We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
The Last Pirate Audiobook

The Last Pirate: A Father, His Son, and the Golden Age of Marijuana

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Blow and Another Bullshit Night in Suck City, The Last Pirate is a vivid, haunting, and often hilarious memoir recounting the life of Big Tony, a family man who joined the biggest pot ring of the Reagan era and exploded his life in the process. Three decades later, his son came back to put together the pieces.

As he relates his father’s rise from hey-man hippie dealer to multi-ton smuggler extraordinaire, Tony Dokoupil tells the larger history of marijuana and untangles the controversies still stirring furious debate today. He blends superb reportage with searing personal memories, presenting a probing chronicle of pot-smoking, drug-taking America from the perspective of the generation that grew up in the aftermath of the Great Stoned Age. Back then, everyone knew a drug dealer. The Last Pirate is the story of what happened to one of them, to his family, and in a pharmacological sense, to us all.

The Last Pirate is a cultural portrait of marijuana’s endless allure set against the Technicolor backdrop of South Florida in the era of Miami Vice. It’s a public saga complete with a real pirate’s booty: more than a million dollars lost, buried, or stolen - but it’s also a deeply personal pursuit, the product of a son’s determination to replant the family tree in richer soil.

©2014 Tony Dokoupil (P)2014 Random House Audio

What the Critics Say

"NBC News senior writer Dokoupil offers a gripping examination of his longtime marijuana-dealing father, as well as a researched look at the evolution of American narcotics laws.… Dokoupil’s sharp eye for detail makes for a lively and often moving narrative full of cinematic scenes and snappy dialogue. Dokoupil draws on his experience as a reporter to deliver an unflinching and detailed look at a criminal family’s life." (Publisher’s Weekly)

"There is a pseudoheroic, merry-band-of-pirates tone to these often-hilarious adventures in the drug business during the Reagan era. Dokoupil recounts how the smuggling and distribution business ran and contextualizes it within the 'Great Stoned Age'. Partly the history of a generation, yet very much a family story…though there are no heroes, readers owe the author thanks for this well-told, ironic, and gripping story." (Booklist)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (32 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (2)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.1 (29 )
5 star
 (14)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.3 (29 )
5 star
 (18)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Nairobi Kim 06-02-15
    Nairobi Kim 06-02-15 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    17
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engaging"

    From the first chapter you're transported into the world of drugs, illicit encounters and thoughtful emotion. The performance was excellent in conveying the story, feeling and times.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Amazon Customer 05-15-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    23
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "a fun interesting read....."

    I'm no book reviewer but I found this book to be fun, interesting, exciting, sometimes humorous and written from a first person point of view that lends a real sense of honesty to the book. highly recommended.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.