We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access.
Servants' Hall: A Real Life Upstairs, Downstairs Romance | [Margaret Powell]

Servants' Hall: A Real Life Upstairs, Downstairs Romance

Margaret Powell's Below Stairs became a sensation among listeners reveling in the luxury and subtle class warfare of Masterpiece Theatre's hit television series Downton Abbey. Now in the sequel Servants' Hall, Powell tells the true story of Rose, the under-parlourmaid to the Wardham Family at Redlands, who took a shocking step: She eloped with the family's only son, Mr. Gerald.
Regular Price:$17.95
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Your Likes make Audible better!

'Likes' are shared on Facebook and Audible.com. We use your 'likes' to improve Audible.com for all our listeners.

You can turn off Audible.com sharing from your Account Details page.

OK

Publisher's Summary

The sequel to New York Times best seller Below Stairs, Servants' Hall tells a gripping real-life tale reminiscent of Downton Abbey's Lady Sybil and Tom Branson.

Margaret Powell's Below Stairs became a sensation among listeners reveling in the luxury and subtle class warfare of Masterpiece Theatre's hit television series Downton Abbey. Now in the sequel Servants' Hall, Powell tells the true story of Rose, the under-parlourmaid to the Wardham Family at Redlands, who took a shocking step: She eloped with the family's only son, Mr. Gerald.

Going from rags to riches, Rose finds herself caught up in a maelstrom of gossip, incredulity and envy among her fellow servants. The reaction from upstairs was no better: Mr. Wardham, the master of the house, disdained the match so completely that he refused ever to have contact with the young couple again. Gerald and Rose marry, leave Redlands, and Powell looks on with envy, even as the marriage hits on bumpy times: "To us in the servants' hall, it was just like a fairy tale… How I wished I was in her shoes."

Once again bringing that lost world to life, Margaret Powell trains her pen and her gimlet eye on her "betters" in this next chapter from a life spent in service. Servants' Hall is Margaret Powell at her best - a warm, funny and sometimes hilarious memoir of life at a time when wealthy families ruled England.

©1979 Margaret Powell (P)2013 Audible, Inc.

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (119 )
5 star
 (44)
4 star
 (42)
3 star
 (23)
2 star
 (8)
1 star
 (2)
Overall
4.0 (110 )
5 star
 (42)
4 star
 (38)
3 star
 (22)
2 star
 (7)
1 star
 (1)
Story
4.3 (107 )
5 star
 (55)
4 star
 (33)
3 star
 (13)
2 star
 (4)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Autumn Marina, CA, United States 07-09-13
    Autumn Marina, CA, United States 07-09-13 Member Since 2013
    HELPFUL VOTES
    237
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    396
    56
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    11
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Similar to Below stairs"

    I liked the book and it was a worthy listen. However, the author has written 2 stories, this one and below stairs and there is a some rehash of the same content. I was rather disappointed to hear the same stuff twice. I did like the book, and there is some new stuff there, but, I'm not sure I would've bought it if I knew it was basically the same story..

    It is worth listening to, especially if you like to read about the lives of servants but if you have already read Below Stairs, be warned there is repeat content in this one.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Rena Alisa Los Gatos, CA, US 04-17-15
    Rena Alisa Los Gatos, CA, US 04-17-15 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    116
    36
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Downstairs Marries Upstairs"

    If you liked the Upstairs Downstairs series, you will love this book. Its charm
    is entirely due to the talents of the narrator, Susan Lyons. She makes every sentence vivid. Unfortunately, the story itself is not very innovative. I felt I had seen all these characters before -- many times. There was no drama or tension to this story. There was nothing new and no surprises. It is a good book to knit by, but the content is hardly new or exciting.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michelle A. Lynch Reading, Pa 04-08-15
    Michelle A. Lynch Reading, Pa 04-08-15 Member Since 2014

    Mishypoo

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Memoir of a Bygone Era"

    Fans of Upstairs Downstairs and Downton Abbey will recognize the inspiration behind the TV shows in Powell's memoirs. Margaret Powell had a gift for storytelling and wordsmithing reminiscent of James Herriot. Her books are populated with equally memorable and often humorous characters, and her tales can bring laugher and tears. This is not a Cinderella story with a fairytale ending. Rather, it is a sad story of true life and love. I prefer Mary Wells, who narrated Below Stairs. This narrator has a harsher, almost angry sounding, tone to her voice in comparison.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara 03-23-15
    Barbara 03-23-15

    A bookworm since a child. Love audible books.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    11
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    58
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    10
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well Written Memoir"
    What made the experience of listening to Servants' Hall the most enjoyable?

    Susan Powell's voice is very mellow and soothing with a British accent. It was a pleasure hearing her talk.


    What did you like best about this story?

    This book shared the memoirs a woman servant. The memoirs were well written. They shared a lot of details and feeling about what it was like to be a servant in Britain in the past.


    Have you listened to any of Susan Lyons’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

    This audible book reminds me of the Call the Midwife series for its quality of written, good narrating, and portrayal of British life in the past.


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    The story although simple is will hold one's interest. It makes you want to finish the book in one sitting. There are enough details of the characters and situations that the book her readers into the story.


    Any additional comments?

    Anyone who likes, biographies, history, or memoirs will like this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Phurphatness 03-01-15 Member Since 2014

    Cat lover, technology enthusiast, novice audio book listener

    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "More Material for Downton Abbey"

    The story goes into more detail about the places were she's worked. I see many parts of this book replicated in PBS Downton Abbey. I did enjoy making those connections.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Michele Gran 03-01-15
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engrossing and entertaining"

    This is a light, entertaining read for driving, house cleaning and the like. Dialogue moves smoothly and provides good depth to characters.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Jezzi 01-18-15
    Jezzi 01-18-15
    HELPFUL VOTES
    0
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    39
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Simple Memoir"
    Where does Servants' Hall rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

    This is one woman's life experiences, no ongoing plot, but very interesting. I enjoyed the listen, narration was very good.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank You

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.