We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Reframing Academic Leadership: Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education | [Lee G. Bolman, Joan V. Gallos]

Reframing Academic Leadership: Jossey-Bass Higher and Adult Education

Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well. In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts, Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity, and more.
Regular Price:$19.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well.

In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for:

  • Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts.
  • Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment
  • Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission
  • Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspire
  • Serving the larger goals of the academy and society

Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptual frameworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to support academic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in their institutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as building institutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping with difficult people, partnering with the boss, and developing leadership resilience.

Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deals classic Reframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize a pragmatic approach. They tease out the unique challenges and opportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, and encouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly, feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile in handling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing Academic Leadership is the resource for those seeking to understand, develop, and manage colleges and universities.

Download the accompanying reference guide.

©2011 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. (P)2012 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.3 (9 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.2 (6 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.7 (6 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Karen A. Wrobbel Fox River Grove, IL United States 11-24-12
    Karen A. Wrobbel Fox River Grove, IL United States 11-24-12
    HELPFUL VOTES
    4
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Helpful book for academic leadership"
    What did you love best about Reframing Academic Leadership?

    The book provides case study examples to illustrate the principles at work.


    What did you like best about this story?

    Not applicable; this is non-fiction.


    What does Kris Koscheski bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

    The reader did a fine job, but again, as this is non-fiction, it is difficult to find the experience enhanced by the narration.


    Any additional comments?

    Because this is a non-fiction, how-to kind of leadership book, I will want to review the book in print form. It was very helpful for me to listen to it on my commute so that I could glean major principles and ideas. I'm sure for some learning styles, this will be optimal. But for me, it will be helpful to see this in print to get a visual mental imprint as well.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-1 of 1 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.