We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Wilber Winkle Has a Complaint Audiobook

Wilber Winkle Has a Complaint

Regular Price:$14.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Wilber Winkle was called a "national treasure" by no less than TV's Larry King, and his book was dubbed the funniest in decades by American Bookseller. What does Mr. Winkle do? Without fear, he writes letters to the massive corporations responsible for popular consumer products, demanding satisfaction and complaining about even the most minor of flaws. And miraculously, the corporations answer.

A gift guaranteed to have listeners laughing out loud. Plus, a gentle but effective primer to customer service types and, for the most reluctant of readers, an easy audiobook to listen to and a superior way to learn how to write a business letter.

©1997 Bancroft Press (P)2013 Bancroft Press

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.3 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.2 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.9 (9 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 12-02-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    16
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "lol hilarious"

    I was voluntarily given this audiobook free of charge from the publisher, author and narrator

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Steve H. Caldwell Tacoma, WA 11-18-16
    Steve H. Caldwell Tacoma, WA 11-18-16 Member Since 2016

    Book Maniac

    HELPFUL VOTES
    202
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    158
    154
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Hilarious."

    This is a hilarious book, showing just how much power the written word carries, as the author gets huge corporations to pay attention to even the smallest complaints, some of which were just too ridiculous for words! Excellent narration too, this book will tickle your funnybone, and maybe give you some ideas for the next time your unhappy with a company.

    I was voluntarily given a review copy of this audiobook by the author, narrator or publisher through Audiobookboom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mary Karowski 11-17-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    201
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    263
    238
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Witty and entertaining"

    This is a hilarious collection of letters, emails and their responses. Many well known companies are called upon to answer ridiculous complaints and their responses are hilarious! A must read for anyone in customer service!I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    rhonda walker 11-16-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    26
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Mildly funny, yet annoying at times"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Yes, I do have friends who would think this is funny


    If you’ve listened to books by John Homans before, how does this one compare?

    This is my first book by John


    What about Gary Roelofs’s performance did you like?

    I felt he did a fine job.


    What did you take away from Wilber Winkle Has a Complaint that you can apply to your work?

    I did get a good sense of how to write a letter to get my message across while still sounding friendly


    Any additional comments?

    This wasn't exactly what I was expecting. At first I found it annoying but as I continued listening I found that I did get a few laughs. This audiobook was given by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Todd Klipstine 11-15-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    6
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Not as much humor as I had anticipated."

    Wilber Winkle writes prank type letters to a lot of big businesses. I expected something along the lines of the old Crank Yankers television program or the Gilbert Gnarley character that Gary Burbank used to perform. While it was in the same genre, it just didn't have as much to it that made me laugh. Occasionally, a letter or response would make me grin, so I didn't consider it a waste of time. However, I felt like a majority of the gags were more of a swing and miss. The narrator delivered very well.
    I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audio book by the author, narrator, or publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Book Addict Lyons, Ks USA 11-11-16
    Book Addict Lyons, Ks USA 11-11-16 Member Since 2010
    HELPFUL VOTES
    265
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    502
    471
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    6
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wilber Winkle Has a Complaint"

    Wilber Winkle Has a Complaint
    : John Homans

    A humorous look at complacent letters one person sent to major corporations over the years. Wilber Winkle has a serious problem with feelings of inadequacy and has no life.


    The narration was well done.The characters were well portrayed. Gary Roelofs made it possible for me to laugh just a bit.



    "I was voluntarily provided this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator."

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Karen 11-11-16
    Karen 11-11-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    27
    12
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Funny nonsense complaints."
    What would have made Wilber Winkle Has a Complaint better?

    Maybe some more believeable complaints but I guess the nonsense ones were what made the book funny. It wasn't really a story.


    What was most disappointing about John Homans’s story?

    It wasn't a story it was just a narration of letters written.


    Have you listened to any of Gary Roelofs’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    no. I did enjoyed this narrator and I will look for his work in other books. Very soothing voice to listen to.


    What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

    a little disappointment it wasn't what I thought it would be but still got a few chuckles out of me I was hoping for more of a story line.
    .


    Any additional comments?

    I was voluntarily provided this review copy audiobook at no charge by the author, publisher and/or narrator.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JenniferFour 11-11-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    20
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Had to stop listening"

    I got through an hour of this and just had to quit. These are complaint letters written to companies and the responses. I thought the book would be humorous or at least interesting but no. The letters are so odd they often sound like they are written by someone with a mental health problem...not funny. The company responses are occasionally non responsive but more often courteous and respectful...again, not funny.

    On the plus side, the narrator was good and I enjoyed listening to him. He did a good job bringing the letters to life but I could not enjoy the content of the book even with his talents. I also think the narration would have been better with one voice for the complaint letters and one for the responses.

    I received this audiobook for free.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Stephanie Rabon 11-10-16 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    32
    19
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Silly!"

    This book is a collection of comical complaint letters sent to companies as well as individuals. This is very light reading and gave me a few good chuckles, especially the one about coffee! My husband has the same complaint! Thanks for the laughs!

    I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.