We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans | [W. Bruce Cameron]

A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.

Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.

Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

©2010 W. Bruce Cameron (P)2010 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (2462 )
5 star
 (1450)
4 star
 (577)
3 star
 (286)
2 star
 (80)
1 star
 (69)
Overall
4.4 (1718 )
5 star
 (1066)
4 star
 (363)
3 star
 (187)
2 star
 (55)
1 star
 (47)
Story
4.4 (1716 )
5 star
 (1109)
4 star
 (373)
3 star
 (159)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (30)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Redbrenda New York, NY, US 04-16-11
    Redbrenda New York, NY, US 04-16-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "An excellent listen"

    What a great way to spend a few hours - experiencing life through the eyes of a dog - or should I say dogs! This whimsical tale made me laugh out loud and cry (even on a New York subway) - the insights and wonder of a dog are beautifully portrayed through the eyes of this special mate. I listened to this book twice, it is such a lovely idea - makes you think there might be some truth to the idea of reincarnation. If you like this you might also like 'The Art of Racing in the Rain' also available on audiobooks.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    i. Ski Duluth, Minnesota 04-03-11
    i. Ski Duluth, Minnesota 04-03-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    127
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    275
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    "A 4-hankie listen"

    If you have never loved a dog, read no furthe: you will find this book hokey. For those of us who have loved dogs, this book is written from a dog's perspective, and it is all we have hoped for our dogs, including reincarnation as other dogs. We have relied on dogs to be our companions, have loved, cared, and lost them. Wouldn't it be great to have the best of the lot back in our lives at some point in our futures? Of course, one must suspend belief -- dogs are not literary. However, this sentimental look at the relationship between dog and human is a lovely listen. Let the tears flow -- you will remember every dog you have ever loved.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen So San Francisco, CA, United States 04-03-11
    Karen So San Francisco, CA, United States 04-03-11 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    54
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "For All Dog Lovers!"

    Loved, loved, loved this book. A wonderful story from a dog's point of view. It has a lot of life's lessons that we can learn from our canine friends. A must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer West Point, TX United States 04-02-11
    Amazon Customer West Point, TX United States 04-02-11 Member Since 2002
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    1
    Overall
    "Amazing book"

    This is one of the best books I have ever read/listened to, I cried, laughed, and felt very deeply moved in turns throughout the story. The reader managed to make me forget he was there, I was listening to the dog. A great listen!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul Kitchener, Ontario, Canada 03-23-11
    Paul Kitchener, Ontario, Canada 03-23-11 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    16
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "If You Love Dogs, This Is a "Must Listen""

    This is the best book I have ever listened to. Make sure you have a box of kleenex handy because there are times when you will need it. The story is very touching, to say the least.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jan Alpharetta, GA, United States 03-20-11
    Jan Alpharetta, GA, United States 03-20-11 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    25
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "More Dog Purposes Please!"

    I loved this book! I would love to have sequels to this about other dogs. As a new dog person (I have my first ever dog), I could really relate to the story, and hope that my own dog can be as wonderful as Toby/Bailey/Buddy.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia Kenosha, WI, United States 03-18-11
    Patricia Kenosha, WI, United States 03-18-11 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    "Thoroughly engrossing and entertaining."

    Anyone who has ever loved a dog will appreciate this touching tale. Mostly uplifting and humorous but it brought me to tears briefly a couple of times.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MARCIA Lake Forest, CA, United States 03-14-11
    MARCIA Lake Forest, CA, United States 03-14-11 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    79
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    72
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    "A lovely book"

    I'm a dog lover so how could I not enjoy this book? It's pure fantasy, but what a wonderful fantasy! I would agree, however, with a previous reviewer, who said that "The Art of Racing in the Rain" is the one that's really special. I gave "A Dog's Purpose" 4 stars, only because I gave "The Art of Racing in the Rain" 5 stars. I would, though, recommend this book to anybody who has loved and been loved by a dog. Read"The Art of Racing in the Rain" too!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JPal 03-13-11
    JPal 03-13-11 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    29
    2
    Overall
    "Beautiful..."

    I laughed and I cried and everything in between. A beautiful book, beautifully read. Wish I could give it 10 stars!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary wilmington, DE, United States 02-27-11
    Mary wilmington, DE, United States 02-27-11 Member Since 2013

    Urma

    HELPFUL VOTES
    5
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A very gentle, warm story."

    Not being a dog lover I did not expect much from this book. In the first few minutes I considered turning it off. I am glad that I did not. I fully enjoyed the book ad intend on passing it on to my nieces. What a simple yet compelling story. Perfect for a long car trip with your kids. Enjoy!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 251-260 of 298 results PREVIOUS125262730NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.