We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Best Place to Work Audiobook

The Best Place to Work: The Art and Science of Creating an Extraordinary Workplace

Regular Price:$17.49
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Malcolm Gladwell, Daniel Pink, and Freakonomics, comes a captivating and surprising journey through the science of workplace excellence. Why do successful companies reward failure? What can casinos teach us about building a happy workplace? How do you design an office that enhances both attention to detail and creativity? In The Best Place to Work, award-winning psychologist Ron Friedman, Ph.D. uses the latest research from the fields of motivation, creativity, behavioral economics, neuroscience, and management to reveal what really makes us successful at work. Combining powerful stories with cutting edge findings, Friedman shows leaders at every level how they can use scientifically-proven techniques to promote smarter thinking, greater innovation, and stronger performance. Among the many surprising insights, Friedman explains how learning to think like a hostage negotiator can help you diffuse a workplace argument, why placing a fish bowl near your desk can elevate your thinking, and how incorporating strategic distractions into your schedule can help you reach smarter decisions.

Along the way, the audiobook introduces the inventor who created the cubicle, the president who brought down the world's most dangerous criminal, and the teenager who single-handedly transformed professional tennis - vivid stories that offer unexpected revelations on achieving workplace excellence. Brimming with counterintuitive insights and actionable recommendations, The Best Place to Work offers employees and executives alike game-changing advice for working smarter and turning any organization - regardless of its size, budgets, or ambitions - into an extraordinary workplace.

©2014 Ron Friedman, PhD (P)2014 Gildan Media LLC

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (110 )
5 star
 (74)
4 star
 (29)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (94 )
5 star
 (62)
4 star
 (26)
3 star
 (6)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (96 )
5 star
 (53)
4 star
 (34)
3 star
 (8)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Amazon Customer 02-27-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding framing of complex studies"

    So much awesome info in here! You'll want to read / listen again and again!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    DH Xavier San Diego, CA 02-08-15
    DH Xavier San Diego, CA 02-08-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    21
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Spectacular"

    Spectacular. Most of these books are a few points with a lot of fluff. This one is the opposite. Highly recommended.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Robin Hyman 02-03-15
    Robin Hyman 02-03-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Best Place To Work"

    This book was informative, insightful and entertaining. I enjoyed the format and the contents. The flow was good and the important topics were interjected smoothly into the story line.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jacob Brier 05-20-16
    Jacob Brier 05-20-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good information, put together to promote action"

    my boss recommended the book, and I'm glad he did. the information shared and the method of delivery was easily absorbed and I feel ready to make personal changes and recommend new programs at the office that will enhance our status as a great place to work.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    G. Gordon New Jersey 05-18-16
    G. Gordon New Jersey 05-18-16 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Add to your leadership toolkit"

    This book has so much evidence based jewels I'm buying the paperback to make sure I didn't miss anything. Many of the ideas I was able to implement immediately. This has really transformed my personal work habits and I plan to radically change my management as a result. Must read.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mr. T Stuttgart, Germany 03-05-16
    Mr. T Stuttgart, Germany 03-05-16 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Just "OK""
    What did you like best about The Best Place to Work? What did you like least?

    If you are looking for "t-bone" steak this book is more of a "baby food". You will certainly find some basic nourishment, but will not satisfy you. The content is coherent, but somewhat basic and generic.


    Would you be willing to try another book from Ron Friedman, PhD? Why or why not?

    I don't think so.


    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    The book could not caught my attention.


    Was The Best Place to Work worth the listening time?

    I am an engineer with a MBA degree and 30 years of international experience. This book could not add something new for me.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    MOE 06-15-15
    MOE 06-15-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    23
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great ideas for making work life work"

    Lots of creative and useful ideas for making our work lives more balanced with who we are and what makes us tick.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.