interesting to hear how the Dog's life change.. It was sad & happy. So worth reading.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    GC 03-04-12
    GC 03-04-12 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Even better than Marley and Me"
    What did you like best about this story?

    I liked the way the story was told from dog's perspective--that added a lot of humor.


    Any additional comments?

    Anyone that liked

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Daniel Pinole, CA, United States 02-27-12
    Daniel Pinole, CA, United States 02-27-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Story. Takes you through every emotion."
    What did you love best about A Dog's Purpose?

    Listened to this on a road trip to visit the family. Kept me awake and entertained, and even made my wife and I laugh, tear up, and everything in between. =)


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Bailey


    What does George K. Wilson bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    Not too much.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    I wanted to kill the neighbor. Made me wish some kids had leashes


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rita Los Angeles, CA, United States 02-09-12
    Rita Los Angeles, CA, United States 02-09-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "For Dog Lovers-a story of rebirth"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    Yes, if they liked dogs. However this is more than a dog story. It is a story of a dog's rebirth and purpose in life.


    What was one of the most memorable moments of A Dog's Purpose?

    When Bailey first meets The Boy.


    Which character – as performed by George K. Wilson – was your favorite?

    Bailey


    If you could rename A Dog's Purpose, what would you call it?

    Bailey, Your Such A Wonderful Dog In Your Next Life You Deserve To Be A King!


    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Leslie United States 02-04-12
    Leslie United States 02-04-12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely loved this book!!!"
    Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

    If you're a dog lover, this book is for you. A delightful twist on a dog story.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.