We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable | [Seth Godin, The Group of 33]

The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable

The Big Moo is a simple audiobook in the tradition of Fish and Don't Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.
Regular Price:$15.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Audible Editor Reviews

The Big Moo: Stop Trying to Be Perfect and Start Being Remarkable is more than just a business self-help manual. With extensive research and real-life case studies at its core, this collection is perfect for any business or individual trying to achieve more than the status quo. Written by Seth Godin and 33 other notable authors, including the likes of Tom Peters and Malcom Gladwell, The Big Moo is filled with stories that investigate the deeper strategy and choices behind successful businesses. Seth Godin's performance is particularly well-suited to relaying anecdotes and research in a light and accessible tone.

Publisher's Summary

Most organizations are stuck in a rut. On one hand, they understand all the good things that will come with growth. On the other, they're petrified that growth means change, and change means risk, and risk means death. Nobody wants to screw up and ruin a good thing, so most companies (and individuals) just keep trying to be perfect at the things they've always done.

In 2003, Seth Godin's Purple Cow challenged organizations to become remarkable: to drive growth by standing out in a world full of brown cows. It struck a huge chord and stayed on the Business Week best seller list for nearly two years. You can hear countless brainstorming meetings where people refer to purple cows and say things like, "That's not good enough. We need to create a big moo!"

But how do you create a big moo, an insight so astounding that people can't help but remark on it, like digital TV recording (TiVo) or overnight shipping (FedEx), or the world's best vacuum cleaner (Dyson)? Godin worked with 32 of the world's smartest thinkers to answer this critical question. And the team, with the likes of Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Mark Cuban, Robyn Waters, Dave Balter, Red Maxwell, and Randall Rothenberg on board, created an incredibly useful audiobook that's fun to listen to and perfect for groups to share, discuss, and apply.

The Big Moo is a simple audiobook in the tradition of Fish and Don't Sweat the Small Stuff. Instead of lecturing you, it tells stories that stick to your ribs and light your fire. It will help you to create a culture that consistently delivers remarkable innovations.

The Big Moo ©2005 by its respective authors: Tom Peters, Malcolm Gladwell, Guy Kawasaki, Randall Rothenberg, Jackie Huba, Promise Phelon, April Armstrong, Polly LaBarre, William Godin, Julie Anixter, Dean DeBiase, Red Maxwell, Alan Webber, Heath Row, Mark Cuban, Dave Balter, Lisa Gansky, Kevin Carroll, Robyn Waters, Carol Cone, Lynn Gordon, Marcia Hart, Tim Manners, Dan Pink, Jay Gouliard, Marc Benioff, Donna Sturgess, Amit Gupta, Jacqueline Novogratz, Robin Williams, Tom Kelley, Chris Meyer, and Seth Godin; Compilation ©2005 Do You Zoom, Inc.; (P)2005 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.7 (441 )
5 star
 (126)
4 star
 (138)
3 star
 (106)
2 star
 (45)
1 star
 (26)
Overall
3.8 (32 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (14)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.0 (29 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Evgeny New Pine Creek, OR, USA 06-10-06
    Evgeny New Pine Creek, OR, USA 06-10-06
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    38
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Be remarkable? This isn't."

    I know Seth is hugely popular, but I was disappointed with this book even though I loved All Marketers Are Liars (good book, poor title). It felt like a series of single sentence, pop, 'edicts of wisdom' that were suppose to transform my world upon hearing them (it's a tough act to sound like God AND be as creditable). His intro floats lots of names, but he used surprisingly few quoted statements. I feel Alan G. Robinson's Corporate Creativity was much better at explaining how to discover purple cows (which Seth now says is not enough to be 'remarkable'???).

    8 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Pashminky Melbourne, VICTORIA Australia 04-09-07
    Pashminky Melbourne, VICTORIA Australia 04-09-07 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Disappointing"

    Although I find Seth Godin's writings useful and always provocative, this concept may sound appealing but the audio version is a fairly bland collection of forgettable sound-bite sized statements. Nothing stood out or was memorable in any way. Godin's more recent works are definitely more worthwhile.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kristopher Calgary, AB, Canada 01-25-06
    Kristopher Calgary, AB, Canada 01-25-06 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    105
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    129
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    8
    0
    Overall
    "Interesting Read"

    The big moo is a collection of 33 short essays on creativity and remarkableness. Some are very short, others a few pages but each has some interesting thoughts. There are no recipes or step by step approaches outlined in the book, just interesting approaches and ideas about self-realization and moving forward.

    A good book both from a personal development and a business growth standpoint. I enjoyed it enough to buy the hardcover for my colleagues.

    11 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matt Parkdale, Australia 08-28-09
    Matt Parkdale, Australia 08-28-09 Member Since 2004
    HELPFUL VOTES
    109
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    28
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    0
    Overall
    "Excellent"

    Just what you'd expect from Seth Godin: Beautifully written, beautifully read.

    His style really lends itself to audio and as usual he has an engaging, powerful message.

    Strongly recommended

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Klaus-M Schremser 02-22-09 Listener Since 2008
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Purple Cow or big Moo?"

    Was my first book of Seth Godin, but this guy can be enthusiastic and motivating - I will buy more of his books.

    1 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kenneth LEESBURG, VA, United States 06-01-06
    Kenneth LEESBURG, VA, United States 06-01-06 Member Since 2005

    Old & fat, but strong; American, Chinese, & Indian (sort of); Ph.D. in C.S.; strategy, economics & stability theory; trees & machining.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    326
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    235
    113
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    78
    0
    Overall
    "Brilliant or Meditational, I’m not Sure"

    Some of Seth Gordon’s writing is brilliantly insightful. The death of the TV Industrial Complex is really poignant. Some of it boarder’s on cheer leading. I couldn’t decide which “The Big Moo” was. I suspect something in between.

    2 of 7 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-6 of 6 results
Sort by:
  • Mark
    Burnham, BKM, United Kingdom
    9/24/06
    Overall
    "Great transformational thinking"

    I loved listening to Seth Godin in this audio primer for out of the box thinking, creating the big ideas, and boldly putting them forth to create the 'Big Moo' in the marketplace. His message about being remarkable is indeed more relevant than ever in today's society. I ordered copies of the book for my whole team. It will change your motivation and significantly increase your contribution. - Mark Emanuelson

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Julia
    Howden Le Wear, County Durham, United Kingdom
    3/23/10
    Overall
    "Brilliant"

    This is a fascinating audiobook I was enthralled from beginning to end. It made me view issues from completely different angle. I would recommend this to everybody - you will take away for it something valuable. Buy it and see - you will not be disappointed

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Ganesh
    LeedsUnited Kingdom
    6/30/07
    Overall
    "Loved it - Snippets that stimulate"

    The reading as a noun and a verb in this audio book is excellent. Every one of the snippet is one better than the other. I have book marked so many of them and shared with many friends. Listen to this it is really power shots for your brain - will defintely help you to think in new perspectives in whatever you do.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

CANCEL

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.