We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
The Aviators: Eddie Rickenbacker, Jimmy Doolittle, Charles Lindbergh, and the Epic Age of Flight | [Winston Groom]

The Aviators: Eddie Rickenbacker, Jimmy Doolittle, Charles Lindbergh, and the Epic Age of Flight

Gifted storyteller Winston Groom, the best-selling author of Forrest Gump, has written the fascinating story of three extraordinary heroes who defined aviation during the great age of flight: Charles Lindbergh, Eddie Rickenbacker, and Jimmy Doolittle. These cleverly interwoven tales of their heart-stopping adventures take us from the feats of World War I through the heroism of World War II and beyond, including daring military raids and survival at sea, and will appeal to fans of Unbroken, The Greatest Generation, and Flyboys.
Regular Price:$24.47
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

Gifted storyteller Winston Groom, the best-selling author of Forrest Gump, has written the fascinating story of three extraordinary heroes who defined aviation during the great age of flight: Charles Lindbergh, Eddie Rickenbacker, and Jimmy Doolittle. These cleverly interwoven tales of their heart-stopping adventures take us from the feats of World War I through the heroism of World War II and beyond, including daring military raids and survival at sea, and will appeal to fans of Unbroken, The Greatest Generation, and Flyboys.

With the world in peril during World War II, each man set aside great success and comfort to return to the skies for his most daring mission yet. Doolittle, a brilliant aviation innovator, would lead the Tokyo Raid to retaliate for Pearl Harbor; Lindbergh, hero of the first solo flight across the Atlantic, would fly combat missions in the South Pacific; and Rickenbacker, World War I flying ace, would bravely hold his crew together while facing near-starvation and circling sharks after his plane went down in a remote part of the Pacific.

Groom's rich narrative tells the intertwined stories - from broken homes to Medals of Honor (all three would receive one), barnstorming to the greatest raid of World War II, front-page triumph to anguished tragedy, and near-death to ultimate survival - of these three men who took to the sky, time and again, to become exemplars of the spirit of the "greatest generation."

©2013 Winston Groom (P)2013 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (197 )
5 star
 (129)
4 star
 (56)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (178 )
5 star
 (118)
4 star
 (47)
3 star
 (12)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (173 )
5 star
 (101)
4 star
 (61)
3 star
 (11)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    tjcrewsbooks Indiana 11-12-13
    tjcrewsbooks Indiana 11-12-13 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    12
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    59
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listening experience!"
    Where does The Aviators rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    The Aviators is one of the best audio books you can hope to buy this year.


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    The format of The Aviators is broken up by approximate decades or time periods, and by biographies of three noted, early aviators: Eddie Rickenbacker, Charles Lindbergh, and Jimmy Doolittle.
    This format was especially good for me because it kept the story moving and kept the story interesting. I never got bogged down with one guy for too long, or one time period for too long.
    It was interesting how one main event--say for example WWII, could be seen from three unique perspectives, by three unique participants.


    What about Robertson Dean’s performance did you like?

    The narrator, Robertson Dean, is excellent for the material. His voice and manner seem somewhere between a newscaster and a good storyteller.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    This might make a very engaging documentary--Ken Burns style.
    Let's face it--the book was seventeen great hours of listening. What would they do? Give us a 1-hour documentary on this? Give me a break--there is too much great history here.


    Any additional comments?

    The Aviators is a great choice as an audio book purchase. Even if you're not old or blind, you can still enjoy it while driving or doing some other activity you don't have to concentrate on. I'm sure I will return to enjoy this audio book several times, eventually.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frank Norfolk, VA, United States 05-31-14
    Frank Norfolk, VA, United States 05-31-14 Member Since 2006
    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    68
    8
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Must listen for historic lovers"
    Would you listen to The Aviators again? Why?

    One of the best listens I have done. With the three aviators the history of flight and it's impact on travel and war. I knew about Lindy, Doolittle , and Rickenbacker but the new facts I learned about their lives and contributions were numerous. Reader was great.


    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    HorsePower68 04-10-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very Educational"

    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the achievements of these great men! It kept me interested from start to finish.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Frank Turner 03-28-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    "Great!"

    Excellent book of the three greatest aviators in history. Totally enjoyed the book

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ergai Ta 03-16-15
    Ergai Ta 03-16-15 Member Since 2012
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Solid book"

    Well written and read. Interesting through out. Amazing and inspiring stories, especially for those who are interested in war, aviation, and human capabilities.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Crow23 03-06-15
    Crow23 03-06-15 Member Since 2014
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    1
    Overall
    "Excellent stories about aviation heroes"

    The book jumps around a lot, so at times it was difficult to follow, but it was worth every second.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    ransford c pyle 03-03-15 Member Since 2002
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Real heroes"

    3 men with many stories woven into a clever quilt with a seamless narration, moves smoothly over time, great book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    W. Irving Wyoming 03-03-15
    W. Irving Wyoming 03-03-15 Member Since 2010
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The rest of the story"

    There was so much more to these men then we ever heard in the history books... Many more fascinating stories and many sadly overlooked contributions, to aviation, to winning the war against fascism, and even to medical science! Thank you Mr. groom for taking this on. You payed them a wonderful tribute.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ron Allons, TN, United States 02-22-15
    Ron Allons, TN, United States 02-22-15 Member Since 2010

    American patriot, veteran, historical researcher and writer.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    37
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    36
    27
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Inspiring story of greatness and valor."

    Not just one great story, but three are woven together to relate the story of courageous men at the dawn of aviation and through the turmoil of the early 20th century. The narration was well done, and the author is certainly at the top of his craft in writing and relating such compelling stories. I thoroughly enjoyed the adventure.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Paul J Speed 02-21-15 Member Since 2013
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazingly addictive nonfiction!"

    Better than 90% of the fiction books on audible. Narrator was superb! It was a listen I didn't interrupt with any other books, which is rare for me.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Showing: 1-10 of 16 results PREVIOUS12NEXT

    There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.