We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir Audiobook
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir
Written by: 
Poe Ballantine
Narrated by: 
Poe Ballantine
Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir Audiobook

Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

Regular Price:$18.50
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.

©2103 Hawthorne Books and Literary Arts (P)2014 Hawthorne Books and Literary Arts

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.0 (17 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (1)
Overall
3.9 (15 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (1)
Story
3.9 (14 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (2)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    cceaser Everett WA 07-05-16
    cceaser Everett WA 07-05-16 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    6
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    Author reads a bit quick but he does a great job.
    He describes Chadron NE very well too. I spent a week there and it is exactly as he describes. I would like to move my kids there. The book is more of a memoir of his time in Chadron but the sub story of the math professors death is intriguing as well.
    I do recommend this book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    leelee8888 Las Vegas 12-31-15
    leelee8888 Las Vegas 12-31-15 Member Since 2015

    Say something about yourself!

    HELPFUL VOTES
    94
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    61
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    4
    35
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    ""Not what I had expected""

    This is a very different read then the usual true crime tale. It's read by the author in a manner and style that I can describe as a his almost humming of the words , not choppy and has what I thought was a hint of dry almost "dead pan " humor which I found fit in with the manner in which he read.
    With that said, this is more an memoir of his life not about the murder . He uses the murder as a back story that happen during his life journey , which he begins talking about 2/3 of the way through.
    Granted he has had a some what interesting story, I felt slightly mislead after reading the description and though I was getting true crime not memoir , and then side story. Plus , the book leaves u with more questions then answers. "

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark 09-21-14
    Mark 09-21-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    1
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    5
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "It is all about Ballantine and not the murder"
    Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

    Poor narration by the author and a self indulgent focus distracts from the key interest in the book.


    Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Poe Ballantine?

    Poe should have simply sought training before being a narrator. Just a few lessons and it could have saved us all a lot of pain.


    Could you see Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

    The central character is not that interesting. The murder is the focus so a movie would need to focus on the murder and not the author.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Melissa 06-03-14
    Melissa 06-03-14
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    14
    14
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Creepy story"
    What did you like about the performance? What did you dislike?

    It was the author, and he was a little flat at times.


    If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

    There actually is a film ... same name. It's shot documentary-style. I enjoyed it... until the end. I saw it before I ordered the book. I would have loved some resolution... but it never came.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Barbara Albany, NY, United States 05-15-15
    Barbara Albany, NY, United States 05-15-15 Member Since 2011

    Since taking my first creative writing class in 2008 the pleasure I used to get from reading has been greatly reduced. I notice things I never noticed before. That said, I think I rate books pretty generously. Anyone who actually manages to write a whole book and then get it published deserves an extra star.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    45
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    91
    52
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great title; insighful memoir"
    Who was your favorite character and why?

    Poe Ballantine, of course. He tackles the difficult and the personal (marriage, parenthood, career and a local murder) with compelling openness, honesty and insight.


    What about Poe Ballantine’s performance did you like?

    As a reader of his own writing, Ballantine knows how his book is supposed to be read. Compelling and enjoyable.


    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.