We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry | [Kathleen Flinn]

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry

In 2003, Kathleen Flinn, a 36-year-old American living and working in London, returned from vacation to find that her corporate job had been eliminated. Ignoring her mother's advice that she get another job immediately or "never get hired anywhere ever again", Flinn instead cleared out her savings and moved to Paris to pursue a dream: a diploma from the famed Le Cordon Bleu cooking school.
Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

In 2003, Kathleen Flinn, a 36-year-old American living and working in London, returned from vacation to find that her corporate job had been eliminated. Ignoring her mother's advice that she get another job immediately or "never get hired anywhere ever again", Flinn instead cleared out her savings and moved to Paris to pursue a dream: a diploma from the famed Le Cordon Bleu cooking school.

The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry is the touching and remarkably funny account of Flinn's transformation as she moves through the school's intense program and falls deeply in love along the way. Flinn interweaves more than two dozen recipes with a unique look inside Le Cordon Bleu amid battles with demanding chefs, competitive classmates, and her "wretchedly inadequate" French. Flinn offers a vibrant portrait of Paris, one in which the sights and sounds of the city's street markets and purveyors come alive in rich detail. The ultimate wish-fulfillment audiobook, her story is a true testament to pursuing a dream. Fans of Julie & Julia, Almost French, and Eat, Pray, Love will be amused, inspired, and richly rewarded by this seductive tale of romance, Paris, and French food.

Download the accompanying recipes.

©2007 Kathleen Flinn; (P)2007 Penguin Audio, a member of Penguin Group (USA) Inc.

What the Critics Say

"Kathleen Flinn's tale of chasing her ultimate dream makes for a really lovely book: engaging, intelligent, and surprisingly suspenseful." (Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love)
"The Sharper Your Knife, the Less You Cry is an engaging story about a fantasy fulfilled. It's Under the Tuscan Sun goes to cooking school." (Michael Ruhlman, author of The Soul of a Chef)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.8 (88 )
5 star
 (29)
4 star
 (31)
3 star
 (18)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
4.0 (24 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.1 (23 )
5 star
 (10)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Fleming Chapel Hill, NC, United States 05-07-08
    Fleming Chapel Hill, NC, United States 05-07-08 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    50
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Autobiography of the Woman Next Door"

    First the good news: the narrator of The Sharper Your Knife... is excellent. An hour into the book I checked to see if she was the author. Unfortunately not. Without her I would have given up on the book half way through. So much for the good news.
    Here is a book about a woman spending a lot of money and a little time to fufill her dream. Her dream seems to be not to cook or to learn to cook but to go to cooking school or maybe to write about going to cooking school. She attends the Cordon Bleu in Paris. She recounts ALL of her experiences with the school and the new culture and comes away with the profound insights of any high school foreign exchange student. The book is too long and in the left me asking why I should care about this story of someone I've never heard of who only has cliche emotional lessons learned. The writing is competent but often corny and unremarkable.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Matthew Virginia, IL, USA 11-05-07
    Matthew Virginia, IL, USA 11-05-07 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    19
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "liked it"

    This was a fun listen. I did fast forward through the recipes, but really enjoyed the view of cooking school through a student. Not sure I want to each much french food, but enjoyed the book.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nadine Alexandria, VA, United States 10-31-07
    Nadine Alexandria, VA, United States 10-31-07 Member Since 2005
    HELPFUL VOTES
    59
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    89
    32
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    "Cookbook"

    This is a French cookbook with a little bit of a story around it..... A very little bit of story. The recipe parts were just boring and unnecessary to listen to.

    2 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-3 of 3 results

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.