We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Servants' Hall Audiobook

Servants' Hall: A Real Life Upstairs, Downstairs Romance

Regular Price:$17.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The sequel to New York Times best seller Below Stairs, Servants' Hall tells a gripping real-life tale reminiscent of Downton Abbey's Lady Sybil and Tom Branson.

Margaret Powell's Below Stairs became a sensation among listeners reveling in the luxury and subtle class warfare of Masterpiece Theatre's hit television series Downton Abbey. Now in the sequel Servants' Hall, Powell tells the true story of Rose, the under-parlourmaid to the Wardham Family at Redlands, who took a shocking step: She eloped with the family's only son, Mr. Gerald.

Going from rags to riches, Rose finds herself caught up in a maelstrom of gossip, incredulity and envy among her fellow servants. The reaction from upstairs was no better: Mr. Wardham, the master of the house, disdained the match so completely that he refused ever to have contact with the young couple again. Gerald and Rose marry, leave Redlands, and Powell looks on with envy, even as the marriage hits on bumpy times: "To us in the servants' hall, it was just like a fairy tale… How I wished I was in her shoes."

Once again bringing that lost world to life, Margaret Powell trains her pen and her gimlet eye on her "betters" in this next chapter from a life spent in service. Servants' Hall is Margaret Powell at her best - a warm, funny and sometimes hilarious memoir of life at a time when wealthy families ruled England.

©1979 Margaret Powell (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (223 )
5 star
 (75)
4 star
 (81)
3 star
 (48)
2 star
 (13)
1 star
 (6)
Overall
3.9 (199 )
5 star
 (64)
4 star
 (73)
3 star
 (43)
2 star
 (17)
1 star
 (2)
Story
4.2 (196 )
5 star
 (94)
4 star
 (64)
3 star
 (28)
2 star
 (6)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Robert Iris Houston, TX United States 07-22-15
    Robert Iris Houston, TX United States 07-22-15 Member Since 2011
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    47
    17
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Enjoyable Downton Abbey like tale"

    The reader really made this book work for me. It is a simple tale of a woman's coming of age in service between the wars and I found it engaging throughout.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle A. Lynch Reading, Pa 04-08-15
    Michelle A. Lynch Reading, Pa 04-08-15 Member Since 2016

    Mishypoo

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    34
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Memoir of a Bygone Era"

    Fans of Upstairs Downstairs and Downton Abbey will recognize the inspiration behind the TV shows in Powell's memoirs. Margaret Powell had a gift for storytelling and wordsmithing reminiscent of James Herriot. Her books are populated with equally memorable and often humorous characters, and her tales can bring laugher and tears. This is not a Cinderella story with a fairytale ending. Rather, it is a sad story of true life and love. I prefer Mary Wells, who narrated Below Stairs. This narrator has a harsher, almost angry sounding, tone to her voice in comparison.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phurphatness 03-01-15 Member Since 2014

    Cat lover, technology enthusiast, novice audio book listener

    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More Material for Downton Abbey"

    The story goes into more detail about the places were she's worked. I see many parts of this book replicated in PBS Downton Abbey. I did enjoy making those connections.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Autumn Marina, CA, United States 07-09-13
    Autumn Marina, CA, United States 07-09-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    251
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    417
    60
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Similar to Below stairs"

    I liked the book and it was a worthy listen. However, the author has written 2 stories, this one and below stairs and there is a some rehash of the same content. I was rather disappointed to hear the same stuff twice. I did like the book, and there is some new stuff there, but, I'm not sure I would've bought it if I knew it was basically the same story..

    It is worth listening to, especially if you like to read about the lives of servants but if you have already read Below Stairs, be warned there is repeat content in this one.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Nomi 07-06-15
    Nomi 07-06-15 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is wonderful and I will never forget it!!!"

    I really could go on and on so simply this....A Wonderful Book do read it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Lyric G. Eads Buffalo, WY USA 10-25-16
    Lyric G. Eads Buffalo, WY USA 10-25-16 Member Since 2015

    Acts2Princess

    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    24
    15
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Interesting snapshot"

    I have listened to this several times. It is an interesting look into the lives and mindsets of the 'serving classes'. Because it is an area of interest for me, I don't find it dull, but others may. Narrator has clear diction and she conveys the different characters in a subtle yet effective way. The romance . . . Well, it it isn't much of one and the woman involved, is frustrating in her refusal to better herself, blind to the great gift she's been given of 'marrying up' into a life of ease. The romantic attempts of the author and others and the descriptions of their lives and situations are the real meat of the book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    May95020 09-29-16
    May95020 09-29-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    "Interesting"

    I enjoyed both the story and the narration. It was an interesting, well done production.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    EILEEN 08-02-16
    EILEEN 08-02-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "real life no fantasy"
    What made the experience of listening to Servants' Hall the most enjoyable?

    Reader was very good


    What was one of the most memorable moments of Servants' Hall?

    that servant's parents did not want servant daughter to marry the rich guy.


    Which scene was your favorite?

    just the discussion of the pecking order among the servants


    Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

    no


    Any additional comments?

    It makes you realize that "the good ole days" were not that good for most people,
    but that people coped and got by. If you got sick, it really didn't matter if you were
    rich or poor.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Sandra K 05-16-16
    Sandra K 05-16-16

    Sandra

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    8
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good Story"
    What made the experience of listening to Servants' Hall the most enjoyable?

    I enjoyed the reader and the story was charming. Sort of like Downton Abbey but definitely a different twist.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Deborah 04-16-16
    Deborah 04-16-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Yawn!!"

    So boring, I can't even say what this story was about. No point at all, glad I only spent five bucks on it.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.