We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Call anytime(888) 283-5051
 >   > 
A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans | [W. Bruce Cameron]

A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?
Regular Price:$24.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

Grab the tissues. This heart-warming novel told from a dog’s perspective is even more touching due to the pitch-perfect narration by George Wilson. Bailey starts out life as a mutt named Toby, but after a short existence is reincarnated into a golden retriever who finds a loving home with 8-year-old Ethan. Bailey loves Ethan eagerly and without bounds — as only a dog truly can — and believes that this must be his purpose; this must be why he was reborn. But after a long life with the boy, Bailey dies yet again — and is reborn as a German Shepherd police dog. As Bailey ponders his new existence and what his new purpose must be, the bond he had with Ethan never wavers and he misses the boy desperately. “How could I possibly have a more important mission than loving the boy?” he wonders. Yet he begins the journey of life again, searching for its meaning, and always on the lookout for Ethan.

Wilson’s warm and buttery voice delivers Bailey’s thoughts with an earnest sincerity — without overdoing it. He easily captures the excitement, innocence, and fierce loyalty of a dog in his tone. Listeners will be convinced that if their dogs could talk, they would sound exactly like this narrator. Wilson also expertly and subtly changes tone and pitch when portraying the human characters around Bailey — his admirations (“Good dog, Bailey!”) and admonishments (“No, Bailey, no!”) have such emotion behind them, that you instantly empathize with Bailey and look forward to a human asking him if he wants to go for a “car ride” or have a “biscuit”.

Bailey’s observations on human life are naïve, yet clever, and often hysterically funny — he’s like the Forrest Gump of the canine set. For fans of Marley & Me and The Art of Racing in the Rain, this is your new favorite dog book. —Colleen Oakley

Publisher's Summary

After a tragically short life as a stray mutt, Bailey is surprised to find himself reborn as a rambunctious golden-haired puppy. Bailey's search for his new life's meaning leads him into the loving arms of eight-year-old Ethan. During their countless adventures, Bailey joyously discovers how to be a good dog. But this life as a beloved family pet is not the end of Bailey's journey. Reborn as a puppy yet again, Bailey wonders, will he ever find his purpose?

Heartwarming, insightful, and often laugh-out-loud funny, A Dog's Purpose is not only the story of a dog's many lives but also a dog's-eye commentary on human relationships and the unbreakable bonds between man and man's best friend. This beautifully crafted novel teaches us that love never dies, that our true friends arealways with us, and that every creature on Earth is born with a purpose.

©2010 W. Bruce Cameron (P)2010 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"The most accurate window into a dog's mind I have ever encountered. I couldn't put it down.... I feel like I have been waiting my whole life for this book." (Dina Zaphiris, host of Animal Planet's Petfinder)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.3 (2114 )
5 star
 (1223)
4 star
 (499)
3 star
 (258)
2 star
 (72)
1 star
 (62)
Overall
4.3 (1415 )
5 star
 (866)
4 star
 (298)
3 star
 (164)
2 star
 (46)
1 star
 (41)
Story
4.4 (1412 )
5 star
 (883)
4 star
 (317)
3 star
 (148)
2 star
 (38)
1 star
 (26)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Carolyn Danbury, CT, United States 12-16-10
    Carolyn Danbury, CT, United States 12-16-10
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A Dog's Purpose"

    A heartwarming, sensitive story. Every dog lover must read this. You will appreciate your best friend in many different ways. I liked the book so much, I gave several copies to friends as gifts.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Magdalene EASTFORD, CT, United States 12-15-10
    Magdalene EASTFORD, CT, United States 12-15-10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Great for a long car ride!"

    This book was great! It was light enough to listen to on a long car ride, yet entertaining enough to fully capture my attention. I laughed, cried, and thoroughly enjoyed the story. I highly recommend this audio book!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kevin Chalfont, PA, United States 12-08-10
    Kevin Chalfont, PA, United States 12-08-10 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    13
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Incredible, moving, truthful and funny"

    I am not sure I can do justice, but quite simply...this is ranks in the top three best reads of all time for me. I don't think you have to be a "dog person" to enjoy and feel the depth of emotion -- but I'm not sure I can say that is fair as I grew up with my pup from a week after I was born until I was 16.

    THank you Mr. Cameron and Mr. Wilson (narrator) for a truly unforgettable and moving experience

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cindi Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada 12-05-10
    Cindi Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada 12-05-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    23
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    213
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "For all dog lovers"

    I loved this book. If I wasn't laughing, then I was crying. This is a book written with a unique perspective of humanity. Refreshing.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Helen Surrey, British Columbia, Canada 11-27-10
    Helen Surrey, British Columbia, Canada 11-27-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    10
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "loved it!"

    I loved this book, I don't have a dog, and wasn't sure how much i would enjoy this book. However, i went with the great ratings and found it absolutely delightful! an entertaining read , that engages you from the start. Plus the narrator does a great job of reading the dogs voice.
    highly recommended.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lynn K 11-14-10
    Lynn K 11-14-10 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Lynnprin"

    Loved this audio book... took some patience in the beginning, but well worth the wait. Will listen to it again!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Marcia SUNLAND, CA, United States 11-04-10
    Marcia SUNLAND, CA, United States 11-04-10 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    10
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Very Predictable and Disappointing."

    I am a huge fan of dog books and, after reading the superlative print reviews and enticing ads, I was thrilled to see this book available on audible.com. Unfortunately, after the first story about the feral puppy, Toby, the book became very predictable. I made it through Bailey, but I gave up with whatever dog it was that was left to its own devices in the apartment. It's too bad because the subject -- a dog's purpose -- could have made for some wonderful and insightful writing, like Merle's Door.

    3 of 6 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Griffin Mount Horeb, WI, United States 09-19-10
    Griffin Mount Horeb, WI, United States 09-19-10 Member Since 2009
    HELPFUL VOTES
    79
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    13
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    "Falls Short"

    I felt obligated to post a review since I purchased it based on its 5 star sweep. I love dogs and dog books (Merle's Door, Through a Dog's Eyes, etc.). This book fell short in so many ways. I found the stories predictable. The dog and people characters stereotypical. And the narration (although the narrator's voice is fine) cliche. For example, the dog character goes through detail to explain things like snow, humans, etc., but then mentions things like sidewalks, sleds without having to describe them in excrutiating detail. I know that it would make for a boring book, but the Chet and Bernie mysteries by Spencer Quinn do it so much better that it makes this book seem like it was written by a sixth grader. Which by the way, this book might be very suitable for kids, but then there's the horrible neighbor kid (who is such a rip-off of the neighbor kid for Disney's Toy Story movie, right down to the little sister).
    I won't go on and on because it's obvious that some people love this book, but I don't think it's for everyone who likes dogs and dog books.

    5 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Judy hilo, HI, United States 09-03-10
    Judy hilo, HI, United States 09-03-10 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    19
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    41
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "A dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans"

    a great read for any animal lover and especially if you're a dog lover. you may shed a tear or two but the story will uplift your spirit and warm your heart.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sylvia Lac Le Jeune, British Columbia, Canada 08-30-10
    Sylvia Lac Le Jeune, British Columbia, Canada 08-30-10 Member Since 2003
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Great stories"

    I felt like a kid while curled up on the couch listening to these stories, and loved every minute of it. The narrator has a fantastic voice and style.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 241-250 of 261 results PREVIOUS124252627NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.