We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans | [W. Bruce Cameron]

A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.

Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.

Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

©2010 W. Bruce Cameron (P)2010 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (2668 )
5 star
 (1590)
4 star
 (620)
3 star
 (304)
2 star
 (81)
1 star
 (73)
Overall
4.4 (1896 )
5 star
 (1190)
4 star
 (396)
3 star
 (206)
2 star
 (56)
1 star
 (48)
Story
4.5 (1892 )
5 star
 (1232)
4 star
 (406)
3 star
 (176)
2 star
 (47)
1 star
 (31)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen CAYCE, SC, United States 09-17-11
    Karen CAYCE, SC, United States 09-17-11 Member Since 2014

    BB

    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    227
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a story for all dog lovers"
    What was one of the most memorable moments of A Dog's Purpose?

    The most memorable moment was when the pup found his boy again.


    Which character – as performed by George K. Wilson – was your favorite?

    The dog - in all his reincarnations - was my favorite character.


    Any additional comments?

    I hope that dogs are reincarnated, since I have had the privilege of knowing two very special ones. It is pleasant to think that they may be bringing joy into the lives of others.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    R. David Mintz 09-11-11

    rdavidm

    HELPFUL VOTES
    93
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    327
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    2
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent book"

    I really enjoyed this book. I'm a dog lover, and my expectations were high for a novel from a dog's perspective. The narrator is, incredibly, credible as a dog once you get a bit into the book. The story is varied and interesting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jenkins 09-01-11
    Jenkins 09-01-11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It Makes You Believe"

    What a wonderful story. I chose this book because of the title and am so glad that I did. I laughed, cried, smiled and sighed. As I listened, I thought back to every look my dogs ever gave me. Thank you for that.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Diana United States 08-27-11
    Diana United States 08-27-11 Member Since 2013

    Love Reading. Especially Audible!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    27
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    146
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    5
    0
    Overall
    "Wonderful Story!"

    Loved this book. Highly recommend it to dog lover's and just people who love reading about people and animals.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jane Lee Gainesville, Florida United States 08-27-11
    Jane Lee Gainesville, Florida United States 08-27-11 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    33
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    98
    48
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "A Dog's Purpose"

    I absolutely loved this book. I read it, then bought the audible and listened to it. I have bought 3 copies to give to other people. When I just want something pleasant to read for a while, when I am out or between other books, I listen to parts of this again. Of course I liked the audio best because of the excellent emotional portrayal by the reader.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lisa Harvey 08-18-11
    Lisa Harvey 08-18-11 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    Overall
    "Wonderful"

    Starts of a little slow but boy does it pick up steam! Absolutely wonderful,

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Donna West Valley, UT, United States 08-11-11
    Donna West Valley, UT, United States 08-11-11 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    3
    Overall
    "Wonderful Book"

    The best book I have read in a long time wish there were more like this one

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Carol Parker Placitas, NM 08-10-11
    Carol Parker Placitas, NM 08-10-11 Member Since 2014

    Carol Parker

    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Too childish"

    If you want a book that is sickly sweet and overly simplistic, written by someone who is not all that knowledgeable about dogs, this is your book. Otherwise, skip this one.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sam Bradford, PA USA 07-22-11
    Sam Bradford, PA USA 07-22-11 Member Since 2014

    Sam

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    9
    2
    Overall
    "Great Story"

    How life comes full circle. Enjoyed how the story is told by the dog. Loved it!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    sande Brunswick, OH, United States 07-21-11
    sande Brunswick, OH, United States 07-21-11 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    "My 10 year old and i loved it!"

    Occasionally my youngest daughter and I will find a book to listen to simultaneously on our devices...its a great way to connect and share...we loved this book...we laughed and still talk about things from the book..when they relate to our dog! The first couple of chapters were tough, but get through them and it gets much better!!!!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.