We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
 >   > 
Hemingway's Paris: Our Paris? Audiobook

Hemingway's Paris: Our Paris?

H. R. Stoneback's prose-poem Hemingway's Paris: Our Paris? constitutes a masterpiece of both appreciation and analysis by a scholar whose knowledge and love of Paris is as deep, profound and genuine as his knowledge and love of Hemingway.
    • 1 audiobook per month
    • 180,000+ titles to choose from
    • $14.95 per month after free trial

Publisher's Summary

H. R. Stoneback's prose-poem Hemingway's Paris: Our Paris? constitutes a masterpiece of both appreciation and analysis by a scholar whose knowledge and love of Paris is as deep, profound and genuine as his knowledge and love of Hemingway.

©2010 H.R. Stoneback (P)2013 New Street Communications, LLC

What the Critics Say

"H.R. Stoneback knows his Hemingway and his Paris. I had the incomparable experience of visiting Paris twice while working for Ernest Hemingway in 1959. I viewed the city at the side of the writer while he added the finishing touches to A Movable Feast. Professor Stoneback's evocation of Hemingway's Paris of the 1920s is as close as I have come since to reliving those Paris days in the company of Ernest Hemingway. Listerning this book will be a treat for all who love Hemingway and Paris, and a pleasant surprise for all listeners.” (Valerie Hemingway, author of Running With the Bulls: My Years With The Hemingways)

“Professor Stoneback's lyrical prose takes the listener inside the soul of Hemingway's Paris, penetrating the surface of guide-books to reveal tantalizing secrets.” (A.E. Hotchner, playwright, novelist, memoirist, Hemingway friend, and author of the classic Papa Hemingway)

“H.R. Stoneback's intense reading of Hemingway's Paris-revealing Hemingway's nuanced rendering of the deus loci and his intentionally subtle infusion of numinosity-is nothing short of nonpareil. Stoneback's work undoes decades of weak and negative criticism of Hemingway. Listen to this classic piece-a benchmark in the creative essay-and you will see exactly how and why Hemingway's Paris became Stoneback's Paris and by extension your Paris. Stoneback's Hemingway's Paris: Our Paris? shows, ever so illustratively and ever so doucement, how and why we read Hemingway.” (Allen Josephs, past president of the Hemingway Foundation and Society, and author of Ritual and Sacrifice in the Corrida)

“No one has written better or more wisely about Ernest Hemingway's Paris than H.R. Stoneback.” (Donald Junkins, author of Journey to the Corrida and other books)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.8 (4 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Darryl Cedar Rapids, IA, United States 01-01-14
    Darryl Cedar Rapids, IA, United States 01-01-14 Member Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    619
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    965
    253
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    23
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "interesting short piece"

    probably more for fans of Hemingway and Paris of which i am one. some interesting tidbits about EH and his novels but nothing too seriously in depth, perhaps the germs of ideas for scholarly research some day. & even though I have been to Paris twice and love it, and hit a couple of EH's spots like the Cafe De La Paix, it is difficult to remember all of the streets mentioned etc. when he is "re-tracing" the routes of EH or Jake Barnes. it would be interesting to go again and hit some of the spots and routes mentioned. a quick little diversion.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.