We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Idiot Government Reviews Audiobook

The Idiot Government Reviews: A Laugh-Out-Loud Comedy Book

Regular Price:$6.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

We've all seen the news over the last few years, watching in wonder and disbelief at the situations the people entrusted to run the country get themselves into and then proceed to lie their way out of. Just imagine--and this won't be hard--that they were so stupid they wrote reviews of the items that got them into or out of their latest bits of trouble and posted them online.

Ted Williebond is angry, not only at having to settle for running the opposition but also for the bullying he had to endure at school by Cameron Davies and Gary Osburn, who now run the government and don't mind pointing that out to Ted every time they see him. Join Ted as he foolishly leaves reviews of such items as Silly String, vodka, and thick curtains as he tries his hardest to bring down the coalition. On the other side of the fence, we've got Daniel Dangly, a foolhardy, old-school politician from Southamptonshire who, try as he might, cannot outrun the press, who seem to stalk him for easy stories; and Elouise Munch, a career girl more concerned about who's defaced her designer handbag than the people in her constituency.

Neither Cameron Davies nor Ted Williebond runs the show, though; in fact Betty Rivers, the CEO of Information Inc., does. It can't work out well, can it? Welcome to The Idiot Government Reviews.

©75 Pete Sortwell (P)2015 Pete Sortwell

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.8 (42 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.8 (42 )
5 star
 (37)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.9 (42 )
5 star
 (39)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    DK 05-06-15
    DK 05-06-15 Member Since 2013

    No spoilers! Love HOT, sexy books w/a plot. No vampires, paranormal, teens 4 me. I also review in exchange for books-lots of fun surprises!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    911
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    863
    862
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    121
    4
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If About US Politicians 5* - I Didn't Know Players"
    Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?




    This is based in the UK so much of the humor was lost on me. If it has been about the idiot American government I probably would've been in stitches the whole time.

    Peter is a an extraordinarily funny writer. He is also very generous, giving me NINE books to listen to in exchange for my opinions, including this review.

    I really enjoyed Dating in the Dark and Bride and Gloom- in that order.

    It is Bridget Jones' style but from the man's perspective. That is a compliment.

    Note: A Few racy parts & swearing (tisk, tisk)

    Credit worthy/$: Not for me, BUT I am sure that those in the UK can appreciate it more.

    Thank you for reading my review. If you found it to be helpful please select yes right below this text.


    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Terri United States 05-04-15
    Terri United States 05-04-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    649
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    432
    425
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    19
    7
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Refreshingly funny comedy quips..."

    This book is very funny. This is a comedy about different quips of items for sale and short stories done in multiple voices. The material is refreshingly funny. My favorite (if I was to pick one) was the man running in a political race / also a real race. Along with the silly string & six packs.

    Pete Sortwell, the author has his own style when it comes to comedy and it seems like he never runs out of material. He is witty & funny & makes me laugh my bottom off! His narrator, Tony Scheinman did a good job delivering these funny lines to us with so many different voices, which only added to the charm. Great job guys!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    erobbins33 04-27-15
    erobbins33 04-27-15 Member Since 2016

    I love audiobooks!!!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    345
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    236
    230
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    64
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious satire"
    What did you love best about The Idiot Government Reviews?

    Daniel Dangly getting caught blow drying his wank in the back seat of his car. Just ohm hilarious!


    What was one of the most memorable moments of The Idiot Government Reviews?

    The one mentioned above, and Esther's smelly handbag.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    All of the above and the tripod stool, Japanese tourist incident.


    Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

    Most of the book moved me to laugh so hard I nearly peed!


    Any additional comments?

    Just that this was super funny and the narrator did a great job!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kirsty 07-08-15
    Kirsty 07-08-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    25
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amusing bite sized format"
    If you’ve listened to books by Pete Sortwell before, how does this one compare?

    This is not one of my favourite Pete Sortwell books. The idea for and format for the book were good but the content just wasn't as good as other work I have experienced.


    Have you listened to any of Tony Scheinman’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This is my first experience with Tony Scheinman's work and found him to be very good.


    Any additional comments?

    This was an amusing set of reviews by government officials. It didn't have me in stitches but I wasn't bored.

    I received a copy of this Audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Krispii 04-12-15
    Krispii 04-12-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfect pre election listening!"

    I don't always enjoy audio books but this was great content, well read and the different voices helped remind me of the different fictitious characters in the shady government reviews.
    Nice one Pete. I look forward to listening to some more soon.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.