We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Submissive | [Tara Sue Me]

The Submissive

For fans of E. L. James and Sylvia Day. Before there was the fan fiction that became Fifty Shades of Grey, there was The Submissive Trilogy... The Submissive is the first in Tara Sue Me's seductive and scandalous trilogy that has enthralled millions and inspired a genre...Abby King has a secret fantasy. New York knows Nathaniel West as the brilliant and handsome CEO of West Industries, but Abby knows he's more: a sexy and skilled dominant that is looking for a new submissive.
Regular Price:$16.78
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

For fans of E. L. James and Sylvia Day. Before there was the fan fiction that became Fifty Shades of Grey, there was The Submissive Trilogy... The Submissive is the first in Tara Sue Me's seductive and scandalous trilogy that has enthralled millions and inspired a genre...

Abby King has a secret fantasy. New York knows Nathaniel West as the brilliant and handsome CEO of West Industries, but Abby knows he's more: a sexy and skilled dominant that is looking for a new submissive. Yearning to experience a world of pleasure beyond her simple life as a librarian, Abby offers herself to Nathaniel, to fulfill her most hidden desires. After only one weekend with the Master, Abby knows she needs more, and fully submits to Nathaniel's terms. But despite the pleasure he takes in Abby's willing spirit, the Nathaniel hidden behind the rules remains cold and distant. As Abby falls deeper into his tantalizing world of power and passion, she fears that Nathaniel's heart may be beyond her reach - and that her own might be beyond saving...

©2012 Tara Sue Me (P)2013 Headline Digital

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (6 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.7 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Lia Sutton, Australia 02-02-15
    Lia Sutton, Australia 02-02-15 Member Since 2009

    I love all genres of books. However, when I listen to audio books as I clean, garden, drive they are better with a lot of heat!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3261
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    623
    558
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    404
    25
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Boring with Bad Narration"

    It wasn't a page turner. I could easily put it down and pick it up days later. To me that means it wasn't riveting enough to hold my interest. When I really enjoy a book, I listenit in two or three sittings. This one took me about a week and a half.
    It was just a romance novel with a bit of titillation thrown in. There was not enough development of the characters as to why they were dominant/submissive, what made them tick; nor was there any real dom/sub action, simply a bit of role playing and spanking.

    Sasha Pick slurpes her way the delivery of the story. I could bearly finish because of her constant swallowing while reading. How the editors can allow this is beyond me.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • vicki
    5/8/15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Awful narrator""
    If you could sum up The Submissive in three words, what would they be?

    sexy,hot,domineering


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Nathaniel West


    What didn’t you like about Sasha Pick’s performance?

    she has the most annoying voice & absolutely no feeling or emotion


    Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    no can't say it did


    Any additional comments?

    shame the book is good but the narrator is awful

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • M. Paddon
    England
    12/30/14
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Pretty dreadful."
    What disappointed you about The Submissive?

    I hated the BDSM in the book. The woman was supposed to have not managed to have sex for three years because she had never managed to find someone to dominate her. Then when she does she spends half the book talking to him with no respect, topping him from the bottom, forcing a full switch on him in once scene and finally going weeks in a vanilla relationship where she is still the one being physically and verbally the more dominate in the sex scenes. She is the worst sub ever, and he is the worse dominate ever.

    For me the author showed a complete lack of understanding of the lifestyle and at the end of the book the writer seems to be implying that love only works outside of a D/S relationship and so the two parts of the relationship need to be separate things. And this could not be further from the truth. You can indeed have this in 24/7 D/S relationships.

    This whole book read like a woman's fantasy of changing a man, but just ended up with me seeing two characters that I didn't believe in at all. If someone has tried vanilla relationships and they have always failed, why would they suddenly try and change the one they have craved for one they already know doesn't work? Stupid.


    What could Tara Sue Me have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

    Narrator was okay I guess, though I got bored hearing her pronounce dom as dome (as in dome light).


    You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

    Not really. There was no major plot. The utter cliché of normal girl meets rich guy and falls in love with lots of sex mixed in. It's more shallow than a puddle.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.